We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing to recommend here.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Cascada

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montezuma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel La Cascada
Montezuma, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 19 hotels in Montezuma
Suburb of Houston
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Nothing to recommend here.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

This was a dismal experience. I stayed here while taking surfing lessons with La Escuela del Sol. When we arrived, we lugged our suitcases up the stairs to the lobby and rang for the receptionist. She came out dressed like a homeless person with a bandana on her head. The room was completely void of any decor whatsoever. There wasn't even a window and there was no a/c. The only air came through the tiny bathroom which had no place to out your stuff even though it had plenty of blank walls crying out for shelves to be hung. The wifi was available occasionally if you stood in exactly the right spot. The room was so stuffy and the bed unbelievably uncomfortable that I slept outside in a hammock. I didn't mind the bugs in the room but my roommate did and she sprayed OFF everywhere which just made everything worse for me. The hotel is right by some rapids from a waterfall and you can hear it and the surf from the open air lobby but not from the claustrophobic rooms. Cars and ATVs go by loudly 24/7 and they spit out noxious exhaust -awful smelling non-pura vida. I would avoid this hotel if you can possibly afford another option.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the a/c but don't put your clothes under it because it drips continuously.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    8
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
4
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

This hotel has a great balcony with hammocks that overlook the sea. The rooms are small but pleasant. We paid extra for air conditioning which I would say was essential! The location is close to the track to the waterfall and a very short walk to the main village. Having said all of that, it wasn't quite what we expected. There was no hot water and no restaurant. We had expected breakfast to be included. Additionally there was an absence of staff the whole time we were there. It is doubtful we would have even been able to check in if a small boy hadn't told us to ring the bell. I got the impression that it was too much effort to run the hotel. When we were going out one day the cleaner asked us a question in Spanish (I am learning Spanish and didn't understand all of what she said). It transpired that she wanted to know if we had paid for air conditioning and asked us to put it on for her whilst she cleaned. I have no problem with her being cool when she cleaned but she did delay us for rather a long time to get her point across. I think this may have been a great hotel once, but there was definitely something missing during our stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

Stayed for 14 days and loved it. family run, couldn't be cleaner, excellent food. a short walk to the towns 'action' so you will hear/see monkeys, oceans, birds, etc. out your door, the ocean is a 50 yard walk, the River with majestic a waterfall borders the property. Huge balconies with a hammock for everyone to hang out, relax, nap or read in the shaded breeze. tends to attract the sophisticated young and cost concientious. no loud parties but those can be found close by in the center of town. Lovely out door restraurant. Eco conscious. Has A/C rooms that run 4 dollars more. otherwise ceiling fans seem to do the job.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seabeck, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2009

Definitely get a room facing the ocean, otherwise you will sweat all night. We moved to a larger room at the end, facing the breeze and it was so much better, the other room was intolerable. The rooms are clean and adequate but you will spend most of your time hanging out in the hammock deck area, that is this place's saving grace, it was a great common area to talk , sleep, just hang out. There is a quaint little restaurant downstairs with good food and cold beer. The management seemed super laid back and spoke zero english. This place is a little bit of a walk to town but not inconvenient. There is abundant wildlife around this place with little gangs of monkeys that come check you out and a resident white bunny. There are beautiful flowers all around and lots of common area to hang out, just no air conditioning.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2009

I arrived in Montezuma without a hotel reservation thinking it would be easy to find a place to stay. Unfortunately, given the holiday travel season, almost every single room in the area was booked. After much frustration, I was able to secure a night at La Cascada. The room was very dark and smelled of mold and varnish. There were no windows in the room either, so I was not able to air the room out. After seeing the room, I immediately started walking around the area in search of a different hotel. I ran into other travelers who informed me that accommodations at other places were much, much worse - i.e., roaches in the beds, no windows, no bathrooms, etc. I gave up my search and headed back to La Cascada.

The rest of the hotel was actually quite pleasant. There is a large common area with hammocks and rocking chairs to lounge in and a pretty decent restaurant downstairs. Perhaps the room I was given was the worst room on the property given it was the last room available, but if booking a room in advance I would definitely look elsewhere. There was no hot water and no water at all in the morning.

The next day I stayed at El Sano Banano which was a significant upgrade, but also cost $95 compared to the $40 I paid at La Cascada. Couple more things to note, La Cascada does not accept credit cards and the receptionists do not speak English.

  • Liked — Common areas
  • Disliked — Lack of windows in the room, smell
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherbrooke que
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2007

Family owned, very well kept, quiet and clean hotel. Very good value for the money. Laundry service(even ironed polo shirts).

Owner found out i had just discovered and really liked ceviche. She then arranged a personal cooking(ceviche) session with the two tico chefs in the kitchen(taking little breaks to dance to the latino and reggae music playing during lesson) . An utterly awesome experience which i appreciated even more than seeing the Arenal volcano. Within 5 min. walk to Montezuma center. Would return anytime and highly recommend.

  • Liked — friendliness
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2007

I loved Montezuma so much I decided to stay on an extra few days on my own (my friend had to return to work). We had been staying at Amor De Mar across the street which is prime real estate, but I had to find more economical alternatives for the single traveler.

La Cascada was the nicest of the hotels I saw within walking distance to the center of the town. It was $35 for an adequately sized room (even bigger than the ADM even) and it was nice dark wood. I was really quite fond of my room and the place itself. It had a nice "shared space" with hamocks on the porch where you could over look the sea, as well as the street.

My stay was just fine there EXCEPT for one night which almost made me want to leave. You can hear people easily in their rooms in Costa Rica usually, and this was a Saturday night. The people in the room next to me were a bunch of young dudes who were drunk and who knows what else and they were up yelling, slamming doors, falling on furniture and god knows what else ALL NIGHT. I wanted to go over there and tell them to be quiet but I was truthfully scared to go over there as a solo woman. And I felt angry and resentful that the management who live in the hotel directly below them did not go up there to quiet them. Finally at 6am I went downstairs and asked them to go deal with the situation ( and i don't speak spanish and they don't speak any english so it was a bit frustrating to feel reassured that things would be handled well). I was concerned about the next night, but things were fine after that day.

That's it. Not a bad place to stay for the price.

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel La Cascada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Cascada

Address: Montezuma, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 19 hotels in Montezuma

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Cascada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel La Cascada to your Saves list