We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On Top of Things” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zuma Tours

Zuma Tours
Main Street | Next to Montezuma Supermarket, Montezuma 60111, Costa Rica
+506 2642 0024
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Zuma Tours, your ocean experts in Montezuma since 1993, Tortuga Island Tour, Snorkeling, Scuba Diving, Water Taxi Boat to Jaco & Montezuma, Shuttle/Transfer Connections with Mal Pais & Santa Teresa, San Jose, Airport, Manuel Antonio, Dominical, Uvita, Sierpe. Also: Sport Fishing, Horseback Rides, ATV Tours, Canopy Tours, Surfing, Cabo Blanco and Curu reserves. Tours and transportation, Zuma Tours: a reliable and professional tour company.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“On Top of Things”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Highly recommend Zuma tours for getting to/from Montezuma from the airport, as well as for their day trip to Tortuga Island. These guys are honest, responsive, and respectful. Great experience all around.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    43
    13
    10
    8
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Experience with Great Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Ivan, Javier and his team do a great Job of providing Excellent Service. His prices are reasonable for what and How they do it. I felt that the staff cared about the safety and experience we had. We used a Ground Shuttle service from Atenas to Herridura Beach and Water Taxi from there to Montezuma Beach Round trip.. We did the Tortuga Island day trip combined with the Discovery SCUBA diving instead of snorkeling.(SCUBA is Subcontracted to Curu Scuba Diving) The water taxi was very comfortable and we saw Humpback Whales, Bottle-nose dolphins, sea turtles and birds on the crossings. The Tortuga Island adventure was fun and reasonable. water clarity for the dive was only fair mainly because snorklers had stired it up before we could start the dive.The chicken meal was very good. You can pay ahead of time with CC and get a 10% Discount on the website.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Company, Great Staff, Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

My boyfriend and I used Zuma Tours last time we visited CR two years ago when we went from Jaco to Montezuma and knew right away we were going to use them again on our most recent visit. We booked a round trip boat ride to and from Montezuma in addition to a trip to Tortuga Island. We had Victor, Gian Carlo, and another young man (forgive me for not remembering his name) for all three trips and they were amazing. This company is incredibly professional, fun, and efficient. They make every experience enjoyable and fun and interesting. These guys made sure we laughed, took in the sights - including dolphins and sea turtles, while providing top notch service. I would use them for all our Montezuma related activities in the future and highly recommend them to friends. And, PLEASE- DON'T FORGET TO TIP!! These guys work so hard from carrying and stowing all your luggage, to cooking and preparing meals, and accommodating your every need. They also do it with a smile and great attitude - it is only right to show your appreciation because they go out of their way to ensure you are happy and enjoying yourself. Thanks again guys! - Amy and Anthony

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Awesome Snorkel trip but we ran over whales...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

This snorkel tour to Tortuga Island was amazing! The staff was wonderful, snorkel stops amazing, food delicious and sights outstanding! I would love to give these guys 5 stars, but being an animal loving, environmentally conscious person, when we chased and practically ran the boat directly over groups of pilot whales, it left a bad feeling in my mouth. Luckily the whales were smart enough to swim deeper and escape. It's always a beautiful thing to see wildlife, but we need to spread awareness about doing it with respect to the animals.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZumaManagement, Manager at Zuma Tours, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thank you very much for your words and feedback.
We already took note about what you have mentioned about the whales and talked with all our guys to prevent any damages to the wild life, that we also respect and love to watch in freedom here in our sea.
All of our guides and captains said the same thing about this type of whales called Pilot whales, that look like big dolphins.
They like a lot to play with the boat, get closer, make sounds, make turns, even if the boat goes slow they come close to it, it looks they like to be part of the show.
We uploaded about three days ago a video on our facebook site where it shows what we're saying.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Reliable Transport”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We wound up using Zuma Tours a few times during our stay. We booked taxi boat transport across the Nicoya (both ways), along with ground transport to San Jose. We even went on their Tortuga Island tour. The guys were all really great, very prompt and reliable. I really liked that you can book your transport and pay ahead of time from home, one less thing to worry about while traveling.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zuma Tours also viewed

Puntarenas, Province of Puntarenas
 
Cabuya, Montezuma
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Zuma Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zuma Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.