We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Taxi Boat Crossing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zuma Tours

Zuma Tours
Main Street | Next to Montezuma Supermarket, Montezuma 60111, Costa Rica
+506 2642 0024
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Zuma Tours, your ocean experts in Montezuma since 1993, Tortuga Island Tour, Snorkeling, Scuba Diving, Water Taxi Boat to Jaco & Montezuma, Shuttle/Transfer Connections with Mal Pais & Santa Teresa, San Jose, Airport, Manuel Antonio, Dominical, Uvita, Sierpe. Also: Sport Fishing, Horseback Rides, ATV Tours, Canopy Tours, Surfing, Cabo Blanco and Curu reserves. Tours and transportation, Zuma Tours: a reliable and professional tour company.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Taxi Boat Crossing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

I crossed on the taxi boat from Montezuma to Jaco today and had an awesome experience. Within 10 minutes of starting the crossing they slowed the boat for a pod of dolphins and waited while the passengers took photos until the pod moved on. We also saw a couple of giant green sea turtles, 2 rays, and of course, lots of birds.

The staff was super helpful and friendly. I'd recommend these guys for your crossing. For the $40 per person fee, it sure beats the 5 hour bus ride, which costs an additional $10.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    42
    12
    9
    8
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Ignore all the other guys in Montezuma selling Tortuga Island Trips.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We took the trip on a Sunday despite our hotel proprietors warning that Sundays are sometimes crowded. The boat had a comfortable amount of people on it. The guides were amazing and friendly and chatted with us the entire 45 minutes to Tortuga Island. The snorkeling did get a little crowded but it sometimes helps you find the cool stuff. (Where everyone is, there must be something to see!) Our guide would often jump in himself and help us find cool things we may not otherwise find. They also had water and other cold drinks (including beer) for us to drink throughout. Lunch was amazing and Tortuga Island is worth the trip! Don't forget to stop by the gift shop as they have several gorgeous rescued parrots. A great way to spend the day! (Btw, when they say water landing, it means water landing. No dock, just jump in the boat on the beach. Tides affect your ability to get in but not that bad and the guides help you in. But FYI!)

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 attraction reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Nightmare experience with their taxi boat”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We tried to use their services for the taxi boat from Jaco to Montezuma at $40 per person at the end of March 2013 (which was supposed to take an hour.
The boat was canceled due to bad weather, this happens, but if they had inform us that in the morning, we could have stayed on the bus to puntarens and take the ferry ourselves.
The worst part was that we had to wait to the ferry for 4 hours in the heat and bad wind, with 2 small babies, one of them only 3 months old, and myself having an eye infection that the wind with dirt made much worst.
We also had to carry all our luggage alone without any assistance, again with our two kids.
The worst customer service I have ever got in CR, where people are usually very nice and helpful, but even after we complained they would not give us back our money - outrageous - obviously a shuttle taxi and the $2 ferry is much cheaper than the taxi boat, not to mention our experience was simply awful. Save yourself the trouble and use someone else.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZumaManagement, Manager at Zuma Tours, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Hello there, our apologies about this, but your complaint it's not coherent. There is a simple phrase: "safety first" specially for a family.
This will help to clarify this point for future services: we decide to do that few times a year like10 days, due bad sea and weather conditions, like strong winds and storms, which is not good and safe for boating.
So instead of canceling the service, giving the money back and forgetting about our clients, we have a "Plan B", which is going by AC Shuttle Van (not the public bus full of dust, no AC and stopping every 10 minutes), to catch the big ferry, without making any profit with it, just keeping the service to the final destinationof our clients... sometimes we're not able to catch the 11am departure time from Puntarenas, so we have to wait until the one at 2pm, and here Paquera dock another shuttle waits and takes our customers to their hotel,arriving later but safe.

And specially that day we were worryed about the small babies we would have had on board.
How could we have informed you about it if you were in a public bus since 7am? And your hostel reception was closed, no one answered the phone.
It's not our fault you had an eye infection and that it was windy and dusty either.
I’m really sorry you had a bad experience, we really try to give you and our other clients the best service we can, but that day due the weird weather conditions we couldn’t. (because normally in March we don’t have strong winds)
Sincerely,
Javier Quesada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Good customer service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Used these guys twice to get from Jaco to Montezuma. The first trip was so easy and quick - it was well worth the money (just to get out of Jaco!).
The return journey My taxi didn't turn up but one phone call to Javier and he got the boat to wait for me whilst I raced from Mar Azur point break to Montezuma - and they refunded the taxi fare straight away.
The other passengers were happy to wait to as they got to see green turtles breaching where they were waiting.
All in all really good service and a good bunch of guys.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Day Trip to Tortuga Island is a MUST? with Zuma Tours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

easy-going, knowledgeable, likable guide and fantastic equipment. this was a great day trip to see more of the beauty of the area. at the island, we snorkeled, kayaked, standup paddle board, lunch, and sunbathe. on the way back we were escorted by a pod of dolphins. a magical day.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zuma Tours also viewed

Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Cabuya, Montezuma
Puntarenas, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Zuma Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zuma Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.