We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“this hostel exudes paradise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luna Llena Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montezuma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Luna Llena Hotel
50 Mt From Downtown, Montezuma 6111, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 19 hotels in Montezuma
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“this hostel exudes paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

This is an amazing hostel. The view of the ocean and the jungle is breath taking. The service is fantastic-all of the staff spoke excellent english and were very helpful in booking tours for us and advising us on things to do in the area. The hostel has an amazing vibe and the decor is cozy and charming. We could have easily stayed for weeks if our time had permitted! Book in advance-it is worth it! Make sure you bring bugs spray! Dont forget your camera for all of the monkeys you will see from your balcony!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    67
    55
    15
    5
    7
See reviews for
14
66
22
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

My husband and I stayed here 2 nights in February. We had #6 - with a private bath. The facilities were what we expected given the price, photos and descriptions on the web. Rustic and basic, with a super chill vibe. You are living in the jungle (don't expect Holiday Inn with AC and TV) - if you are up for the adventure - it's completely worth it. We loved our little private deck, where we could watch the wild life.

Most importantly, we experienced EXCELLENT service at Luna Llena. We were originally supposed to stay 3 nights, but had to change plans unexpectedly. Not only did Inge completely understand (and not charge any fees) but she gave us advice in choosing our next accommodation and helped us to book a complicated leg of travel when no one else would help us. Thanks Inge!!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Cali
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

Stayed here for a week w/friends. Seemed fine until we felt we were being "watched" as we used our nice camera equipment, etc. Paid for our last night there, locked all of our valuables in the room safe, went out for just over an hour and BAM! our room was broken into, safe busted open with a crow bar (hotel's?) and all of our valuables taken- cameras & equipment; passports; money; etc. Seemed VERY suspicious as we were barely gone when it happened, as if they knew right when we left, etc.
Staff not very helpful, seemed very vague about details. Security guard said he heard noise from our room but thought it was us- then when we talked to hotel mgmt. they say he wasn't working until later, after the burglary. Getting a lot of "back & forth" story from them. Went to police station and filed report. Got stuck an extra day & more $$ having to miss flights because no passports. Had to get emergency passports @ embassy- more $$. Finally made it home.
Now when trying to sort it out with Luna LLena am getting NO response. We need their insurance information for liability, etc. Called hotel and given owner's name & phone #- Milly Anz is her name. Called her. After talking with her for only a few moments as soon as I began telling her what the call was about she hung up on me! I called back all day & night and she won't answer the phone now. Have sent her personally & the Hotel mgr. emails explaining the situation and they refuse to respond. Sent the hotel yet another email & phone message and still NO response.
At this point we feel TOTALLY RIPPED OFF. Plus they either do NOT have ANY insurance- BEWARE- or they don't want to have to pay their deductible?? This is completely unprofessional and unacceptable. Had this unfortunate event taken place on the streets or somewhere then, well, a bummer but no where to pursue. However, it did not- it was at the hotel in their locked safe that they provide.
So now we have to spend more time & energy pursuing this with an attorney. Plus reporting this hotel to the International Tourist Assoc. & Hotel Assoc., etc.
Any one there, or going there, want to go ask Milly Anz, the owner of Luna LLena, WHY she cannot/will not respond to our phone calls & messages?? NO INTEGRITY.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CabuyaSurfClub, Owner at Luna Llena Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2011
Dear Travelers,
In response to the review written by the Mother, of one of our past Guests, we would like to respond.
The Guests who had their safe broken into, were around town with very expensive camera equipment, and they were followed back to the Hotel, as a potential target. They noticed non-guests hanging around their cabin, and did not inform our staff. These non guests turned out to be thieves, that figured out a way to cut into one of our safes. We have since bought, and installed new safes, now that we are aware of the vulnerability of our old safes. As an additional measure we have felt compelled to purchase a Security Camera system that will be a further deterrent of theft.
We of course are very distress when something like this happens at our tranquil Hotel. We work hard to make sure our Guests have an enjoyable, and safe stay at our Hotel. As our Hotel is full most nights, and the average stay is 3 nights, we have approximately 350 Guests in our Hotel per month. We have had 2 thefts at our Hotel this season, including the one we address now. So, our Guests are safe, and our ongoing efforts to increase security should remove these few opportunities for theft.
As far as our response to this claim that we are responsible, for all our Guest and their property, we can only point out the Security Notice posted in all our rooms and in Reception. It is copied below.
We hope that wherever you travel, that you are aware of the risks, act accordingly, and that you are safe and happy.
All the Best. Love and Peace.
Milly Anz and the Happy Staff
Due to the Current Petty Theft Problem in Costa Rica, we are advising our Guests of the following precautions, so that Our Hotel, and Guests, are not targets of Theft.
The facilities at Luna Llena are for Registered Guests Only. If you bring Locals back to the Hotel, you may be asked to leave. If you want to have daytime visitors, you must check with Reception, upon their arrival, or you may be asked to leave.
When you depart your room, please Secure all windows and Doors. Please make sure your Valuables are in the Safe we provide, and that it is locked.
If you see anyone on the Hotel Grounds that you are not familiar with, please let Reception, or the Night Guard know, immediately.
Currently in Costa Rica, there is a 2% conviction rate for Burglary Crimes. This means even if a Thief gets caught, they rarely are convicted, and most times not even arrested. We work hard to protect our Guests from this problem. Please help us by taking care of yourself, and your belongings.
Luna Llena Hotel cannot be held responsible for items that are lost, or stolen from our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

