We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, peaceful; lovely atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nature Lodge Finca los Caballos

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montezuma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nature Lodge Finca los Caballos
Main Rd. | 3 km before Montezuma on the road from Cobano, Montezuma, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 19 hotels in Montezuma
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Quiet, peaceful; lovely atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a beautifully designed, comfortable, peaceful hotel in the middle of the forest. We heard howler monkeys in the morning and I swam in the pool in the evening and watched the stars come out. The outdoor dining area was attractive with subtle lighting in the evening and a beautiful deck stretching over the forest. It is true that the cabinas are grouped together in threes so if you sit outside in the hammock you can hear each other and on the chance that someone smokes it could be annoying. Also, it is about a $6, 3 km cab ride to Montezuma, so if that's not your thing, this isn't the place for you. The staff were very helpful in getting cabs. Internet was available in the dining area.

Room Tip: We had what I believe we're the mid prices rooms for $98 and they were lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    17
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
13
32
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My husband, 4 year old and I stayed here for 5 days at the end of December 2012. The room was very nice. It opens up into the jungle. We awoke each morning to the sound of birds chirping. The breakfast was delicious- as was the dinner. The owner was friendly and informative. The pool was very nice and the wooded platforms with lounge chairs were a great place to sit and watch birds and iguanas. A great experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

In November, 2012 Nature Lodge hosted our entire wedding week. The view of the property alone was exciting! You are in the middle of the jungle, only minutes from the beach. We saw and heard monkeys everyday along with endless amounts of other wild life. Our group of 30 was comfortable with room to spare. The rooms were very clean and each style offered unique benefits ranging from ocean view to comfortable hammocks overlooking the jungle. The food was beyond delicious blending local flavors with fine dining flare. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly in catering to our every need. Our wedding was stress free, beautiful, and fantastic in every way. From decor and flowers to food, we were amazed. The beauty in the views, vegetation, wild life and sounds have left our entire group grateful and yearning to go back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Our trip to Costa Rica was awesome! We had a great time and everything went perfectly. We were both impressed with the willingness of the personnel at the hotel to accommodate and provide for our needs. I would recommend your services to anyone considering a trip to your remarkable country. The grounds are exquisite. I could have stayed here several days. (NOTE: A taxi is required for a trip to the beach or to the town,)

Room Tip: Taxi required for trip to town and/or the beach. Internet access was down and unrepaired while we w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

This is defiantly located off the beating path but worth the hike...in a 4 wheel drive vehicle of course. The property is beautiful with lush gardens. Be prepared to see several iguanas and wildlife. Friendly staff and food is great.

Room Tip: The suits that face the ocean have amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

Spent 3 nights at this hotel during our honeymoon. Our room had a wonderful view of the jungle and beach. Staff was very nice. The room was clean, but there were lots of bugs. Also, the white bathroom towels they provided us had stains. We were disappointed to find out that since May they no longer have horses. The hotel is also about a 10 minute drive to Montezuma so I would recommend staying closer to the town and actual beach for the same cost.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

The property here is green and beautiful!! The service was excellent. The staff exceeded expectations and went out of there way to accommodate our needs. The rooms were clean, and our room had a great view of the tree line and ocean in the distance. The food was amazing and we often chose to eat there rather then go to town to eat. Each meal was freshly prepared and we especially liked the appetizers. We loved this place and will definitely stay here again when in Montezuma!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nature Lodge Finca los Caballos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nature Lodge Finca los Caballos

Also Known As:
Nature Lodge Finca Los Caballos Hotel Montezuma
Nature Lodge Finca Los Caballos Hotel
Address: Main Rd. | 3 km before Montezuma on the road from Cobano, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Montezuma
#5 Romantic Hotel in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finca los Caballos - Hotel, Horseback Riding & Wellness - is a delightful nature lodge with only 12 rooms to offer personal service, privacy and tranquility. Inspired by our vibrant natural setting the finca is designed and built with beautiful local woods, stone using local artists and furniture makers to create a relaxed, romantic and barefoot elegant atmosphere. Reception desk staffed around the clock. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nature Lodge Finca los Caballos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Nature Lodge Finca los Caballos to your Saves list