We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Sano Banano Village Hotel

Save Saved
You added El Sano Banano Village Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Sano Banano Village Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Main Road - Town Center, Montezuma, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 19 hotels in Montezuma
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A great find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

When we first arrived in Montezuma we were staying at a different hotel. When we were walking down the street, however, we saw a sign in front of El Sano Banano advertising a reduced room rate. Upon walking in and checking out the hotel, we were sold.
* The Staff (Martin, et al) were amazing! They went out of their way to make our stay fantastic.
* The cost (June, 2012) was $45 a night for an air conditioned double room, right in the center of town that included an amazing breakfast. The rooms were cleaned every day.
* The breakfast was no ordinary hotel breakfast. We got to choose off of a menu that included the typical Costa Rican breakfast, banana pancakes, french toast, yogurt/fruit/granola, coffee or juice. It was fantastic.
* The restaurant downstairs shows popular movies every night, in English with Spanish subtitles.
* One of the best things about El Sano Banano is the fact that it's linked to the Ylang Ylang resort so you can go over and use their facilities (which you should!).

I would definitely stay there again.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    48
    15
    9
    4
See reviews for
22
43
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Two of stayed here for three nights, and overall we were happy with our stay. The positives: the location (right in the center of Montezuma); staff is nice; rooms were clean; when booking reservation, staff was very helpful in arranging transportation to and from Montezuma; ability to use facilities at Ylang Ylang. The negatives: although they advertise sound proof rooms, this is not the case; windows cannot be opened in room and A/C in rooms was pretty weak. As far as food goes, we ate breakfast there because it was included in the room rate, but for every other meal we went elsewhere (there is some really great food in Montezuma). Overall, I think we probably would stay here again on a return visit, primarily because the surrounding hotels do not really seem to be that much better.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the main street (it allows for some great people watching)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Spent five nights here in April 2012. I suppose for $75 per night for a family of two adults and two kids you shouldn't complain, but I just didn't like this place, I thought the staff were a bit surly and miserable; my father who was travelling with us said the bland breakfasts reminded him of boarding school fare in Ireland in the 1950s - it was a daring guest who asked for a second cup of coffee in the morning. The hotel is in the middle of tiny Montezuma village; the restaurant is good if overpriced. Overall, I think it was Costa Rica, not just the hotel, that was dissapointing: overpriced, a bit mean, offering far less than the brochure suggested, and expecting the foolish tourist to be grateful for mediocre service. The one thing we did like was access to the Ylang Ylang resort pool, which the kids really enjoyed. Do a bit of reseach, there are much better places in Montezuma, even in the $100-$120 range.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

I highly recommend this hotel, the staff is excellent and very friendly. Thanks to Emma the manager for seeing to our every need and taking such good care of us. The food was fantastic and fresh. A real bonus was the tropical pool at the Llang Llang resort a lovely ten minute walk up the beach. I look forward to my next visit. Thanks again for a great time. All the best. Alan G. Downie

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

we just left from our stay at our favorite hotel. we stayed from the 12th to the 19th of may. the room was 55 dollars for the two of us as it is off season from 1st of may to 1st of december. i cant speak well enough of this wonderful friendly hotel. this is our third stay here. the staff is so good to us. they do such a good job making us feel at home. there are movies every night in the restaurant for a 6 dollar consumption charge. our room was clean and comfortable. the floors are all tiled. and it has cable tv. they are sister hotels with ylang ylang so you can walk down the beach and take advantage of the pool at ylang ylang. we love you sano banano and will be back again soon!

Room Tip: we slept like babies. for me i cant see how you can find a better value anywhere in montezuma
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

Montezuma is a great place to visit, its very relaxing, no hassle, very small, very pretty. El sano banano: really nice hotel, the restaurant is nice, so is the sitting area and the garden, you can see birds, iguanas, and lots of geckos. The staff is great, very nice and helpful, the food is amazing, we had sushi, chicken kebabs with bbq, fish with a shrimp sauce, coconut soup with shrim and ceasar salad and I recommend it all! everything was delicious, so was the breakfast which is included and they serve bigg portions! the Yland Yland is beautiful, peaceful, the pool is really nice, you can see lots of monkeys, they have happy hour 3-6p, and is right on the beach, el sano banano is only a couple of minutes away from the beach and a 15 min walk from ylang ylang. Theres is a supermarket "Mamatea" very close if you need to buy something and its cheaper than the one next to el sano banano, if you want to visit cabuya and Cabo Blanco national park, there is public transportation leaving at 11:15 and 1:15 I think. The rooms are small, but nice and clean, the only complaint I have is the water, we didnt get a lot of water and it was either super hot or cold. It was the perfect time to go because the weather is still nice, and not a lot of people...I highly recommend el Sano Banano :)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
port charlotte, fl.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

My wife and I stayed at El Sano Banano for 9 nights, We had breakfast there evey day, with many daily choices, it was allways very good. we had several dinners there also, each better than the last, which was hard to do !!! Amy, Martene, and ALL the staff we the best !! The rooms are nice and clean. Big warm shower, but small bathroom. Only one problem wifi did not work for beans.Ihad 2 smart phones & 2 lap tops, had wifi maby 3 minutes in 9 days. all else was great, especially breakfast out back, huge blue birds, beautiful red-brown squirles, and iguanas shared our food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YlangYlangManagement, Manager at El Sano Banano Village Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
We are very happy to hear that you had such a great time at our hotel and that you enjoyed the restaurant so much!
Our internet provider was having some serious issues which took them about 10 days to repair, this only affected a couple places in town and unfortunately we were one of them. We kept trying to fix the problem internally but were not able to as it was not something we could repair...
The issue has been repaired and our internet is up and running as well as usual.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Sano Banano Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Sano Banano Village Hotel

Address: Main Road - Town Center, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 hotels in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — El Sano Banano Village Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the main street in the heart of Montezuma, this hotel offers 11 comfortable rooms that are economically priced just a block from the beach. The rooms are above the well-known restaurant and have A.C., hot showers and SkyTV. The rooms are quiet and secure for those who prefer in-town comfort. Breakfast is included and the hotel guests are welcome to use the pool and hammocks at Ylang Ylang Beach Resort, just a 10-12 minute walk on the beach from Montezuma. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your El Sano Banano Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Sano Banano Village Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.