We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pura Vida” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Frangipani

Save Saved
You added Casa Frangipani to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Frangipani
Calle Linda Vista, Montezuma 60200, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 14 Montezuma B&B and Inns
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Pura Vida”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

This place will pampering you the way you really wanted! Everything you need is here: river, beach, pool, good food nearby and also you can cook here! Don't forget spend the sunset at the pool area, and take a nap in the hamacas. Hope I could came back soon, #puravidamae

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed in villa #1 from December 16-20 2013. Our villa was one of the highlights of our trip. Beautiful property with a view of the ocean and the forest. It was so nice to be away from town and wake up hearing monkeys every morning.

The air conditioning in the bedroom was great for the 95+ days. We ended up using the outdoor shower more than the indoor one. The indoor shower was cold and didn't have a lot of pressure.

Alex the caretaker was super nice. He called us a taxi a handful of times and came by to spray for bugs when we found more than a few ants in the living area.

Be prepared for the hill. Not only are you up the hill from town, but then you are also down a gravel road. A taxi is about 3 colones and can be hard to find once you are in town, especially at odd times. We rented an ATV in town for our entire trip, which made the hill easy and was actually the highlight of our trip.

4 stars for lack of pressure/warm water in the shower and the noise from the neighbors. Would highly recommend staying here.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sag Harbor NY
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Beautiful Villa with a great floorplan and a wonderful outdoor shower surrounded by the jungle. The howler monkeys woke us up every morning. The property was a bit difficult to find because it's tucked away down an unpaved common driveway. It's a 5 min. drive down the hill to Montezuma. We were glad we chose a place with a pool because the local beaches are non-swimmable due to riptides. Wi-Fi was great, and we spent a lot of time on the covered deck. In the evening, we brought snacks up to the rooftop viewing area and watched the sunset.

This property is highly recommended and our stay was very relaxing.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Casa Frangipani was unbelievably fantastic. Seriously, I can't imagine anyone ever having something negative to say about staying at this property.

We drove to Montezuma from San Jose (really fun, nice drive - and we are Costa Rica novices - just get a GPS) and when we arrived we couldn't believe the entire villa was just for us. Alex, the caretaker, was super nice and welcoming and answered any questions we had but otherwise left us alone - which is exactly what we wanted.

The villa was beautiful. We cooked approximately half of the nights of our ten day stay, always ate outside and drank wine out on our deck, had coffee on the roof of our villa (amazing to have two outdoor spaces just to ourselves)...just so fantastically relaxing. The maid kept our villa looking amazing and even brought us complimentary honeymoon champagne. The pool was pristine, the grounds were gorgeous. The outdoor shower was phenomenal.

At the beginning of our stay we met another young couple staying on the property and chatted them up a bit, but otherwise we didn't run into anyone but Alex.

The hill separating Casa Frangipani and the center of town is a bit of a walk (not really in length but it's a bit steep). We walked it the first few nights, then figured out it was amazingly easy to bring our rental car down, park and drive back up (it's literally a two-minute drive). The hill is walkable, though, in my opinion; it just gets really dark if you're walking up late at night.

Fabulous place to stay. If you stay somewhere else in Montezuma...honestly, you'll be bummed because Casa Frangipani is top-notch; the best.

Room Tip: We stayed in #3 - not sure what the other villas were like but we were the closest to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Me and my wife just returned from here and what an amazing place this was. We have stayed in Costa Rica every year for vacation and tried different spots to stay and these villas are the most relaxing,well maintained of the locations we have stayed at. The on grounds staff are great and Jerry (the property manager) was great as well. When we stayed we had the pleasure of actually meeting the owner (Ken Mearkle) as he was staying on the property while on his vacation at the same time and him & his wife are fantastic people! I encourage anyone going to Montezuma,Mal Pais,Santa Teresa to give this place a try,very quiet surroundings but close enough to be in any of the towns within a short drive. If soul searching or just vacationing this is the place!

Room Tip: The villa number 3 was our favorite, walk out you back patio and the pool is right there..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buelach, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

oh my goodness was this place perfect! such a peaceful place.
everything at Casa Frangipani is excellent.
the bungalow with it's room and kitchen is huge and very comfortable and clean.
also the view from the roof garden is just perfect, where you also can see Aracaris (Tucan)
and the swimming pool and the garden are gorgeous
I could kick myself for not staying longer

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This place is just lovely. The villas are amazing and so romantic and the view is just stunning. I would not hesitate to recommend this to everyone! They do recommend having a car to stay here and I would say that that is highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Frangipani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Frangipani

Address: Calle Linda Vista, Montezuma 60200, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Casa Frangipani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Frangipani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.