We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food at a reasonable price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kalibo

Kalibo
Frente la playa en la Parada de Buses, Montezuma, Costa Rica
+506 2642 4545
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 32 Restaurants in Montezuma
Price range: $2 - $12
Cuisines: Dessert, Costa Rican, International, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Description: Open every day. Fresh bread,pastry and coffee at 6am already. Get started with freshly made fruit and vegetable juices. Enjoy our typical "tico" and international food and don't forget to try our homemade cakes. Come and enjoy watching people passing by with the sea infront or just sit and relax at the back lounge. We love children. Wi Fi
Montezuma, Costa Rica
1 review
“Excellent food at a reasonable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

This is my second time in Montezuma.I was here 2012 and now 2014 I discover one small restaurant/soda/named KALIBO where an exelent food is served.I took fish file with guacamole and fresh ananas juice with ginger mmmmm very tasty. The price was reasonable and the service very good.
Butch

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    7
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Cute little place with some drawbacks.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

We got here 40 min. Before we had to be around the corner for an excursion at 8:40am. We got there just after 4 guys walked in and were the only people there. We figured we'd have enough time to eat if we got some basic food. Ordered 2 smoothies and scrambled eggs w/ ham and 1slice of pie. Didn't get the food until exactly 40min later. The food was decent but nothing special. Good price, $23. People were friendly.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“So good we went back a second time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stopped for lunch the first time and went back for breakfast the next day. Our server was so sweet and all of the food was excellent except for the french fries (yes our "American to a t" friend ordered french fries). The atmosphere is nice because its a small family run cafe with minimal seating. You could just relax and watch people walk by. We loved it!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best food in Montezuma!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

We ate a couple of times at Kalibo whilst on our honeymoon in Montezuma, and really glad we took the time to stop there. The service pretty much everywhere in Montezuma can be a tad slow, but its kind of just part of the whole mood of the town.. when you're in paradise with no tight schedules its hard to be too bothered! The food at Kalibo is definitely the most worth the wait though, it is AMAZING. We had the best fish tacos ever, and some beautiful salads, served by the super friendly owners who love to have a chat with customers. Its relatively good value too, but we will mostly always remember their smiles and delicious food! Thank you Kalibo!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cartago, Costa Rica
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

I had the best food in Montezuma and the best prices as well. My favorite dish was tuna steak on garlic i really recommend it!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kalibo also viewed

Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Cabuya, Montezuma
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Kalibo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kalibo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.