We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Snorkel trip but we ran over whales...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of ZumaTours

ZumaTours
Main Street, Montezuma 60111, Costa Rica
506-2642-0024
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Zuma Tours, your ocean experts in Montezuma since 1993, Tortuga Island Tour, Snorkeling, Scuba Diving, Taxi Boat to Jaco & Montezuma, Connections w/ Mal Pais & Santa Teresa, San Jose, Airport, Manuel Antonio, Sport Fishing, Also: Horseback Rides, ATV Rentals, Canopy Tour, Surfing, Cabo Blanco and Curu reserves. From accommodation to transportation, everything in one company. Zuma Tours: the most reliable and professional tour company in Montezuma
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Newmarket, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Awesome Snorkel trip but we ran over whales...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

This snorkel tour to Tortuga Island was amazing! The staff was wonderful, snorkel stops amazing, food delicious and sights outstanding! I would love to give these guys 5 stars, but being an animal loving, environmentally conscious person, when we chased and practically ran the boat directly over groups of pilot whales, it left a bad feeling in my mouth. Luckily the whales were smart enough to swim deeper and escape. It's always a beautiful thing to see wildlife, but we need to spread awareness about doing it with respect to the animals.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZumaManagement, Manager at ZumaTours, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thank you very much for your words and feedback.
We already took note about what you have mentioned about the whales and talked with all our guys to prevent any damages to the wild life, that we also respect and love to watch in freedom here in our sea.
All of our guides and captains said the same thing about this type of whales called Pilot whales, that look like big dolphins.
They like a lot to play with the boat, get closer, make sounds, make turns, even if the boat goes slow they come close to it, it looks they like to be part of the show.
We uploaded about three days ago a video on our facebook site where it shows what we're saying.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    39
    11
    9
    8
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Astoria, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very Reliable Transport”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We wound up using Zuma Tours a few times during our stay. We booked taxi boat transport across the Nicoya (both ways), along with ground transport to San Jose. We even went on their Tortuga Island tour. The guys were all really great, very prompt and reliable. I really liked that you can book your transport and pay ahead of time from home, one less thing to worry about while traveling.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful Tortuga Boat Tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Me and my family (6 members) booked athe Isla Tortuga tour from Montezuma earlier this month. We found the staff to be very pleasant and helpful; from booking (online, and follow up questions) to the boat captain and mates.

Our tour included a hour boat ride to the islands, snorkling, lunch, play time, then a boat ride back to Montezuma.

The staff on the boat were very friendly; I've never launched a boat from the beach before, but the staff were helpful to ensure we all boarded safely, offered everyone a drink of choice (great beer by the way!), and we were on our way.

While snorkling, our guide spent a lot of time pointing out fish and other sealife to whomever was swimming close by, and would make sure everyone had an opportunity to see something unique (like puffer fish, starfish, eels, sharks, etc.); things snorklers might have missed otherwise.

There was plenty of fresh fruit on board (pineapple and watermelon) and at lunch (more melon and coconuts), and drink as well. After lunch (which was good, but nothing to write home about) we had plenty of time to take it easy in the water around the beach before boarding the boat for the ride back.

I found the tour to be interesting, and fun. Zuma seems to be a first-class outfit!

I don't know if it was intended or not, but we booked online and received an automatic 10% discount off the advertised rate.

Thanks Zuma!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Water taxi and transport to San Jose”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Very good experience with Zuma. The crew was very good and professional, and we saw quite a few dolphins, it was more like a tour than just a taxi boat ride.

Everything was very professional and on-time!!!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Airport Transport and Water Taxi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

This company is Top-Notch!! They gave me pick up times for airport transport and water taxi the next day - they were on-time both days. If your looking for a reliable company, call Zuma Tours!!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ZumaTours also viewed

Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to ZumaTours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ZumaTours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.