We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Cascada

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montezuma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel La Cascada
Save
You added Hotel La Cascada to your Saves list
, Montezuma, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Loved the stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

We stayed one night. Location is great. Rooms simple, but clean. Hot water in the shower. Nice resting area with hammocks. The best thing was the food. Excellent breakfast and even better the ceviche de la casa. Attention is great.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    10
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
6
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Flint, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I have stayed at La Cascada twice, most recently two weeks ago. The room is reasonably priced, and there is hot water in the shower. It is $10 extra for air, which I happily paid. The hotel didn't have many guests, so there was no breakfast. The rustic rooms are clean and comfortable, the hotel is quiet and well kept. The hammock porch is a must for relaxing in the hot afternoon or evening. We were entertained by a family of howler monkeys and watched them for at least an hour. The short walk to town is refreshing. While the hotel is not part of town, there is a fair amount of noise from scooters and vehicles during the day on the road in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
111 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed here one night and although it was ok we found it to be a bit pricey for what you got. The air con was an extra $10. And in the first room it wasn't working and the next room, barely. The rooms totally spartan and no hot water in the shower and the shower doors were about to fall off. The whole place needs a bit of work. The highlight was the visit in the morning from the monkeys.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Rooms are simple and have option for A/C or not (about $10 extra for A/C.) However, since our room had two fans (a ceiling fan and an oscellating fan on the wall, we felt no need to pay the extra cost.

The only problem I had with the room (and this is minor) was that it was dark and the shower head was broken. We had a room on the second floor and the windows have a louvered shutters which don't let much light in. I never said anything till check out about the shower head.

The best thing about the hotel is the excellent area upstairs for chilling out in hammocks and in chairs while facing the beach across the street.

The second best thing about the hotel is the fact that it comes with breakfast and their breakfasts are substantial and quite yummy (service however not exactly the most attentive.)

The third best thing is the girl who works the front desk, Samantha. She's great!

Lastly, the fact that the hotel is right next to the path up to the waterfalls is really nice. When you eat breakfast you are sitting next to the river which comes down from the waterfall. It is quite peaceful.

Hotel has Wi-Fi.

Room Tip: If you stay upstairs, you might want to request a room which is located a little bit away from the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

V nice staff, the son took us to the waterfall and gave good surf lessons. Free breakfast included . Rooms small but comfortable, not always hot water but v hot in montezuma. Cleaned v well daily. Nice Hamaks . Location 5min walk to town centre but away from any noise

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights during the rainy season and were the only guests! There wasn't any breakfast, but our room was 50% off so we didn't mind. The hotel is very nice and our room was clean - they have cotton sheets and big towels. Our only complaint was that it was a bit far from the town, which in the rainy season can mean a muddy walk home from dinner.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

$55.00 per night + breakfast. Good little place, good breakfast to start the day. Located on edge of town, near to waterfalls, dusty road walk to little town centre!
Our room was on side of building, set below upper rooms. Air con was electric fans on walls, but adequately kept room cool.
Heard constant rushing water, from lower stream and falls.
But overall good value for money and we were made extremely welcome by the owners.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montezuma hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#9 of 19 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 stars 230 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Amor de Mar
Hotel Amor de Mar
#4 of 19 in Montezuma
4.5 of 5 stars 296 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Luz de Mono
Hotel Luz de Mono
#5 of 19 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 stars 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kalapiti Luxury Jungle Suites
0.0 mi away
Cabinas Mar y Cielo
Cabinas Mar y Cielo
#10 of 19 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 stars 36 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Celaje
Hotel Celaje
#1 of 2 in Cabuya
4.0 of 5 stars 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Cascada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Cascada

Address: , Montezuma, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 197

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Cascada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.