We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible!!! Avoid!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Chico's Bar

Chico's Bar
Center of Montezuma, Montezuma, Costa Rica
8844-4726
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 34 Restaurants in Montezuma
Cuisines: Costa Rican
Restaurant details
Crockett, California
1 review
“Horrible!!! Avoid!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

I wish I had spoke with our hotel prior to going into town for lunch.
The scenery is wonderful....it's right on the beach.
The food, service and drinks were absolutely atrocious!
The flies!!! My goodness.....
The drinks were so watered down on arrival, it was like drinking coke flavored water.
Cost.....well, let's just say for a basic lunch with 2 drinks cost more than 1 night in the best hotel in town.
Avoid at all cost!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    5
    3
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“An absolute rip off!!! Avoid at all cost!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

We ordered two Long Island Iced Teas, a beer, an order of nachos, and an order of ceviche, and we were forced to pay $80.00. No joke!!!! An absolute scam!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Potrero, Costa Rica
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The place to be on Thursday nights”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

My boyfriend and I checked out this bar while staying in Montezuma for a couple of nights. We went on a Thursday evening for Reggae night and had a blast! The bartenders were great and the bar hosts a large variety of booze. There was a DJ and a lot of dancing. Later in the night, we got to watch fire dancers perform on the road outside of the bar. We did not eat here but had lots of fun drinking and listening to the music.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Never again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Never again will I eat here and I recommend you not to as well. While the view and atmosphere is good, the food and service boarders on war crimes. It has been 9 days since eating here and my 2 buddies and I are still sick. Just thinking of eating the Big Burger again makes me want to gag. We are on 3 kinds of medication and eating here ruined the rest of our trip. Not to mention our server was rude, when we tipped him 15% on the bill he had the nerve to ask why he didn't get more, and he went to a friend we had met, not knowing we knew her and called us Gringos. Do yourself a favour and do not risk it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great view out back but that's all”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

We stopped here one night for a beer and sat at the bar. No one in the restaurant and only a couple of people sitting at the bar.

Another day we went in and walked through the restaurant and found an outdoor patio with a fantastic ocean view! We ordered drinks and hung out for a while on the patio hoping to order some food but after we sat there for a while we realized we probably didn't want to eat there.

The location of the restaurant is prime but it's potential is not being realized. It could be a fantastic indoor/outdoor restaurant but the huge inside part is being used as a bar with pool table and a few tables and chairs in an otherwise barren dilapidated room.No ambience whatsoever. The outdoor patio could be a hot spot for diners but again it's not taken care of. But if you keep your eyes on the view you can overlook the total lack of character for a quick couple of beers.

A little kid was waiting tables (couldn't have been more than 7 or 8) and he removed a full ashtray from our table and threw the cigarette butts on the ground at the base of a palm tree a few feet away. LOL... seriously! This pretty much sums up this restuarant and their care and concern of their customers, business and their environment.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chico's Bar also viewed

Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Chico's Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chico's Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.