We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place, very peaceful, great staff, excellent food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nature Lodge Finca los Caballos

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Nature Lodge Finca los Caballos to your Saves list
Nature Lodge Finca los Caballos
Main Rd. | 3 km before Montezuma on the road from Cobano, Montezuma, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely place, very peaceful, great staff, excellent food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2011

We were worried at first because in the Fodor's travel guid, Finca Los Caballos did get an ok review, but the location is supposed to be bad. Which is not true!! It's in the middle of nature, away from busy Motezuma! It was very relaxing and everything is made/ designed with a lot of detail and thought. We heard Howler monkeys every day, visited the horses, enjoyed the great view at breakfast and had fun in the pool. Dinner was amazing. All in all we had a great time. It didn't bother us that there was no AC in rooms, but they do have big fans which work just as good.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elze2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Costa Rica
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2010

This little gem is a beautiful place with excellent staff and service. We had a great stay, relaxing and felt well cared for by the attentive staff. Thanks!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CostaRicaSteveandDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2010

I did a lot of research on Trip Advisor looking for a hotel near Montezuma for 3 nights of our honeymoon in late Nov., early Dec. 2010. We had settled on another one (Casitas Sollevante), but they wanted a wire transfer to keep a reservation and I had trouble doing it, so we decided on Nature Lodge instead.

The night we arrived we weren't sure of the place. The road is unpaved and remote, the light on the walkway to our room wasn't working and when we saw our room it was beautiful, but very stuffy from being closed up without the fan. We opened all the windows, turned on the fan and headed to Montezuma for dinner. When we got back, the room was much more aired out and comfortable. Not having AC turned out not to be a problem because it cooled down significantly at night, one night we even used the blanket. There were a few times in the afternoon when we probably would have turned it on if it had been available, though.

The room, a superior pacific room, was very beautiful and tastefully decorated. The king sized bed was comfortable, the floors made from unique stones and the furniture made from beautiful wood. The view of the ocean wasn't great, as it's pretty far away, but that didn't bother us as we spent our days close to the ocean.

The main building has an open porch area with a small swimming pool and outside tables. Breakfast is included, and was a small buffet and a special of the day each day that the lady cooking will offer you. The specials were delicious -- one day it was crepes, another scrambled eggs with cheese. That's where you can access the internet.

Our favorite thing about the hotel was its peace and quiet and the animals we saw around it. We saw both howler and cara blanca monkeys and iguanas. It also has beautiful landscaping. It was nice to visit Montezuma, but we were glad we stayed outside of the town.

The hotel is in close proximity to the town by car, but I don't think you'd want to walk if you don't have a rental car. It's an unlit country road.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kmt1202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
München, Deutschland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

...after being on the Hawaiian Islands for 6 weeks (got very spoiled there) a bunch of friends got together in Costa Rica for 2 weeks of just relaxing and a very good time!

The location of the hotel is just minutes away from Montezuma (very cute little town, perfect for dinners and little activities, bars, convenient to take boat trips) yet the hotel is away from every huzzle, quietly located in a tropical forest. (you will hear and see the monkeys)
2 or 3 room units, kinda like little villas, wonderfully designed and furnished made it just so pleasant. ( I'm not much of a morning person, but I always got up very early in the morning, just to see the sunrise, to see and hear the awakening day from our terrace! of course with a cup of delicious coffee - made from the coffeemaker provided in the room) also loved the additional shower outside!
Breakfast: the staff is very-very friendly, they will fix you everything possible extra to the rich breakfast buffet!
Again, surrounded by the lush tropic ambiance, feeling how the sun gets stronger, sitting at the common terrace for breakfast, what a perfect start for every day!

my friends were very pleased with the spa treatments, the pool, I much rather enjoyed horse back riding a lot!!!
even for unexperienced people, it's easy to handle the horses, a professional guide (he made us always feel safe, very friendly, a real pro with the horses!) will be with you to show you the trails to a hidden waterfall (with a natural pool for swimming) or riding along the beach..... very romantic!
Dinner: very tasteful local cuisine, the chef is an expert (and a good singer!) they also will fulfill special requests, you have to let them know in the morning and they will do their best to provide your wishes! A nice selection of wines completes the dinner.

overall: a very friendly, helpful staff, everybody there is really trying to make your stay as enjoyable as possible!

