We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rest and Relaxation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nature Lodge Finca los Caballos

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montezuma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nature Lodge Finca los Caballos
Save
You added Nature Lodge Finca los Caballos to your Saves list
Main Rd. | 3 km before Montezuma on the road from Cobano, Montezuma, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Irvine, California
1 review
“Rest and Relaxation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My husband, 4 year old and I stayed here for 5 days at the end of December 2012. The room was very nice. It opens up into the jungle. We awoke each morning to the sound of birds chirping. The breakfast was delicious- as was the dinner. The owner was friendly and informative. The pool was very nice and the wooded platforms with lounge chairs were a great place to sit and watch birds and iguanas. A great experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    18
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
13
34
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

In November, 2012 Nature Lodge hosted our entire wedding week. The view of the property alone was exciting! You are in the middle of the jungle, only minutes from the beach. We saw and heard monkeys everyday along with endless amounts of other wild life. Our group of 30 was comfortable with room to spare. The rooms were very clean and each style offered unique benefits ranging from ocean view to comfortable hammocks overlooking the jungle. The food was beyond delicious blending local flavors with fine dining flare. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly in catering to our every need. Our wedding was stress free, beautiful, and fantastic in every way. From decor and flowers to food, we were amazed. The beauty in the views, vegetation, wild life and sounds have left our entire group grateful and yearning to go back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Our trip to Costa Rica was awesome! We had a great time and everything went perfectly. We were both impressed with the willingness of the personnel at the hotel to accommodate and provide for our needs. I would recommend your services to anyone considering a trip to your remarkable country. The grounds are exquisite. I could have stayed here several days. (NOTE: A taxi is required for a trip to the beach or to the town,)

Room Tip: Taxi required for trip to town and/or the beach. Internet access was down and unrepaired while we w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

This is defiantly located off the beating path but worth the hike...in a 4 wheel drive vehicle of course. The property is beautiful with lush gardens. Be prepared to see several iguanas and wildlife. Friendly staff and food is great.

Room Tip: The suits that face the ocean have amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

Spent 3 nights at this hotel during our honeymoon. Our room had a wonderful view of the jungle and beach. Staff was very nice. The room was clean, but there were lots of bugs. Also, the white bathroom towels they provided us had stains. We were disappointed to find out that since May they no longer have horses. The hotel is also about a 10 minute drive to Montezuma so I would recommend staying closer to the town and actual beach for the same cost.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

The property here is green and beautiful!! The service was excellent. The staff exceeded expectations and went out of there way to accommodate our needs. The rooms were clean, and our room had a great view of the tree line and ocean in the distance. The food was amazing and we often chose to eat there rather then go to town to eat. Each meal was freshly prepared and we especially liked the appetizers. We loved this place and will definitely stay here again when in Montezuma!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

My girlfriend and I had the pleasure of staying two nights in the Finca los Caballos as part of a driving tour of Costa Rica. We arrived quite late due to a bit of a nightmarish drive in the dark from Playa Potrero - fortunately reception was still staffed and we were directed to a simple yet smart cabin close to the main reception and pool area. The room featuted two queen sized beds with a large en suite and wet shower room. Staff were very helpful and were able to assist us with getting taxis into town as the hotel is situated a reasonable distance from Montezuma itself (note - you should try to pre-book travel back as we had to rely on lifts back from the locals as there were no taxis to be found after a late night at Chicos bar - lovely people). Rooms were functional and the pool area is intimate and smart, we had an enjoyable couple of sundowners while taking in the beautiful surroundings which was great. The hotel was part of Costa Rica Tours flexi drive package (excellent, see separate comments) so I can't really comment on value for money. All in all I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nature Lodge Finca los Caballos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nature Lodge Finca los Caballos

Address: Main Rd. | 3 km before Montezuma on the road from Cobano, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finca los Caballos - Hotel, Horseback Riding & Wellness - is a delightful nature lodge with only 12 rooms to offer personal service, privacy and tranquility. Inspired by our vibrant natural setting the finca is designed and built with beautiful local woods, stone using local artists and furniture makers to create a relaxed, romantic and barefoot elegant atmosphere. Reception desk staffed around the clock. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nature Lodge Finca Los Caballos Hotel Montezuma

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nature Lodge Finca los Caballos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.