We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, Good staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Sano Banano Village Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added El Sano Banano Village Hotel to your Saves list
El Sano Banano Village Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Main Road - Town Center, Montezuma, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Providenciales
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good value, Good staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

The Rooms have a rustic feel and are comfortable with TV & AC and get cleaned to a good standard daily. Although try to make sure your room has a window as one or two don't have any!
The staff here were super friendly and a good laugh. The hotel in situated slap bang in the middle of the small village of montezuma so everything is very close by; Supermarket, restaurants, sodas, bars & travel agencies etc.
The free Breakfast is also very good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    52
    15
    9
    4
See reviews for
25
47
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Saskatchewan, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

El Sano Banano came to the rescue after our house rental didn't stack up. We arrived late in the evening in the middle of the pouring rain into a town we didn't know and found this gem. A room was available for us for the 3 nights we requested, for a great rate that included breakfast. The room was large enough for our family of four and our bags. Beds were comfy, shower was huge, water was hot, a/c was cold. So we were happy!
Every night they play a movie in the restaurant, which was great to relax after a busy day and enjoy a bite and movie. The food is very tasty, no matter if it's the free breakfast with your room or lunch or supper. Pizza was especially good! Dessert is pretty delish too.
Staff was great at making you feel at home, sadly I lost the card I wrote with the two shining stars on staff...Juuvi and Eduardo is my guess, but I know I'm not quite right. Sorry guys, you were so friendly and you deserve a shout out!
The option of using the pool at Ylang Ylang was much appreciated! It was a beautiful walk to the sister hotel of El Sano Banano, down the beach to this oasis...be sure to take a walk down there and have a dip in the pool! We watched white faced capuchin monkeys while was played in the pool. The grounds are amazing.
El Sano Banano is right in the middle of Montezuma so you can easily arrange tours, head to the falls for a walk, hit the convenience store or find any number of places to eat if you don't want to eat at the restaurant in the hotel.
The only thing I could really complain about would be that our room was directly above the kitchen (room #7). Most times it was a non-issue, but be warned that when they start closing at 10:30-11 pm, there's a lot of banging. Same goes for when they start prepping for the day (not sure what time, 6 am is my guess). It wasn't a deal breaker, just a little startling the first night because I wasn't expecting it.
Overall it was exactly what we needed and I would recommend it easily.

Room Tip: I would suggest trying to get a room NOT directly above the kitchen to cut down on some late night/e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic service, excellent cuisine. You feel right at home with movies at night, access to gorgeous and tranquil Ylang Ylang resort, and security 24hr a day. Would most definetly return to el sano banano!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Amboy, New Jersey
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Excellent stay here. Friendly staff,good food, large shower with very good hot water. Worth the extra money. Conveinent location the grounds are secure and safe. I would only suggest spending no more than three days in montezuma

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New London, Connecticut
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

El Sano is a great location to stay and the food is delicious and freshly prepared to order. The rooms are clean and spacious. There was AC and wifi. Also, the staff is very friendly and extremely attentive. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Nice, low-key place to stay with great service and amenities. Room's are nice- good lighting, comfortable beds, clean, and spacious. Location is right next to the beach (practically on it) and in the town of Montezuma with natural activities all around. Fun place for family or friends to visit and this is a great option for hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Basic, very clean and spacious rooms right in the center of town. The staff was incredibly friendly and welcoming. There is a lovely area for eating outside in the back, shaded among the trees. Over breakfast we saw many lizards and various birds, adds to the Costa Rican experience! The beds were a little hard, but I found this to be true for most all of Costa Rica. Overall, great experience staying at Sano. The staff was exceptional, very accommodating, and made sure we had everything we needed!

Room Tip: My only complaint is our room didn't have window, but I'm sure you can specify this if you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to El Sano Banano Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Sano Banano Village Hotel

Address: Main Road - Town Center, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — El Sano Banano Village Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the main street in the heart of Montezuma, this hotel offers 11 comfortable rooms that are economically priced just a block from the beach. The rooms are above the well-known restaurant and have A.C., hot showers and SkyTV. The rooms are quiet and secure for those who prefer in-town comfort. Breakfast is included and the hotel guests are welcome to use the pool and hammocks at Ylang Ylang Beach Resort, just a 10-12 minute walk on the beach from Montezuma. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Tingo and Expedia so you can book your El Sano Banano Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Sano Banano Village Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.