We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful fully equiped cabin.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casacolores

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Casacolores to your Saves list
Hotel Casacolores
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Km 1, Montezuma 5361 , Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 15 Montezuma B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
220 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Beautiful fully equiped cabin.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

There for one night only part of a long drive tour through Costa Rica.
I booked this cabin in the morning from another hotel, it was the las cabin, and I consider myself lucky.
The place is very nice, Owners are very kind and helpful, they brought spices, cooking oil and everything else needed to cook breakfast, very quiet and relaxed place. Clean and well kept place. It is perfect for a nice vacation, fully equipped kitchen, full size fridge with ice, large room, private porch with a hammock, even a safe box. everything you need.

The only issue, it was a problem with the internet, WiFI was not available at the cabin, but a few yards down at the swimming pool the signal was very good. The hawler monkey are loud at down but so are everywhere else in Costa Rica.
The cabins are part of the complex, closed during night with security at the gate, the place is very safe, window open through the night no problem. The complex is not in the town, is about two km up on the hill but in a way is better, the town is loud and crowded.
The shower is funny, water is naturally heated, it has a weird shower head but water is warm and plenty.
No complaints what so ever.

Room Tip: ask for a cabin down to the swimming pool to avoid some street noise during day and by the road for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aquauomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Lethbridge, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

We so enjoyed our stay in Montezuma at this authentic and well priced cabin. We had the Rose colored house and it was equipped with a kitchenette and utensils, plates and pans for cooking. With three beds in one room and a Queen sized bed in the other, it sleeps up to 6 people. The pool is a few steps from the cabin and there is a bbq at the poolside as well. If you take a taxi into Montezuma it is about $3, there is also a bus that runs regularly - you can walk on the way there but there is a steep hill and so we always took a taxi back. There are tours for snorkeling and ziplining, surfing, it is a perfect vacation spot and next time I'm bringing all of my friends. :)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CanadaC0staRica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass Or.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

We had the privilige of staying at Casa Colores. We enjoy being able to be sufficient and Casa Colores was exactly what we like. A small place where everyone can visit by the pool or just read a book on the porches of the cabins. Catrine and Ruben are great hosts who are willing to share their local knowledge of the area. Thank you.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bobofthemtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

This was the perfect place for us. We love to cook and enjoyed the facility and access to so many wonderful local fruits, vegetables, and fish. Katrin and Ruben were very relaxed and helpful. Capitan...the hound dog made it extra special for us...(.missing our own dogs) He is somewhat of a celebrity around Montezuma and beyond. The pool was outstanding and the quality of guests...a plus. Not the place for whiny hard to please tourists...perfect for travelers who love plants, birds, sitting on a porch and meeting interesting people. The birding was FANTASTIC right in the well kept garden. The people who worked there were happy and mellow. We were able to relax. PURA VIDA at its finest. Thanks you Ruben (and your sweet mom) and Katrin. lovely.

Room Tip: If you want fitness get out and walk.....save the gym for home.Room service? stay somewhere else...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tater68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Casacolores is a fantastic place to stay. It is only a short walk away from Montezema and the beaches. Being up the hill from Montezuma makes for quiet and cool sleeping out of the heat and hustle of Montezuma. The owners are super friendly and super helpful.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Stayed in red house for 10 days. House came fully equipped with everything you need including blender. Nice swimming pool. Big deck with table & hammocks. Bed is soft so always got a good nights sleep . Woke up listening to all the birds. Wonderful! No stress here! Fan kept bedroom very cool every night. Nice 15 min walk to town. Local bus back 300colones or a cab any time for 2000colones. Cleaning people came in every day & did an exceptional job. They have a night security person on site as well. Owners Ruben & Catrine are very knowledgeable about area & both are very friendly & nice to talk to. We stayed in six different places in Costa Rica & this one was one of the nicest. Hope to visit again one day. Thanks for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Red house is further back from the road. All are private & face different directions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SUE W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

Currently staying in the orange cabin here with my partner (both mid 20s).
Owner is very friendly, warm, helpful and attentive.
Pool is lovely to mooch around in and often empty.
Cabins are all spaced apart perfectly to create your own private area which is great.
We are in smallest cabin as there are only two of us and we have loads of space and a great veranda.
Luxurious cabins, newly done out and beautiful. Well exceeded expectations even after the review.
Not a problem at all being out of the way from montezuma! Close enough to experience it properly yet you have a lovely rural retreat in the evening.
Stay here!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montezuma
0.6 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#8 of 19 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 stars 257 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Amor de Mar
Hotel Amor de Mar
#4 of 19 in Montezuma
4.5 of 5 stars 329 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kalapiti Luxury Jungle Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Ylang Ylang Beach Resort
Ylang Ylang Beach Resort
#1 of 19 in Montezuma
4.5 of 5 stars 672 reviews
0.5 mi away
Luz en el Cielo Eco-B&B/Hostel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Horizontes de Montezuma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casacolores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casacolores

Address: Km 1, Montezuma 5361, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casacolores 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family hotel with swimming pool and tropical garden managed by the owners. Situated in a quiet area just outside Montezuma village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Casacolores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing