We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and great value!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Sano Banano Village Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added El Sano Banano Village Hotel to your Saves list
El Sano Banano Village Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Main Road - Town Center, Montezuma, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great location and great value!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We have stayed here before 2.5 years ago and picked it for our latest trip. Sano and resort Ylang Ylang have the same owners so you can use the amenities at Ylang Ylang such as the very nice pool. The breakfast is always very good and the staff is top notch. We picked a different room this time without windows and I did miss the light, it was however very roomy with a dining table and shelves.

I know that we will stay at Sano over and over again.

Room Tip: They sometimes offer walk in specials of $20 off a night so if you are just checking out other hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    52
    15
    9
    4
See reviews for
25
47
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

My friend and I traveled to Montezuma just before the start of the rainy season. Things were relatively slow at the hotel, but that may have made the experience even better (in that staff had more time to take care of each patron). There is a warm and friendly feeling you get from all of the staff, and most of them speak English quite well. But they are also more than happy to chat with you in Spanish if you are trying to improve your Spanish skills. I wish I remembered all of the staff members' names (Les, Hoover, etc.), but they were all fantastic and really made us feel like we were at home.

Aside from the free breakfast we got for staying in the hotel, we ended up eating a good number of our other meals at the hotel too because the food was actually quite good. I really liked the Casado and the shrimp rice (very good). The other restaurant in town that is pretty solid is Vaca Loca (Crazy Cow), but they were closed a few times when we tried to go there.

Overall, we had a great stay at El Sano Banano and would definitely come back for another visit.

Room Tip: Pick a room with a window!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Everything about this place was great. The food, people, rooms, location. But they tell you not to drink the water and will offer to fill up your bottle with filtered. I was there with a bunch of other people and we all took them up on that. 8 of us got sick; fever, the runs, the whole nine yards. Way fun! We didn't eat or drink anything anywhere else. My daughter said she asked for a fill up and saw them doing it from the faucet. So she didn't drink it and didn't get sick. It's possible they have a filter under the sink inline with the supply. Or maybe some of the staff aren't trained and will give you tap water straight from the faucet. It's also possible their filtration system is contaminated. In any case, 5 of the 6 adults got sick and 3 of 11 kids. Get bottled water in the supermarket instead.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uumatter, Owner at El Sano Banano Village Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
HungryBeagle, thanks for your positive remarks about our hotel and restaurant.

Naturally, I am surprised that you experienced a problem with our water so I took the time to investigate and here is my response:
The water source for El Sano Banano and most other establishments in Montezuma are maintained and serviced by the town's local water association. This likewise is overseen by the Health Ministry and Water Works Ministry, who do sporadic checks. The water is chlorinated but not filtered at the source as it comes from a deep well and is considered pure by chemical standards with a high mineral content.

At El Sano Banano, we have a one micron ceramic filter system that includes activated charcoal to remove the majority of chlorine and silver beads for residual bacteria. The unit has a lifetime of 12 months. At present it is 6 months old. This filter is certified to prevent amoebas and bacteria from passing into the water and was installed by us just as an added measure.

To date, no one else has had your symptoms... neither guests nor workers nor myself.

I believe it is possible that your distress came from sensitivity to the water's mineral content, stomach flu or heat. While traveling, there are so many variables and sources of infection. Many are a result of something ingested days before or simply from not washing our hands. I know firsthand how this feels... while in the Dominican Republic three years ago, my son and I came down with a stomach ailment and it just sapped us.

However, since I cannot be sure as to what caused your stomach distress, we are all taking the matter seriously.

Sincerely,

Lenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle River, Alaska
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

If you are looking for a clean and simple place to stay right in the heart of Montezuma, but have to stay on a budget this hotel is a great option. The rooms are very clean and the staff is great! I have read reviews that say no windows, we were given a room with a window that went right out to the street, so I think it just depends what room you are given and if the hotel isn't booked up you could request a room with a window. Also when you stay at this hotel you have access to the Resort just a 10-15 minute walk away. (Just make sure you have a flashlight for night walking)

Overall I would recomend this hotel, enjoy your trip!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

We didn't have windows in the room which was a little odd for three people (and using the restroom). But cheap and centrally located, delicious breakfast in the morning and wifi in the rooms. Service was great, just know that Montezuma is very touristy. Id recommend looking into Santa Teresa instead and stopping by Montezuma.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

This hotel is located right downtown in Montezuma. The rate is extremely reasonable but the rooms are lacking in comfort. The rooms are very small and up a really steep staircase (hard for us to lug our suitcases) and no elevator. The nicest feature of this hotel is that you are allowed to use their sister hotel's beautiful pool area - it's a walk down the beach but worth it. We enjoyed the pool each day we were there - really helped cool off in the hot afternoons!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escazu, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Great option for travelers on a tight budget. The place is located right down town, the staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms are pretty standard but clean and cute. The restaurant is conveniently located downstairs and they have movie time during the weekend (thats when i was there). One great amenity is the use pool at the Ylang Ylang hotel! great retreat (without paying the accomodation price) .
Breakfast is included, and the options are very appealing to the region...very tropical and fruity.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Sano Banano Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Sano Banano Village Hotel

Address: Main Road - Town Center, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — El Sano Banano Village Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the main street in the heart of Montezuma, this hotel offers 11 comfortable rooms that are economically priced just a block from the beach. The rooms are above the well-known restaurant and have A.C., hot showers and SkyTV. The rooms are quiet and secure for those who prefer in-town comfort. Breakfast is included and the hotel guests are welcome to use the pool and hammocks at Ylang Ylang Beach Resort, just a 10-12 minute walk on the beach from Montezuma. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Tingo so you can book your El Sano Banano Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Sano Banano Village Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.