We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service from Jaco to Montezuma and a great introduction to Scuba” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ZumaTours

ZumaTours
Main Street, Montezuma 60111, Costa Rica
506-2642-0024
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 18 Activities in Montezuma
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Zuma Tours, your ocean experts in Montezuma since 1993, Tortuga Island Tour, Snorkeling, Scuba Diving, Taxi Boat to Jaco & Montezuma, Connections w/ Mal Pais & Santa Teresa, San Jose, Airport, Manuel Antonio, Sport Fishing, Also: Horseback Rides, ATV Rentals, Canopy Tour, Surfing, Cabo Blanco and Curu reserves. From accommodation to transportation, everything in one company. Zuma Tours: the most reliable and professional tour company in Montezuma
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Great service from Jaco to Montezuma and a great introduction to Scuba”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Zuma Tours took us from Jaco to Santa Teresa and from Montezuma to Alajuela. The ride was great in both directions (though the boat was rather late leaving Jaco), and the staff was very accommodating.

Scuba diving at Isla Tortuga was a lot of fun. We went on a Sunday morning and were the only two people on the Scuba tour (we shared our boat to and from Isla Tortuga with some snorkellers, all of whom said they enjoyed their time). Our Scuba guide/instructor, like the rest of the Zuma Tours staff, was professional, experienced, and multilingual. We had a fantastic time under the water - the water was warm, mostly clear (except in tight spaces where the current picked up), and our guide made pointed out a lot of aquatic wildlife that we wouldn't have noticed otherwise.

Isla Tortuga is pretty touristy, and not our normal thing, but we still had a fantastic time. This was our second trip using Zuma Tours, and I'd recommend them highly. The equipment and vehicles are all well-maintained, the staff is great, and (except for one late start) they've always gotten us where we want to go in good order.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    27
    11
    8
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Don't go on the weekend”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Spent a Sunday snorkeling off Tortuga Island with Zuma Tours and it was insanely crowded. The tour itself was fine; the main guide was very friendly despite a rather annoying shtick that he stuck to when pointing out the sites from the boat, and everything ran on time and seemed safe enough (although the boat driver was clearly new). It was all pretty touristy, but it's a touristy area.

The issue came when we got to Tortuga. There were two snorkeling spots, both of which were completely over-run with other boats. Even if the crowd had been thinner, the water isn't particularly clear and there wasn't a whole lot to see.

After less than an hour of unremarkable snorkeling, we pulled up to a beach that would be a remote paradise were it not crawling with school tours, church tours, youth group tours, seniors tours, and every other conceivable tour. There was almost no room on the sand to stretch out, and the water at the beach was filthy from all the boats anchored there.

I don't know what the other snorkeling options are in Montezuma, or if the experience is notably better on weekdays, but I wouldn't recommend it on a weekend.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“A Pufferful Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

Snorkeling Tour from Santa Teresa to Isla Tortuga with a stop-over at Montezuma

Overall the trip was amazing. Fast and very splashy boat ride which was super fun. Very friendly crew, ice cold beer and other drinks all day, AMAZING snorkeling spots! The crew also makes sure to stop at certain spots that we wanted to take photos of which I thought was really great!

A few things to improve:

-making sure the tour group leaves on time. we had to wait a good 20 minutes for the rest of the group to get on board and it was a bit frustrating and unfair to those who are paying the same amount and having their tour time cut shorter at the expense of others who are late. Not a good way to start a tour.

-find out what the shoe sizes are upon registration so each guest has the right fitting fins and time isn't wasted looking for fins that fit instead of doing the actual snorkeling :)

-have your crew give a little explanation on safety options and how to snorkel especially for first-timers. I had never been snorkeling before and had no idea that the fins make you float and also wasn't given the option to use a floating device eventhough it was available. It can be quite scary if you don't know what you're doing!

Pura Vida!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Tour to Isla Tortuga”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I am a native Costarrican that lives in Texas, me and my family took the Isla Tortuga tour, it was just and excellent experience. We had the opportunity to see Humpback whales and a pod of dolphins. The snorkeling was great, the tour was handle professionally and with excellent customer service. My only not so positive comment was about the food, which knowing all of the variety we have in our country it was not so great, I think that it could be better.
Besides that, the whole experience was great!!!! Pura Vida!!!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Tortuga Island Snorkeling, So Much Fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I recently went on a day tour with Zuma Tours. It was so much fun! The crew were friendly and very helpful! They went out of the way to make us comfortable and happy. The boat was spotless and they had plenty of supplies for everyone. The three of us ( from our group) were on the boat with another larger group from another resort which was okay, they were friendly enough. Zuma Tours left from the beach in Montezuma and we went for about a 30 minute boat ride on the way the captain spotted dolphins. We went toward the dolphins and they came right up to the boat and we were able to see them clearly, jumping and playing all around us,that was fantastic and a very special highlight! I have never been that close to dolphins before. Then we went to two beautiful snorkeling areas the first one, we stayed for about an hour and then another one, where one of the divers picked up some starfish to show us and most fascinating of all a huge Puffer fish, which we took many photos of! Next we went on the island to have our lunch, prepared and served by our zuma tours chef, steamed freshly caught Marlin with potatoes and vegetables. Fresh fruit was carved up for us, watermelon, papaya, coconut. Juice, soft drinks and beer were provided all day on the boat and on the beaches. The meal was excellent! Then we had about 40 minutes to wander around and lay on the beach or play volleyball if you wanted. For a special treat we stopped for about 30-40 minutes on the beach of another, what seemed like a deserted island and we swam in the sea. The other group took photos practicing yoga poses on the beach and on the top of an old shipwreck that was on there, one of the crew came over and gave me a beautiful iridescent shell he had just found, which i thought was so sweet! you can really tell they love their job and people! What a fun day! Everything was perfect! I will never forget the great day I had with Zuma Tours and Torotuga Island. Our captain was an Italian , named Ivan! Thanks you to all who made my day so much fun!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ZumaTours also viewed

Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to ZumaTours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ZumaTours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.