We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE BEST PLACE TO STAY IN MONTEZUMA!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Sano Banano Village Hotel

Save Saved
You added El Sano Banano Village Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
El Sano Banano Village Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Main Road - Town Center, Montezuma, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“THE BEST PLACE TO STAY IN MONTEZUMA!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

we stayed at el sano banano the first week in november. the staff was very attentive. they organized a horseback ride for us. we coldnt have had a better stay.the room comes with a breakfast. evrynight they show a movie after dinner! hope to go back in back in may!

Room Tip: we had one of the fromt of the hotel so we could see everything going on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    51
    15
    9
    4
See reviews for
25
44
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Price, location, food, and the hospitable and accommodating staff makes this place a GREAT value for the money!

Room Tip: Some rooms have windows that
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

I stayed in Montezuma for a month and on my last night I stayed at El Sano Banano before heading out of town. The food was great, order the brownie with ice cream! Staff are nice. the room was ok... not the cleanest but it worked for a one night stay in town.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

I traveled to Montezuma alone to meet a friend and the friend knew about El Sano Banano Hotel, so I stayed there my entire trip. Ten days. I am so glad I did. The food was the best ever, I was amazed at the care and quality that goes into their dishes. I ate there everyday at least twice and had a variety of menu items, all were excellent. The staff was so helpful to me also, always ready to help out. They also spoke English very well, so if my Spanish wasn't up to par, I could communicate well in English. I was so impressed with everything. The tours all leave from right in front or back of the hotel too, so I could go everywhere without renting a vehicle.

The rooms are nice and clean, I needed to move because of a severe electical storm blew out my a/c and I was moved immediately. I will return to El Sano Banano on my next trip to Montezuma. The town is sweet, quaint and very friendly. I also felt very safe, they have security all evening. It was the best experience as far as food, room, staff, and ease of travel on a vacation I have ever had.

Room Tip: If you like having a window in your room they are available, not all rooms have windows. Just ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights in September. The staff were great. Our room was quiet and the place felt secure. The shower was luke warm. The breakfast menu to start the day had something fresh for everyone. - as did the rest of the menu. The only down side was the sister resort Yiang Yiang closes between Sept and November so there wasn't access to a pool.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011 via mobile

We got a last minute green season special for 45 dollars a night including a la carte breakfast and it was a great deal. The hotel is in the middle of montezuma which is a tiny village, so it was a bit noisy from the bar some nights but I didn't have any problems sleeping being tired out from all the fun things to do. The toilet in our room had a few issues with it but was all promptly fixed by the unfailingly cheerful and friendly staff. The room had a double bed and a single bed, tv, shelves and air conditioning. It was kept impeccably clean. I think another review mentioned bugs but we didn't see any anywhere, only enjoyed seeing lizards scuttling around outside!
We went to isla tortuga on a day trip which was lovely, water was pretty murky from the rainy season but to be expected! The zip line canopy is way fun and not far from montezuma. El Chorro waterfall is a long walk north along the beach and definitely worth it, just make sure you bring water and sunscreen! Everyone said that during high season montezuma is really a party town, if that's your thing.
Ps the brownie at the cafe is awesome and did I mention the staff niceness factor?

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011 via mobile

Has a last minute special for $45 including full breakfast. A fantastic deal for a lovely hotel. The sister resort has a beautiful pool area.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Sano Banano Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Sano Banano Village Hotel

Address: Main Road - Town Center, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — El Sano Banano Village Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the main street in the heart of Montezuma, this hotel offers 11 comfortable rooms that are economically priced just a block from the beach. The rooms are above the well-known restaurant and have A.C., hot showers and SkyTV. The rooms are quiet and secure for those who prefer in-town comfort. Breakfast is included and the hotel guests are welcome to use the pool and hammocks at Ylang Ylang Beach Resort, just a 10-12 minute walk on the beach from Montezuma. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia and Venere so you can book your El Sano Banano Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Sano Banano Village Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.