We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Piece of Paradise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nature Lodge Finca los Caballos

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montezuma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nature Lodge Finca los Caballos
Save Saved
You added Nature Lodge Finca los Caballos to your Saves list
Main Rd. | 3 km before Montezuma on the road from Cobano, Montezuma, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Piece of Paradise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Loved this place so much we just can not wait to return. Our tropical room was fabulous and the food magnificent. The portions were generous and the menu varied daily. Wildlife abounded around this place and everyday brought something new. Montezuma was a quick drive from the lodge and offered everything from waterfalls to excellent beaches. The sodas were good for the local cuisine and the towns "Hippies" offered unique custom jewelry. Usch and her staff made our stay at Los Caballos a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: want more romance try the pacific veiw rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    18
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
13
34
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zug, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

The finca is a wonderful and very peaceful place - far away from busy Montezuma. We stayed two nights in one of the big rooms overlooking the rainforest. Just amazing! The cuisine is excellent and always freshly prepared. The menu changes daily. The ladies in charge do not speak english but are very helpful.
We were disappointed since we thought that there are horses. Instead she called someone and we ended up with very friendly Americans that took us to the nearby waterfall. A very nice excursion.
There is a little buffet for breakfast and additionally they serve Gaillo Pinto and eggs.
The first night we were fighting with a cucaracha in our room... Still, we recommand this little treasure.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Amazing place! We woke up because of howler monkeys before a sunrise, and then observed a lot of butterflies in the morning. Very stylish swimming pool and a great view. Delicious breakfast and great service. Loved the stones in the shower, and a wooden design in the room. Nice to be so close t Montezuma, but it a wilderness ;)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Great views from our pacific view room, loved the outdoor shower. Birds and howler-monkeys are so close, it's nature pure. Montezuma is the close-by little village with a great hippie charm, we can recommend the restaurant called Cocolores in Montezuma, amazing food. The food at Finca los Caballos is great too, we had really nice dinners there. We loved the horses, we had fantastic hacks. We left after the 8 days we booked, just to return 3 days later - we decided to spend our entire holiday there, this is how good this place was!

Room Tip: Go fot he superior pacific room, its worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a beautifully designed, comfortable, peaceful hotel in the middle of the forest. We heard howler monkeys in the morning and I swam in the pool in the evening and watched the stars come out. The outdoor dining area was attractive with subtle lighting in the evening and a beautiful deck stretching over the forest. It is true that the cabinas are grouped together in threes so if you sit outside in the hammock you can hear each other and on the chance that someone smokes it could be annoying. Also, it is about a $6, 3 km cab ride to Montezuma, so if that's not your thing, this isn't the place for you. The staff were very helpful in getting cabs. Internet was available in the dining area.

Room Tip: We had what I believe we're the mid prices rooms for $98 and they were lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My husband, 4 year old and I stayed here for 5 days at the end of December 2012. The room was very nice. It opens up into the jungle. We awoke each morning to the sound of birds chirping. The breakfast was delicious- as was the dinner. The owner was friendly and informative. The pool was very nice and the wooded platforms with lounge chairs were a great place to sit and watch birds and iguanas. A great experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

In November, 2012 Nature Lodge hosted our entire wedding week. The view of the property alone was exciting! You are in the middle of the jungle, only minutes from the beach. We saw and heard monkeys everyday along with endless amounts of other wild life. Our group of 30 was comfortable with room to spare. The rooms were very clean and each style offered unique benefits ranging from ocean view to comfortable hammocks overlooking the jungle. The food was beyond delicious blending local flavors with fine dining flare. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly in catering to our every need. Our wedding was stress free, beautiful, and fantastic in every way. From decor and flowers to food, we were amazed. The beauty in the views, vegetation, wild life and sounds have left our entire group grateful and yearning to go back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nature Lodge Finca los Caballos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nature Lodge Finca los Caballos

Address: Main Rd. | 3 km before Montezuma on the road from Cobano, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finca los Caballos - Hotel, Horseback Riding & Wellness - is a delightful nature lodge with only 12 rooms to offer personal service, privacy and tranquility. Inspired by our vibrant natural setting the finca is designed and built with beautiful local woods, stone using local artists and furniture makers to create a relaxed, romantic and barefoot elegant atmosphere. Reception desk staffed around the clock. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nature Lodge Finca Los Caballos Hotel Montezuma

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nature Lodge Finca los Caballos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.