We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Cascada

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montezuma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel La Cascada
Save
You added Hotel La Cascada to your Saves list
Montezuma, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Nottingham
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012 via mobile

$55.00 per night + breakfast. Good little place, good breakfast to start the day. Located on edge of town, near to waterfalls, dusty road walk to little town centre!
Our room was on side of building, set below upper rooms. Air con was electric fans on walls, but adequately kept room cool.
Heard constant rushing water, from lower stream and falls.
But overall good value for money and we were made extremely welcome by the owners.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    9
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
4
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

I stayed at this hotel as part of the G Adventure tour group so I had a chance to see many of the rooms here.

Right next to the river, soothing sounds at night. Walk up to the Montezuma waterfall.

The breakfast restaurant is quite good.

Love the hammocks on the second floor! Very relaxing.

Generally clean, with towels and white sheets provided & changed everyday. Night security. Owned by a local family who lives at the back of the hotel.

Showers are unpredicable...sometimes a drizzle then suddenly more water power! Cold shower only. Hot showers are something of a luxury here in Montezuma. Good luck finding it in any of the budget places in town. Even when they say it's 'hot' it's lukewarm at best...

Most of the rooms don't have air conditioning but have fans nailed vertically to the wall. From what I have seen, most of the rooms are not spacious and can get stuffy at night.
However...
I really lucked out and got room 20. It's bigger than rest of the rooms and the ensuite bathroom is also huge, with a shelf to put your stuff. It does not have a/c but because it's by the river with big screened windows, it's very cool at night, I actually had to ask for a blanket!

Room Tip: Ask for room 20! It's the very breezy one on the first floor right by the river! Comes with a hu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012 via mobile

We stayed two nights in la cascada in january '12 because almost all other hotels and hostels were full!! La cascada was almost empty, but rooms are clean and nice, breakfast is ok but 50$ a night is too expensive for montezuma! Front desk wasnt very friendly. The waterfalls are nice and we had monkeys in front of the hotel! Best beach in montezuma is playa las manchas

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suburb of Houston
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

This was a dismal experience. I stayed here while taking surfing lessons with La Escuela del Sol. When we arrived, we lugged our suitcases up the stairs to the lobby and rang for the receptionist. She came out dressed like a homeless person with a bandana on her head. The room was completely void of any decor whatsoever. There wasn't even a window and there was no a/c. The only air came through the tiny bathroom which had no place to out your stuff even though it had plenty of blank walls crying out for shelves to be hung. The wifi was available occasionally if you stood in exactly the right spot. The room was so stuffy and the bed unbelievably uncomfortable that I slept outside in a hammock. I didn't mind the bugs in the room but my roommate did and she sprayed OFF everywhere which just made everything worse for me. The hotel is right by some rapids from a waterfall and you can hear it and the surf from the open air lobby but not from the claustrophobic rooms. Cars and ATVs go by loudly 24/7 and they spit out noxious exhaust -awful smelling non-pura vida. I would avoid this hotel if you can possibly afford another option.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the a/c but don't put your clothes under it because it drips continuously.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

This hotel has a great balcony with hammocks that overlook the sea. The rooms are small but pleasant. We paid extra for air conditioning which I would say was essential! The location is close to the track to the waterfall and a very short walk to the main village. Having said all of that, it wasn't quite what we expected. There was no hot water and no restaurant. We had expected breakfast to be included. Additionally there was an absence of staff the whole time we were there. It is doubtful we would have even been able to check in if a small boy hadn't told us to ring the bell. I got the impression that it was too much effort to run the hotel. When we were going out one day the cleaner asked us a question in Spanish (I am learning Spanish and didn't understand all of what she said). It transpired that she wanted to know if we had paid for air conditioning and asked us to put it on for her whilst she cleaned. I have no problem with her being cool when she cleaned but she did delay us for rather a long time to get her point across. I think this may have been a great hotel once, but there was definitely something missing during our stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

Stayed for 14 days and loved it. family run, couldn't be cleaner, excellent food. a short walk to the towns 'action' so you will hear/see monkeys, oceans, birds, etc. out your door, the ocean is a 50 yard walk, the River with majestic a waterfall borders the property. Huge balconies with a hammock for everyone to hang out, relax, nap or read in the shaded breeze. tends to attract the sophisticated young and cost concientious. no loud parties but those can be found close by in the center of town. Lovely out door restraurant. Eco conscious. Has A/C rooms that run 4 dollars more. otherwise ceiling fans seem to do the job.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seabeck, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2009

Definitely get a room facing the ocean, otherwise you will sweat all night. We moved to a larger room at the end, facing the breeze and it was so much better, the other room was intolerable. The rooms are clean and adequate but you will spend most of your time hanging out in the hammock deck area, that is this place's saving grace, it was a great common area to talk , sleep, just hang out. There is a quaint little restaurant downstairs with good food and cold beer. The management seemed super laid back and spoke zero english. This place is a little bit of a walk to town but not inconvenient. There is abundant wildlife around this place with little gangs of monkeys that come check you out and a resident white bunny. There are beautiful flowers all around and lots of common area to hang out, just no air conditioning.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Cascada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Cascada

Address: Montezuma, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Number of rooms: 197

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Cascada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.