We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exciting and efficient boat ride- plus humpback whales and humping sea turtles!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ZumaTours

ZumaTours
Main Street, Montezuma 60111, Costa Rica
506-2642-0024
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 21 Activities in Montezuma
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Zuma Tours, your ocean experts in Montezuma since 1993, Tortuga Island Tour, Snorkeling, Scuba Diving, Taxi Boat to Jaco & Montezuma, Connections w/ Mal Pais & Santa Teresa, San Jose, Airport, Manuel Antonio, Sport Fishing, Also: Horseback Rides, ATV Rentals, Canopy Tour, Surfing, Cabo Blanco and Curu reserves. From accommodation to transportation, everything in one company. Zuma Tours: the most reliable and professional tour company in Montezuma
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Exciting and efficient boat ride- plus humpback whales and humping sea turtles!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend and I were staying in Herradura and were dying to take a trip over to montezuma. Zuma tours was our best bet as opposed to an eight hr car ride. We booked the trip the day before, received a confirmation immediately, and were picked up at our hotel ( even tho we later realized it was a five minute walk from the boat!) the boat ride was amazing. We saw dolphins and a humpback whale only thirty feet from the boat. The crew make it a point to stop and let you watch for the sea life if there's any on the way. We stayed overnight in montezuma- wish we had stayed longer, it's such an amazing place- and left the next morning. We met at the Zuma office in town the next day. The staff is very friendly and knew us by name as soon as we walked over. The waves were a little rough in montezuma so the company arranged a shuttle to nearby tambor, where the water was calmer and guaranteed a safer launch. The shuttle ride was about a half hour long and took us through the beautiful countryside. Again the crew was great - friendly and funny- and we managed to see some mating sea turtles on the way back! Definitely recommend these guys.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    32
    11
    8
    7
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, CO
1 review
“Great Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

The tour was excellent and was more than I had expected. The snorkeling part of the trip was longer than I had anticipated, being two 45 minutes sessions, and we even saw fish to make it worth while. The tour was laid back and relaxing, yet well planned and thought out. Definitely would recommend to anyone looking for a relaxing way to spend a day.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great guys”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

I was in Montezuma for three days last week with my girlfriend. The folks at Zumatours were really helpful. They're friendly, courteous, professional and not at all pushy. We showed up in town and they helped us get surf lessons, helped us figure out and book our transportation to our next destination, and they also have computers you can rent to use the internet. I definitely recommend these guys.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Top Contributor
244 reviews 244 reviews
107 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“spectacular!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

douglas our guide, took us by speed boat to montezuma and it took a bit under an hour. on the way, there were spotted dolphins swiming... so we took a few minutes to watch them: real dolphins, in their habitat, not trained, not performing!!!!! that alone made the trip all worth it! once in montezuma, we had about a 20 minute walk in the middle of the rainforest, up and down the river bank..... our kids loved crossing the river, hoping on rocks, etc....the walk is a bit rough, be sure to wear good shoes. on the way to our destination, you see lots of people, finally we got to the waterfall! OH MY! what a beautiful water fall. we jumped in the water and stayed there for maybe under an hour! walked back to montezuma, and had lunch. walked around a bit and then back on the boat. we were then taken to a secluded beach maybe 20 minutes from there. there was no one there but us. douglas´s friend knew of the place.... totally untouched by man, the water was cristal clear, the sand was so nice...... the kids spent a good time there jumping on and off the boat and into the water.... oh what fun.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montezuma, Costa Rica
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Zuma Tours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

I live in Montezuma and whenever I need to show visiters the island, rent a quad or go to Jaco by speedboat I put my trust in Zuma Tours. This is a class operation with the friendliest and most professional personel . All the way from the top man Ivon to Jose, Tito, Javier and the rest of the guides, you couldn't ask for better service.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ZumaTours also viewed

Tambor, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Puntarenas, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to ZumaTours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ZumaTours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.