I really liked the tasteful design of the whole complex, nothing is overdone, just right!
I recommend this hotel for a relaxing vacation, with some activities if you decide, perfect for couples or a bunch of friends!
Helmut M. Hamberger, Munich, Germany

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HelmutMatthias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

We had been 'slumming' it in cheaper, more basic places during our 2 week trip in Costa Rica and decided to treat ourselves for 2 nights - and this was definitely worth it. We have really fond memories and beautiful pictures from our stay at Nature Lodge.

The room (Superior Pacific) was spotless and the outdoor shower was a real treat. It was very private and we really felt like we were alone as we had no distractions from any other guests. The location is a little far from town if you don't have a car, but we had planned to spend all day at the lodge so it didn't bother us. You DO need a car if you're planning to get into town though. Or you can get a taxi and the hotel will be happy to call one for you.

We spent the whole day relaxing around the lodge and the staff were not overbearing - they just let us be, so we really felt like we had the whole place to ourselves and were really able to relax.

We really enjoyed staying in luxury here and were energized to go back to less-luxurious(!) hotels for the rest of our trip. Having said that, all the places we stayed were great!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CR2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2010

There's only one word to describe this fantastic hotel: PERFECT. The rooms and the location itself is in the best shape you can imagine. The very friendly people make you feel like at home from the moment you will arrive. Service ist outstanding, Food and Drinks are excellent and the views to the ocean or the jungle are fantastic.
Wake up with birds and monkeys and get your first coffee on your patio. The owned horses are in an excellent shape and condition.
Everybody who has plans for a trip to Montezuma should come to this fine place.
State of the art.!!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cableguyBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2010

After spending 12 days travelling Costa rica and meeting lots of lovely, friendly people we were so excited about spending our last 6 days in Nature lodge. The lodge itself and location is amazing, really lovely rooms and a great place for seeing and hearing howler monkeys, birds and lizards etc, however the general vibe and friendliness was not a patch on that. It was the most unfriendly place we stayed and we felt quite un -welcomed which is a shame as its a really comfortable lodge - I just think the owners/staff need to be sent to learn some basic manners and hospitality training! The restaurant was not really a great place to eat either as you have to let them know by 12 mid day if you want to eat there what you want to eat. Its not the place to stay if you want a friendly drink and meal and chat to the bar staff etc. If you do decide to stay here, make sure you have a car to travel to Montezuma and beaches nearby as its quite a walk from Montezuma.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank kim1980Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montezuma
1.4 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#8 of 19 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 stars 254 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Amor de Mar
Hotel Amor de Mar
#4 of 19 in Montezuma
4.5 of 5 stars 329 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kalapiti Luxury Jungle Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#16 of 19 in Montezuma
3.5 of 5 stars 159 reviews
0.0 mi away
El Sano Banano Village Hotel
El Sano Banano Village Hotel
#11 of 19 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 stars 176 reviews
4.6 mi away
Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nature Lodge Finca los Caballos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nature Lodge Finca los Caballos

Address: Main Rd. | 3 km before Montezuma on the road from Cobano, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Beach Spa
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finca los Caballos - Hotel, Horseback Riding & Wellness - is a delightful nature lodge with only 12 rooms to offer personal service, privacy and tranquility. Inspired by our vibrant natural setting the finca is designed and built with beautiful local woods, stone using local artists and furniture makers to create a relaxed, romantic and barefoot elegant atmosphere. Reception desk staffed around the clock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Nature Lodge Finca los Caballos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nature Lodge Finca Los Caballos Hotel Montezuma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing