We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, enjoyable boat taxi ride” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ZumaTours

ZumaTours
Main Street, Montezuma 60111, Costa Rica
506-2642-0024
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 18 Activities in Montezuma
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Zuma Tours, your ocean experts in Montezuma since 1993, Tortuga Island Tour, Snorkeling, Scuba Diving, Taxi Boat to Jaco & Montezuma, Connections w/ Mal Pais & Santa Teresa, San Jose, Airport, Manuel Antonio, Sport Fishing, Also: Horseback Rides, ATV Rentals, Canopy Tour, Surfing, Cabo Blanco and Curu reserves. From accommodation to transportation, everything in one company. Zuma Tours: the most reliable and professional tour company in Montezuma
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Olympia, Wa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very nice, enjoyable boat taxi ride”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Very accommodating and friendly staff. We decided to take a boat taxi rather than the 3 hour bus ride back to San Jose and it was well worth the money. The staff were very knowledgeable about the marine life. We saw a sea turtle and dolphins one our trip. Great business!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    28
    11
    8
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Worth going for a 'break' in your busy vacation planning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Zuma tours came and picked us up on our doorstep in Santa Teresa. The drive to Montezuma from the other side of the peninsula is very bumpy for the inexperienced driver and very expensive by taxi so definitely splurge on the extra fee for door to door pick up service. We went to 2 separate snorkeling locations for about 45min each which I was surprised about because I was under the impression there was only 1 snorkeling stop. Sweet! Also they try two times in the day to wait at specific spots for dolphin and whale watching. On our tour, we saw a whale! Definitely a highlight of our trip. The boat carries water, juice, and beer which is included in your price. At the island of Tortuga itself, the local animals are a fun experience. There’s a pet boar that comes to hang out during lunch time and tropical birds hang outside the gift shop and will chatter with you. The beach itself is very warm, serene and calm. I was originally hesitant to take this tour because the whole Nicoya peninsula is already one giant beach right? Even so, the crystal blue waters around Tortuga gave you a different beach and swimming experience than facing the waves out on the main land where the surfers like to go. It is well worth it to take this tour and even some locals will take it for a romantic day trip. It is admittedly, a very “touristy” experience but it’s nice to have a day where someone takes care of every little detail. Bring a ton of sun screen and reapply often.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great ride!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

We've used the shuttle tours to go from Quepos to Malpais, which is an extension of the Jaco-Montezuma shuttle boat option. They picked us up in time and without trouble at our hotel on the Playita (which includes a very bumpy steep hill to climb) and got us in time to the bost on the beach north of Jaco. Te boat ride to Montezuma was nice and we saw dolphins and turtles. The captain even stopped a few minutes so we could catch a glimpse. Once in Montezuma, we were quickly ushered to our taxi and en route to Malpais. Nothing bad to say, it's the perfect travel option and the price was ok.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Great service from Jaco to Montezuma and a great introduction to Scuba”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Zuma Tours took us from Jaco to Santa Teresa and from Montezuma to Alajuela. The ride was great in both directions (though the boat was rather late leaving Jaco), and the staff was very accommodating.

Scuba diving at Isla Tortuga was a lot of fun. We went on a Sunday morning and were the only two people on the Scuba tour (we shared our boat to and from Isla Tortuga with some snorkellers, all of whom said they enjoyed their time). Our Scuba guide/instructor, like the rest of the Zuma Tours staff, was professional, experienced, and multilingual. We had a fantastic time under the water - the water was warm, mostly clear (except in tight spaces where the current picked up), and our guide made pointed out a lot of aquatic wildlife that we wouldn't have noticed otherwise.

Isla Tortuga is pretty touristy, and not our normal thing, but we still had a fantastic time. This was our second trip using Zuma Tours, and I'd recommend them highly. The equipment and vehicles are all well-maintained, the staff is great, and (except for one late start) they've always gotten us where we want to go in good order.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Don't go on the weekend”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Spent a Sunday snorkeling off Tortuga Island with Zuma Tours and it was insanely crowded. The tour itself was fine; the main guide was very friendly despite a rather annoying shtick that he stuck to when pointing out the sites from the boat, and everything ran on time and seemed safe enough (although the boat driver was clearly new). It was all pretty touristy, but it's a touristy area.

The issue came when we got to Tortuga. There were two snorkeling spots, both of which were completely over-run with other boats. Even if the crowd had been thinner, the water isn't particularly clear and there wasn't a whole lot to see.

After less than an hour of unremarkable snorkeling, we pulled up to a beach that would be a remote paradise were it not crawling with school tours, church tours, youth group tours, seniors tours, and every other conceivable tour. There was almost no room on the sand to stretch out, and the water at the beach was filthy from all the boats anchored there.

I don't know what the other snorkeling options are in Montezuma, or if the experience is notably better on weekdays, but I wouldn't recommend it on a weekend.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ZumaTours also viewed

Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Puntarenas, Province of Puntarenas
Cabuya, Montezuma
 

Been to ZumaTours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ZumaTours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.