We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Place to stay if you want to be in town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Sano Banano Village Hotel

Save Saved
You added El Sano Banano Village Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
El Sano Banano Village Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Main Road - Town Center, Montezuma, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 19 hotels in Montezuma
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The Best Place to stay if you want to be in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

I travel to Montezuma several times per year, and usually stay outside of the village.
On my last trip, I decided to stay at El Sano Banano since there was a $45 per night special, and I wanted to be closer to the beach and Chico's Bar.

The Hotel staff were so incredibly nice. I actually think of them as friends now, and know I am always welcome there. Emma, Jairo, Juan, Geovani and the others will do whatever it takes to make you happy. The rooms are extra clean, the free breakfast every morning was delicious - eggs, pinto, tortillas, local cheese and fresh juice. There was a security guard there after dark, which was great since I always felt safe.

Really the best place I've stayed in Montezuma. There are fancier spots, like Ylang Ylang or Nature Lodge, but for the price, staff, service, and food, Sano Banano can't be beat.

Tip for dinner: Try the sushi!

Room Tip: Ask for room 5 if traveling with group!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    51
    15
    9
    4
See reviews for
24
44
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011 via mobile

The hotel was very centrally located. The food at the restaurant was good especially the breakfast tipico and the house keeping really knows how to clean. We were next to the beach and there was never any sand in our room.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louisville, ky USA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

I and 3 friends stayed at the Sano Banano in mid-November. Montezuma is a very laid back village but the staff at the hotel were not when it came to service. they were always available to help and offered excellent suggestions for outside activities. The rooms are the usual motel size, very clean, air conditioned and colorful. the room i stayed in had a very cool shower with nice tile work. the hotel staff were attentive but no overbearing. the food from the hotel restaurant was good to great. i had their fruit and yogurt for breakfast and was amazed by the selection and quality of the produce. Dinner of mahi-mahi was just as fresh and wonderful as the breakfast. when i spoke to Emma the manager, she said she buys their food locally from area farmers or fishermen. the internet/business center was great, equipped with Mac computers. There are televisions in the rooms but we were not in Costa Rica to watch TV.
the montezuma beach is beautiful and goes on and on and on. the beaches are not owned by fancy hotel chains and are all natural with sea weeds, driftwood and other items washing up as the tides bring them. volcanic rock is everywhere and gives a very different appearance from US or mexican beaches that are just imported sand. The town is very small, 4 blocks or so, and has a limited number of things to do. there is much to do in the area though, just a short bus or car ride away. Buses run to nearby towns for grocery shopping, sight seeing or just cruising the streets for great local food. we stayed at the Sano Banano for a week and thoroughly enjoyed the hotel, staff and area.

Room Tip: room #1 was upstairs and quiet with good a/c and shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011 via mobile

Muy buen alojamiento y servicio de acuerdo al precio pagado. El desayuno está incluido y el menu tiene varias opciones, probamos el desayuno típico costarricense, el omelet y los panqueques de banano, todos estos excelentes.

Usamos la piscina del Ylang Ylang, nos gusto mucho y el personal el de ambos hoteles fue muy amable.

Somos de San José, Costa Rica.

Very good stay and service according to the price. The breakfast is included and we had several options to choose, we tried the typical costarrican breakfast, omelet and banana pancakes, all of these were excellent.

We used the Ylang Ylang swimming pool, we liked it very much and all the staff from both hotels was really nice.

We are from San Jose, Costa Rica.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

I was in Montezuma for six days and stayed at El Sano Banano the whole time. I was on vacation with friends and we arrived without reservations and were accommodated easily and promptly. We were able to keep our passports in the safe. We enjoyed a variety of complimentary breakfast options, as well as some delicious dinner choices. I can not say enough about the staff. By the time we left, I knew just about everyone by name. Hosea and Jiero were always ready with information or friendly service or just a 'hello' upon my return from the day's outing. Emma, the manager, was able to answer all of our requests with a yes. Rosa showed me how they made the swans out of towels. Jeanneth even helped me with my Spanish. I cracked up when I was showing Nestor, the security guard, some of my pictures and he recognized a couple from Santa Teresa that I had met one day in Cobano. (The husband, Danio, had steered us toward a great spot to eat in Cobano.) These staff members were genuinely happy, and happy to serve. This little village is a great place to relax for a few days. You can walk to the beach in one minute, you can be at the waterfall or the pool at the Ylang Ylang in 15 minutes. If you want to interact with locals it is perfect. If you want to keep to yourself you can do that to. Costa Rica was great and the people at El Sano Banano were a big part of that. Pura Vida!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011 via mobile

We had a wonderful time here!! The genuine friendliness and service was outstanding!! They were so nice, and helped us with everything we needed. Such a nice calm atmosphere. Can't beat being right next to market, and right in town. Know that anywhere you stay in Montezuma you probably won't have truly hot water, and it'll feel vaguely like camping. The perks of Sano Banano are strong air conditioners in all rooms, location, service/staff, great restaurant right there, and they show fun, random movies on a projector! We loved it, thanks to everyone who made our stay so special, you made us feel like family!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

we stayed at el sano banano the first week in november. the staff was very attentive. they organized a horseback ride for us. we coldnt have had a better stay.the room comes with a breakfast. evrynight they show a movie after dinner! hope to go back in back in may!

Room Tip: we had one of the fromt of the hotel so we could see everything going on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Sano Banano Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Sano Banano Village Hotel

Address: Main Road - Town Center, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 hotels in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — El Sano Banano Village Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the main street in the heart of Montezuma, this hotel offers 11 comfortable rooms that are economically priced just a block from the beach. The rooms are above the well-known restaurant and have A.C., hot showers and SkyTV. The rooms are quiet and secure for those who prefer in-town comfort. Breakfast is included and the hotel guests are welcome to use the pool and hammocks at Ylang Ylang Beach Resort, just a 10-12 minute walk on the beach from Montezuma. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your El Sano Banano Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Sano Banano Village Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.