We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely cabins, a bit far from Montezuma” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casacolores

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Casacolores to your Saves list
Hotel Casacolores
Km 1, Montezuma 5361 , Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 15 Montezuma B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely cabins, a bit far from Montezuma”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

These lovely cheap cabins are a great place. To stay if you have a car or love to hike.
The place is a bit far from the centre of Montezuma, so you have to take a cab ($4), walk (20min 40% elevation) or drive yourself if you have a car (5min).

The cabins are clean, big and the big fan keeps it chilled.
Each cabin has een fully equipped kitchen. (Even a blender, so bring fresh fruits!)

The owner, a lovely lady who doesn't speak English very good but tries her best.
She was very helpfull and even ordered pizza for us and brought it to our cabin

So if you don't mind the distance it's a great place to relax.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    24
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
28
54
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We LOVED staying at Casacolores. The cabins were clean, adorable, and had an amazing little kitchen and a huge front porch with a hammock where we spent a lot of time. Plus, the price was incredible! The owners were fantastic and so accommodating. Montezuma is a great town - my only reason for not giving it 5 stars was that it was a little further from the town than we had hoped. It's not a long drive by any stretch (maybe 5 minutes at the most), but I wouldn't recommend walking due to the narrow, windy, and hilly road that leads down to the beach. The upside is that you're at a little bit higher elevation and so it's a bit cooler. Parking in town was easy and we had no troubles whatsoever.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackwood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

These cottages are just sooo beautiful wood! Was just alittle disappointed that they were not closer to the beach/town. . But no complaints here....felt very comfortable and safe. Would very much recommend this place. Kitchen was sparse but good enough and bathroom was clean with plenty of room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We stayed there 9 nights and we really felt at home.
Nothing to complain! Everything was perfect. Helpful and friendly stuff, good kitchen and nice bathroom. There is also a nice pool for relaxing after the walk up from Montezuma.
Would stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We spend 2 nights in Casacolores and really don't get what everybody is raving about. The accomodations and grounds are very basic and old. The deck of our cabin was nice but inside it was outdated, not well maintened, but most of all, not clean! The bathroom tiles were dirty, the bedlinnens were old and we really didn't want to touch the lightswitches because they were black with dirt! We even found a cockroach in the bathroom... They put a list with houserules on the wall of the cabin and it said 'at tip for the maid is appreciated' i mean, really people?? This place cost us 50$ p/n without breakfast, we've stayed a places during this trip wich cost 60$ p/n including breakfast wich are 200% better!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

These cabins have every thing you could want with screens on the windows and shutters that you don't need to close and lock because you are up on stilts so, except for the front deck, no one can see in nor get in. The front deck is your dining room/family room with table, benches, rocking chair, and hammock. Complete kitchen with hot water, bathroom with hot water, (cold showers are not nearly as "refreshing" as they are purported to be), and separate bedroom(s) with a big ceiling fan. Cabins are more than 50 yards apart with parking near the front steps. WiFi reception is good every where including at the pool. This is really a very comfortable place to stay.
When the sun comes up, you will wake up too....the howler monkeys and all of the birds are a little loud. It is one of the best reasons to visit Costa Rica!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

My husband and I just spent a week in Montezuma, Costa Rica at Casacolores Cabins. I have never met such wonderful people. The owners Catrine and Ruben took care of us like we were family. Our efficiency cabin was neat, clean and had everything you could possibly need. If you'er looking for a quiet relaxing place to stay this is the place for you. We had hot water for showers any time of day and a pool right beside our cabin. Thanks so much Catrine and Ruben keep up the good work.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montezuma hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#9 of 19 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 stars 225 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Amor de Mar
Hotel Amor de Mar
#4 of 19 in Montezuma
4.5 of 5 stars 290 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kalapiti Luxury Jungle Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hotel Luz de Mono
Hotel Luz de Mono
#5 of 19 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 stars 233 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Celaje
Hotel Celaje
#1 of 2 in Cabuya
4.0 of 5 stars 134 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ylang Ylang Beach Resort
Ylang Ylang Beach Resort
#3 of 19 in Montezuma
4.5 of 5 stars 626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casacolores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casacolores

Address: Km 1, Montezuma 5361, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family hotel with swimming pool and tropical garden managed by the owners. Situated in a quiet area just outside Montezuma village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Casacolores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casacolores, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.