We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, convient, and fun!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ZumaTours

ZumaTours
Main Street, Montezuma 60111, Costa Rica
506-2642-0024
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #5 of 18 activities in Montezuma
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Zuma Tours, your ocean experts in Montezuma since 1993, Tortuga Island Tour, Snorkeling, Scuba Diving, Taxi Boat to Jaco & Montezuma, Connections w/ Mal Pais & Santa Teresa, San Jose, Airport, Manuel Antonio, Sport Fishing, Also: Horseback Rides, ATV Rentals, Canopy Tour, Surfing, Cabo Blanco and Curu reserves. From accommodation to transportation, everything in one company. Zuma Tours: the most reliable and professional tour company in Montezuma
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Portsmouth, New Hampshire, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Friendly, convient, and fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We took advantage of the services Zuma Tours offers during our trip to Costa Rica. We arranged for a airport transfer on our arrival in Tabor, the Tortuga Island Tour, and then the Boat trip from Montezuma to Jaco. Each time we were met ON TIME by a friendly and smiling driver. The Vans were clean and comfortable, the drivers were safe and very knowledgeable. The Tortuga Island Tour, although a bit of a tourist trap was loads of fun. Cold drinks on the boat, we snorkeled and saw amazing fish, even saw dolphins! The food prepared for lunch was delicious. be warned though, Tortuga Island is a privately owned Island and operates as a business. there is no exploring beyond the beach, beach chairs have to be rented, and if you should need to use the bathroom - you must purchase something from the gift shop first. Yes, there is a cheesy gift shop on the island. Even still, We had a great time and were very impressed with the Zuma Tours staff and boats!.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    24
    10
    8
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Zuma Tours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We had a fantastic time with Zuma Tours. We enjoyed the Tortuga Island tour and actually did it twice within our 4 week stay. The staff was excellent and the food and service were outstanding. We also used Zuma's water taxi which I have to admit is a lot better than going on the ferry which takes quite a bit longer and involves a one hour road trip to the ferry dock.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Efficient service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We used Zuma tours to get us from Jaco to Montezuma in Costa Rica. As we were running slightly late for departure they were happy to hold the water taxi (speed boat) for a few minutes. The staff were friendly. I would fault them on safety though. While I was never actually worried about safety, they made no effort to brief passengers on what to do in an emergency. I enjoyed the ride on the speed boat, and while $40 for a one way journey is expensive, it beats the ground journey in time by about 5 hours.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracebridge, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Top Notch operator !!!!!'”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Traveling to Costa Rica for the last 10 years we have run into a few " So Called" tour operators only to be disappointed in almost every aspect. While staying in Montezuma we went into Zuma Tours where we were met by a more than helpful staff and the owner Ivan was there to assist.
We were so impressed with there enthusiasm that we booked many tours through them without any disappointments,delays or excessive fees. This tour operation is 100 % all about their clients and service. I would recommend Zuma Tours to anyone.

Best Regards

Brian Morris
Canada

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schmoopieuk
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Jaco to Montezuma by speed boat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Booked from UK and was very pleased with efficiency of this company.

Shuttle bus picked me up @ my hotel for the 10 minute drive to Jaco beach to for the speed boat to M'zuma... & dropped me at hotel on my return a week later.

The speed boat was great fun and worth the $40 fare one way if you're not on a tight budget.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ZumaTours also viewed

Tambor, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Puntarenas, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to ZumaTours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ZumaTours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.