We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best vacation ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casacolores

Save Saved
You added Hotel Casacolores to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Casacolores
On the main road. 1 km before Montezuma village on the road from Cobano to Montezuma, Costa Rica, Montezuma 5361 , Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 14 Montezuma B&B and Inns
Mississauga, ON
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Best vacation ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

We stayed here for 17 days in March and had a blast! The bungalows were clean and comfortable and it's location up the hill from Montezuma was perfect. It cooled down beautifully at night for wonderfully comfy sleeps. We were traveling with several other families and had a total of 8 children with us and Casa Colores was safe, quiet and the perfect base for all of our activities, whether it was going to the beaches, the waterfalls or into town for a meal or groceries. Having our own kitchen was great! Whether it was just to keep stuff cool in the fridge or to make a delicious meal. We felt completely at home here and really didn't want to leave. Our hosts Ruben and Catrine and their staff were fabulous! They were so helpful and and really made this trip our best vacation ever! This was my fourth trip to Montezuma and not my last and no question we will always stay at Casa Colores.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    21
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
41
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sverige
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

We just loved the nice, clean and secure bungalows. Big verandas, nice pool and security 24/7 made this to one of the most affordable places we stayed at during our one month in Costa Rica.

It´s just 10 minutes walk from Montezuma (downhill) and maybe 15 minutes on the way back. The local bus from Cobano to Montezuma stops just by the small reception building. Very easy to get to.

If you are scandinavian (as we are) you can get all information and help you need in swedish as well.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

We loved the bungalow, great pool, friendly owners, good price, a bit out of town wich is nice, good small kitchen, perfect place to unwind and stay for a while!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

We spent 1 week at Casacolores in the green house, which is a 1bed/1bath cottage in the woods surrounded by great birds, howler monkeys, and iguanas. The place was perfect for the two of us and the kitchen was equipped with everything we needed. We really enjoyed having a meal on the front porch or just relaxing in the hammock. The pool area is also very nice and was a nice way to cool off during the day or evening. We didn't have a car so we would typically walk down the hill to Montezuma, which is about 1km away. The walk was nice but we usually opted to take a taxi back up the hill, well worth the couple of dollars. The owners are very welcoming and helpful and made our stay that much more enjoyable. They helped us book a trip to Tortuga Island and we even hitched a couple of rides with them to/from Montezuma. This is a great place to stay and was very relaxing - there is a lot of stuff to do in Montezuma from hikes, waterfalls, to just relaxing on the beach. We never had a bad meal and enjoyed all of the restaurants and watering holes there. If you're looking for a relaxing place to stay and a great value, Casacolores fits the bill.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012 via mobile

We have stayed in the green house. It was a real nice and relax place with our own cabine. A nice terrace. And slao the pool was perfect after a hot sunny day.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

My friend and I stayed at Casacolores (blue cabin) for 3 nights. The cabins are about 15mins walk downhill to central Montezuma and right next to a bus stop into town. This was the perfect base from which to see Montezuma. I've broken down the review into different areas for fairness:

Staff/service:
It's a family run business and - apart from collecting keys and paying - we didn't see the owners much. However, when we did, Catrine and her son were very friendly and helpful.

Rooms:
Our cabin (blue cabin) was fantastic and large. It was right on top of the hill, surrounded by other cabins and a tropical garden. The cabin was self-contained, with a kichen, 2 beds, insect screens, a balcony, outside table/chairs and hammock. Although it was very close to the main road, we couldn't hear anything... and we saw Leaf-Cutter Ants, Orb Weaver Spiders, Squirrels, Hummingbirds. I could live here permanently - brilliant!

Facilities:
N/A (cabins are self-contained)

Food:
N/A (cabins are self-contained)

Tours:
The hotel doesn't offer any free tours, however I'm sure Catrine would have helped make arrangements had we asked.

Location:
The hotel grounds themselves were nice and the cabins are surrounded by a no-frills tropical garden. Although you're next to a main road, it's not that busy and you can't hear anything. Montezuma is about 15mins walk down said road (a steep downhill walk mind you) but there is a bus station outside reception if you don't fancy it. Montezuma's only (very friendly) taxi driver charges $2 for the journey back up. Bargain!

Room Tip: The blue cabin was right in the corner against the garden/forest walls. It felt like a more secluded...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2011

We have just stayed in the Yellow House for 12 nights and it was just about perfect!! The houses are all individual buildings so you feel very private, and they are spaced out around the trees and gardens so you just dont feel like you are staying in a hotel or anything, more a private house!! Our cabin was spacious and had everything we needed, a fully stocked kitchen, nice bedroom with good storage units but the nicest bit was the huge balcony with a bench dining table, hammock and rocking chair. It was so nice just to hang out there and watch all the birds and iguanas right in front or you. So peacefull and relaxing, we spent so much time there, we just didnt want to leave it. The pool area is very nice, we often had it to ourselves, well apart from the iguanas that hang out there too. Everything is well kept and looked after. It is out of town but the walk is fine, yes the road is steep but it is all tarmac now so makes it easier, takes about 20 mins going down and maybe 30mins going up. The bus is every 2 hours and stops outside the door so if you dont want to walk you can time it with the bus going to town or to Cobano. Or start walking and someone will stop, everyone is going to the same place as there is only one road!!Plus everyone is so friendly and nice, jumping in the back of a truck or jeep is all part of Montezumas laid back charm. Rueben and Catrine are a lovely couple, they are there if you need anything but you are also left only if you dont!!tThey are helpfull and knowledgable about the area, even gave us a lift on our last day into town as it was xmas day and the taxis were charging silly money!!The laundry is cheap and very good. Overall, if you like to be out of the way a little and enjoy wildlife,nature and peace and have all the comforts of a little house this is the place, it doesnt get any better and such good value for money. Can not say how much we loved this place and would reccommend it in a heartbeat. A favourite of our trip for sure!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Casacolores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casacolores

Address: On the main road. 1 km before Montezuma village on the road from Cobano to Montezuma, Costa Rica, Montezuma 5361 , Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family hotel with swimming pool and tropical garden managed by the owners. Situated in a quiet area just outside Montezuma village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Casacolores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casacolores, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.