We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ride!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ZumaTours

ZumaTours
Main Street, Montezuma 60111, Costa Rica
506-2642-0024
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 21 Activities in Montezuma
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Zuma Tours, your ocean experts in Montezuma since 1993, Tortuga Island Tour, Snorkeling, Scuba Diving, Taxi Boat to Jaco & Montezuma, Connections w/ Mal Pais & Santa Teresa, San Jose, Airport, Manuel Antonio, Sport Fishing, Also: Horseback Rides, ATV Rentals, Canopy Tour, Surfing, Cabo Blanco and Curu reserves. From accommodation to transportation, everything in one company. Zuma Tours: the most reliable and professional tour company in Montezuma
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Ottawa
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great ride!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

We've used the shuttle tours to go from Quepos to Malpais, which is an extension of the Jaco-Montezuma shuttle boat option. They picked us up in time and without trouble at our hotel on the Playita (which includes a very bumpy steep hill to climb) and got us in time to the bost on the beach north of Jaco. Te boat ride to Montezuma was nice and we saw dolphins and turtles. The captain even stopped a few minutes so we could catch a glimpse. Once in Montezuma, we were quickly ushered to our taxi and en route to Malpais. Nothing bad to say, it's the perfect travel option and the price was ok.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    32
    11
    8
    7
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Great service from Jaco to Montezuma and a great introduction to Scuba”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Zuma Tours took us from Jaco to Santa Teresa and from Montezuma to Alajuela. The ride was great in both directions (though the boat was rather late leaving Jaco), and the staff was very accommodating.

Scuba diving at Isla Tortuga was a lot of fun. We went on a Sunday morning and were the only two people on the Scuba tour (we shared our boat to and from Isla Tortuga with some snorkellers, all of whom said they enjoyed their time). Our Scuba guide/instructor, like the rest of the Zuma Tours staff, was professional, experienced, and multilingual. We had a fantastic time under the water - the water was warm, mostly clear (except in tight spaces where the current picked up), and our guide made pointed out a lot of aquatic wildlife that we wouldn't have noticed otherwise.

Isla Tortuga is pretty touristy, and not our normal thing, but we still had a fantastic time. This was our second trip using Zuma Tours, and I'd recommend them highly. The equipment and vehicles are all well-maintained, the staff is great, and (except for one late start) they've always gotten us where we want to go in good order.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Don't go on the weekend”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Spent a Sunday snorkeling off Tortuga Island with Zuma Tours and it was insanely crowded. The tour itself was fine; the main guide was very friendly despite a rather annoying shtick that he stuck to when pointing out the sites from the boat, and everything ran on time and seemed safe enough (although the boat driver was clearly new). It was all pretty touristy, but it's a touristy area.

The issue came when we got to Tortuga. There were two snorkeling spots, both of which were completely over-run with other boats. Even if the crowd had been thinner, the water isn't particularly clear and there wasn't a whole lot to see.

After less than an hour of unremarkable snorkeling, we pulled up to a beach that would be a remote paradise were it not crawling with school tours, church tours, youth group tours, seniors tours, and every other conceivable tour. There was almost no room on the sand to stretch out, and the water at the beach was filthy from all the boats anchored there.

I don't know what the other snorkeling options are in Montezuma, or if the experience is notably better on weekdays, but I wouldn't recommend it on a weekend.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“A Pufferful Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

Snorkeling Tour from Santa Teresa to Isla Tortuga with a stop-over at Montezuma

Overall the trip was amazing. Fast and very splashy boat ride which was super fun. Very friendly crew, ice cold beer and other drinks all day, AMAZING snorkeling spots! The crew also makes sure to stop at certain spots that we wanted to take photos of which I thought was really great!

A few things to improve:

-making sure the tour group leaves on time. we had to wait a good 20 minutes for the rest of the group to get on board and it was a bit frustrating and unfair to those who are paying the same amount and having their tour time cut shorter at the expense of others who are late. Not a good way to start a tour.

-find out what the shoe sizes are upon registration so each guest has the right fitting fins and time isn't wasted looking for fins that fit instead of doing the actual snorkeling :)

-have your crew give a little explanation on safety options and how to snorkel especially for first-timers. I had never been snorkeling before and had no idea that the fins make you float and also wasn't given the option to use a floating device eventhough it was available. It can be quite scary if you don't know what you're doing!

Pura Vida!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Tour to Isla Tortuga”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I am a native Costarrican that lives in Texas, me and my family took the Isla Tortuga tour, it was just and excellent experience. We had the opportunity to see Humpback whales and a pod of dolphins. The snorkeling was great, the tour was handle professionally and with excellent customer service. My only not so positive comment was about the food, which knowing all of the variety we have in our country it was not so great, I think that it could be better.
Besides that, the whole experience was great!!!! Pura Vida!!!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ZumaTours also viewed

Tambor, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Puntarenas, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to ZumaTours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ZumaTours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.