We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casacolores

Save Saved
You added Hotel Casacolores to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Hostelworld.com
and 1 more site!
Hotel Casacolores
On the main road. 1 km before Montezuma village on the road from Cobano to Montezuma, Costa Rica, Montezuma 5361 , Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 15 Montezuma B&B and Inns
Boca Raton
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Loved this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed in the larger 2 bedroom cabin for 2 weeks and loved it - just over a mile from the center of Montezuma with a nice hill on the way back! I was preparing for the La Ruta mountain bike race so was perfectly located to get some good muddy rides in. Having the bike was a blessing and made popping into town to get food, etc.. easy (town being Cobana and not Montezuma!). The owners were very helpful, ensuring our cabin was always clean, and cooking fresh fish for us one night. On the grounds of the cabins we had a troop of white faced capuchin monkeys come through one morning which was cool to see from our deck.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    66
    21
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
37
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

These lovely cheap cabins are a great place. To stay if you have a car or love to hike.
The place is a bit far from the centre of Montezuma, so you have to take a cab ($4), walk (20min 40% elevation) or drive yourself if you have a car (5min).

The cabins are clean, big and the big fan keeps it chilled.
Each cabin has een fully equipped kitchen. (Even a blender, so bring fresh fruits!)

The owner, a lovely lady who doesn't speak English very good but tries her best.
She was very helpfull and even ordered pizza for us and brought it to our cabin

So if you don't mind the distance it's a great place to relax.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We LOVED staying at Casacolores. The cabins were clean, adorable, and had an amazing little kitchen and a huge front porch with a hammock where we spent a lot of time. Plus, the price was incredible! The owners were fantastic and so accommodating. Montezuma is a great town - my only reason for not giving it 5 stars was that it was a little further from the town than we had hoped. It's not a long drive by any stretch (maybe 5 minutes at the most), but I wouldn't recommend walking due to the narrow, windy, and hilly road that leads down to the beach. The upside is that you're at a little bit higher elevation and so it's a bit cooler. Parking in town was easy and we had no troubles whatsoever.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackwood, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

These cottages are just sooo beautiful wood! Was just alittle disappointed that they were not closer to the beach/town. . But no complaints here....felt very comfortable and safe. Would very much recommend this place. Kitchen was sparse but good enough and bathroom was clean with plenty of room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We stayed there 9 nights and we really felt at home.
Nothing to complain! Everything was perfect. Helpful and friendly stuff, good kitchen and nice bathroom. There is also a nice pool for relaxing after the walk up from Montezuma.
Would stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We spend 2 nights in Casacolores and really don't get what everybody is raving about. The accomodations and grounds are very basic and old. The deck of our cabin was nice but inside it was outdated, not well maintened, but most of all, not clean! The bathroom tiles were dirty, the bedlinnens were old and we really didn't want to touch the lightswitches because they were black with dirt! We even found a cockroach in the bathroom... They put a list with houserules on the wall of the cabin and it said 'at tip for the maid is appreciated' i mean, really people?? This place cost us 50$ p/n without breakfast, we've stayed a places during this trip wich cost 60$ p/n including breakfast wich are 200% better!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

These cabins have every thing you could want with screens on the windows and shutters that you don't need to close and lock because you are up on stilts so, except for the front deck, no one can see in nor get in. The front deck is your dining room/family room with table, benches, rocking chair, and hammock. Complete kitchen with hot water, bathroom with hot water, (cold showers are not nearly as "refreshing" as they are purported to be), and separate bedroom(s) with a big ceiling fan. Cabins are more than 50 yards apart with parking near the front steps. WiFi reception is good every where including at the pool. This is really a very comfortable place to stay.
When the sun comes up, you will wake up too....the howler monkeys and all of the birds are a little loud. It is one of the best reasons to visit Costa Rica!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Casacolores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casacolores

Address: On the main road. 1 km before Montezuma village on the road from Cobano to Montezuma, Costa Rica, Montezuma 5361 , Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family hotel with swimming pool and tropical garden managed by the owners. Situated in a quiet area just outside Montezuma village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Casacolores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casacolores, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.