It was like one of those horror stories you hear about.
We arrived on time with confirmation only to find our room had been given to someone else.
The lady at the desk was unorganized and admitted error on their part but when she couldn't figure out what to do, she called a man who said he was the manager who cursed and threatened us. My deposit was never returned and I left. Thankfully fine accommodations were found just down the street on the opposite side of the road.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CabuyaSurfClub, Owner at Luna Llena Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2011
WIth over 1000 reservation per year, we are bound, as humans, to make one or two mistakes. The Teacher from the group that wrote this review, was over dramatic, made our receptionist cry, and caused a scene at our Hotel.

The reservation may have been a mistake on the clients side, we were not sure. Of the four rooms they required, we had three, and made arrangements for one room, for one night, in the Hotel next door.

When this was not satisfactory for the Guest, and she continued to harrass our staff, we ask them to leave our Hotel. We did this to insure the peaceful atmosphere of our Hotel, for our other guests.

Rest assured this is a very isolated incident, and for the most part our Hotel Guests are quite happy with the level of customer service that we provide.

Be Happy and Travel Safe, wherever you go, and wherever you choose to stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey, uk
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights and that was just right for us. The views are stunning and the location is great - close to town but not in the thick of things. The rooms are very basic and because of the humidity the sheets are damp but the proximity to the wildlife makes up for that. We saw monkeys and tree iguanas and racoons. We also did a walk to the famous waterfall which is quite hard work but really worth the effort and was one of the highlights of our three week stay. You can self cater and there is coffee available all day. Do not stay in room 7 though - the one next to the kitchen. Reall great value for money.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2011

We were looking to spend under $50 a night, be in the rain forest and in a small beach town. This place was perfect. The first night we were awoken at four a.m. With the loud sounds of howler monkeys. My trend immediately got us out with flashlights and cameras. We found monkeys, ant eaters, deer, and many other wildlife all steps from our front door.

Great free pancake breakfast. Clean pool and okay staff. It was very noise one night with loud music coming from a beach bar. No police in town so we could not sleep until the music ended at three a.m. Other then that, this was the perfect place to stay for those wishing to REALLY experience costa rica and it's adventure.

For video, search bluefive5 on YouTube.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2011

We stayed there our first out of three nights in Montezuma. We would have stayed longer, but unfortunately we didn't have a reservation and Luna Llena could accommodate us for one night only. Given the circumstances we stayed that night in the only room available- the most expensive one ( $ 55 for the double occupancy) . Maybe its wasn't the cleanest room we've stayed in, maybe its true all about the bugs, but the beauty we saw once it was morning was the priceless. Even if you stay in you room staring at the Ocean and listening the wildlife the entire day- its a treat. We loved it and it was hard to check out.
Communal kitchen area looked clean and nice, common area super relaxing.
The cleaning lady was also very friendly and a night guard as well.
The only downer is that if you have a car and you are not the only guest with it- there is no parking space provided by the hotel. Also there is no Internet-wi fi on the premises.


--

Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Luna Llena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Llena Hotel

Address: 50 Mt From Downtown, Montezuma 6111, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 hotels in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luna Llena Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Luna Llena Hotel to your Saves list