We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience with Great Service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ZumaTours

ZumaTours
Main Street, Montezuma 60111, Costa Rica
506-2642-0024
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 21 Activities in Montezuma
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Zuma Tours, your ocean experts in Montezuma since 1993, Tortuga Island Tour, Snorkeling, Scuba Diving, Taxi Boat to Jaco & Montezuma, Connections w/ Mal Pais & Santa Teresa, San Jose, Airport, Manuel Antonio, Sport Fishing, Also: Horseback Rides, ATV Rentals, Canopy Tour, Surfing, Cabo Blanco and Curu reserves. From accommodation to transportation, everything in one company. Zuma Tours: the most reliable and professional tour company in Montezuma
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Experience with Great Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Ivan, Javier and his team do a great Job of providing Excellent Service. His prices are reasonable for what and How they do it. I felt that the staff cared about the safety and experience we had. We used a Ground Shuttle service from Atenas to Herridura Beach and Water Taxi from there to Montezuma Beach Round trip.. We did the Tortuga Island day trip combined with the Discovery SCUBA diving instead of snorkeling.(SCUBA is Subcontracted to Curu Scuba Diving) The water taxi was very comfortable and we saw Humpback Whales, Bottle-nose dolphins, sea turtles and birds on the crossings. The Tortuga Island adventure was fun and reasonable. water clarity for the dive was only fair mainly because snorklers had stired it up before we could start the dive.The chicken meal was very good. You can pay ahead of time with CC and get a 10% Discount on the website.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    35
    11
    8
    8
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Company, Great Staff, Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

My boyfriend and I used Zuma Tours last time we visited CR two years ago when we went from Jaco to Montezuma and knew right away we were going to use them again on our most recent visit. We booked a round trip boat ride to and from Montezuma in addition to a trip to Tortuga Island. We had Victor, Gian Carlo, and another young man (forgive me for not remembering his name) for all three trips and they were amazing. This company is incredibly professional, fun, and efficient. They make every experience enjoyable and fun and interesting. These guys made sure we laughed, took in the sights - including dolphins and sea turtles, while providing top notch service. I would use them for all our Montezuma related activities in the future and highly recommend them to friends. And, PLEASE- DON'T FORGET TO TIP!! These guys work so hard from carrying and stowing all your luggage, to cooking and preparing meals, and accommodating your every need. They also do it with a smile and great attitude - it is only right to show your appreciation because they go out of their way to ensure you are happy and enjoying yourself. Thanks again guys! - Amy and Anthony

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Awesome Snorkel trip but we ran over whales...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

This snorkel tour to Tortuga Island was amazing! The staff was wonderful, snorkel stops amazing, food delicious and sights outstanding! I would love to give these guys 5 stars, but being an animal loving, environmentally conscious person, when we chased and practically ran the boat directly over groups of pilot whales, it left a bad feeling in my mouth. Luckily the whales were smart enough to swim deeper and escape. It's always a beautiful thing to see wildlife, but we need to spread awareness about doing it with respect to the animals.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZumaManagement, Manager at ZumaTours, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thank you very much for your words and feedback.
We already took note about what you have mentioned about the whales and talked with all our guys to prevent any damages to the wild life, that we also respect and love to watch in freedom here in our sea.
All of our guides and captains said the same thing about this type of whales called Pilot whales, that look like big dolphins.
They like a lot to play with the boat, get closer, make sounds, make turns, even if the boat goes slow they come close to it, it looks they like to be part of the show.
We uploaded about three days ago a video on our facebook site where it shows what we're saying.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very Reliable Transport”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We wound up using Zuma Tours a few times during our stay. We booked taxi boat transport across the Nicoya (both ways), along with ground transport to San Jose. We even went on their Tortuga Island tour. The guys were all really great, very prompt and reliable. I really liked that you can book your transport and pay ahead of time from home, one less thing to worry about while traveling.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful Tortuga Boat Tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Me and my family (6 members) booked athe Isla Tortuga tour from Montezuma earlier this month. We found the staff to be very pleasant and helpful; from booking (online, and follow up questions) to the boat captain and mates.

Our tour included a hour boat ride to the islands, snorkling, lunch, play time, then a boat ride back to Montezuma.

The staff on the boat were very friendly; I've never launched a boat from the beach before, but the staff were helpful to ensure we all boarded safely, offered everyone a drink of choice (great beer by the way!), and we were on our way.

While snorkling, our guide spent a lot of time pointing out fish and other sealife to whomever was swimming close by, and would make sure everyone had an opportunity to see something unique (like puffer fish, starfish, eels, sharks, etc.); things snorklers might have missed otherwise.

There was plenty of fresh fruit on board (pineapple and watermelon) and at lunch (more melon and coconuts), and drink as well. After lunch (which was good, but nothing to write home about) we had plenty of time to take it easy in the water around the beach before boarding the boat for the ride back.

I found the tour to be interesting, and fun. Zuma seems to be a first-class outfit!

I don't know if it was intended or not, but we booked online and received an automatic 10% discount off the advertised rate.

Thanks Zuma!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ZumaTours also viewed

Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Puntarenas, Province of Puntarenas
Cabuya, Montezuma
 

Been to ZumaTours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ZumaTours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.