We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casacolores

Save Saved
You added Hotel Casacolores to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Casacolores
On the main road. 1 km before Montezuma village on the road from Cobano to Montezuma, Costa Rica, Montezuma 5361 , Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 14 Montezuma B&B and Inns
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfection!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Stayed at Casacolores for 4 weeks and it was amazing. The brightly colored bungalows are well build, spacious, clean and just far enough from each other to be private, yet not deserted. Neat clean bathroom with plenty of hot water. Big fridge and kitchen with all the stuff you need to cook up a storm. Safe for your valuables and a fan for comfort. Our favorite room quickly bacame the big patio with dining table and hammock. There is also a pool too cool down and a pool area you can relax by. The vibe is very relaxed and mellow. The owners, Ruben and Catrine are great hosts and will give you great advise if you ask, but they don't try to sell you trips or stuff you don't need. They light up the barbeque and invite the guests once in a while and if you get the chance you should join them. Very friendly easy going people.

Casacolores is located around 1000 meters from Montezuma town, but it is quite steep and not well suited for pedestriand. If you have a car it takes 5 minutes, and if you don't you can take the buss that goes quite regularly or get a cab for a couple of bucks. The town has just enough resturants to choose from and bars to quench your thirst. Walk up the river to see three huge waterfalls in the middle of the jungle, zipline through the treetops, or just hang out. Beautiful beaches continue for miles and miles. If you like surfing or would like to try, Playa Grande is a 25 minute walk along the beach from Montezuma. Great beach break. I surfed with Young Vision Surfschool and they were great. Strongly recommend going with them if you are taking surflessons in Montezuma. Daily boattrips go from Montezuma to Tolinga Island for white sandy beaches and great snorkeling.

We rented a 4X4 and the location is great starting point. Cóbano is right up the road for supplies and grocaries and Montezume is right down the street. Continue past Montezuma and you come to Cabuya. Here I would recommend visiting the graveyard island. you have to wait or low tide and you can walk barefoot over to the island. Serene and beautiful place. You can also go to the Cabo Blanco natural reserve for a day of jungle hiking og out to the water for some reef break surfing. Casa Colores is a great place to be if you want to do some daytrips around the area by car as well. You can easily get to Mal Pais, Santa Theresa, Manzanillo and Playa Hermosa. You'll find great surf, friendly people and places to grab a bite.

If you point your car in the other directio towards Tambor you will find several small villages with great seefood and a golf course if thats your thing. There is also another huge National Reserve called Curú. Here you can go for hours on jungle walks, rent a kano and paddle out to Isla Tolinga og hang out at the beach.

All in all Casacolores is a great place to stay with good value, beautiful surroundings and very friendly owners.

What more could you ask?

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    21
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
41
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Keswick, Ontario
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Our family of 5 stayed at the Hotel Casacolores in early May 2012. The weather was good, though there was some rain since May is on the cusp of the rainy season. (Check the weather patterns in Costa Rica before you book a vacation there!)

The accommodation (a collection of bungalows) is fairly basic, but clean and spacious with full kitchen facilities. The property is a hike from town (up a steep hill), which wasn't a problem for us since we had a car. Our unit had two spacious bedrooms, a kitchen / eating area and a large porch. We were able to park our car right outside the cabin.

The property has a nice pool and the owners (Reuben and Catrina) are very helpful about virtually anything. We had our rental car broken into at Santa Teresa and had to deal with that issue while we were there. Reuben and Catrina let us use their phone and were most sympathetic. We felt completely safe at Casacolores -- and generally in Costa Rica -- but the car break-in (which occurred while we were swimming, within sight of the car) reminded us that one must be always vigilant (especially with a rental car).

I would happily return to Casa Colores!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luxembourg
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Basic little houses but enough if you are not too picky. Nice garden and quiet atmosphere. Owners are very friendly. Price is fair for what you get. We enjoyed...
Only thing is that you are a bit far from beach and road is steep. You can get a cab for 4 dollars..

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atenas, Alajuela, Costa Rica
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Casa Colores made all of our dreams come true. We had already been in Montezuma for 3 nights at a hostel where we had a less than pleasant experience. Arriving at Casa colores was more than I could have asked for! The bungalows were small but simple, clean, lovely, and stocked with everything you could need to cook....as well as a lovely front porch. The owners were super friendly and helpful. The pool was clean and a perfect getaway, made better by the owner's kids who joined us and were really cute! The only downside was the distance from the town, but taxis weren't too expensive if you did want to venture down to the main street of Montezuma. I would definitely come back here!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission, BC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

We spent 8 days at Casacolores in May and cannot recommend it enough. Gracious and interesting hosts who were full of information and very helpful. The scenery was wonderful and we enjoyed hanging out in the hammocks and by the pool. The walk to town was invigorating and we saw lots of howler monkeys on the way down. It was easy and cheap to get a taxi up the hill. We did the package including first and last night hotel by San Jose Airport and the shuttle to Montezuma and had three trips (horseriding, ziplining and snorkelling) and it was perfect. Looking forward to going back next year!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, ON
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

We stayed here for 17 days in March and had a blast! The bungalows were clean and comfortable and it's location up the hill from Montezuma was perfect. It cooled down beautifully at night for wonderfully comfy sleeps. We were traveling with several other families and had a total of 8 children with us and Casa Colores was safe, quiet and the perfect base for all of our activities, whether it was going to the beaches, the waterfalls or into town for a meal or groceries. Having our own kitchen was great! Whether it was just to keep stuff cool in the fridge or to make a delicious meal. We felt completely at home here and really didn't want to leave. Our hosts Ruben and Catrine and their staff were fabulous! They were so helpful and and really made this trip our best vacation ever! This was my fourth trip to Montezuma and not my last and no question we will always stay at Casa Colores.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sverige
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

We just loved the nice, clean and secure bungalows. Big verandas, nice pool and security 24/7 made this to one of the most affordable places we stayed at during our one month in Costa Rica.

It´s just 10 minutes walk from Montezuma (downhill) and maybe 15 minutes on the way back. The local bus from Cobano to Montezuma stops just by the small reception building. Very easy to get to.

If you are scandinavian (as we are) you can get all information and help you need in swedish as well.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Casacolores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casacolores

Address: On the main road. 1 km before Montezuma village on the road from Cobano to Montezuma, Costa Rica, Montezuma 5361 , Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family hotel with swimming pool and tropical garden managed by the owners. Situated in a quiet area just outside Montezuma village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Casacolores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casacolores, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.