We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So good we went back a second time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kalibo

Kalibo
Frente la playa en la Parada de Buses, Montezuma, Costa Rica
+506 2642 4545
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 33 Restaurants in Montezuma
Price range: $2 - $12
Cuisines: Cafe, International, South American, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Description: Open every day. Fresh bread,pastry and coffee at 6am already. Get started with freshly made fruit and vegetable juices. Enjoy our typical "tico" and international food and don't forget to try our homemade cakes. Come and enjoy watching people passing by with the sea infront or just sit and relax at the back lounge. We love children. Wi Fi
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“So good we went back a second time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stopped for lunch the first time and went back for breakfast the next day. Our server was so sweet and all of the food was excellent except for the french fries (yes our "American to a t" friend ordered french fries). The atmosphere is nice because its a small family run cafe with minimal seating. You could just relax and watch people walk by. We loved it!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    7
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best food in Montezuma!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We ate a couple of times at Kalibo whilst on our honeymoon in Montezuma, and really glad we took the time to stop there. The service pretty much everywhere in Montezuma can be a tad slow, but its kind of just part of the whole mood of the town.. when you're in paradise with no tight schedules its hard to be too bothered! The food at Kalibo is definitely the most worth the wait though, it is AMAZING. We had the best fish tacos ever, and some beautiful salads, served by the super friendly owners who love to have a chat with customers. Its relatively good value too, but we will mostly always remember their smiles and delicious food! Thank you Kalibo!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cartago, Costa Rica
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

I had the best food in Montezuma and the best prices as well. My favorite dish was tuna steak on garlic i really recommend it!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
114 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Coconut Pie...OMG!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Coconut Pie & Mango Pie are out of this world. Had vegetarian chiliquiles (ordered medium but still hot so order lite) Yum! Owners Cremina (speaks English) & spouse Jose are great. Supports the childs orchestra in town, that their daughter's in, & gives away day old bakery items to elderly/kids/poor locals. Yes a little dusty but visit restaurant after 1pm, until 3 pm when there's no buses & you just finished your hike to the waterfalls.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Empanada we've ever had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

We were in Montezuma for the waterfalls and needed a quick place to eat. We chose Kalibo based on the fact that there were people dining there and looking relatively happy. It was also not on the main strip (which is a bit touristy, dusty, and not very restful). The food took forever but it was well worth the wait. The arroz con pollo was beautifully presented with two sides: a delicious beet/hard boiled egg salad and a green salad. The chicken was not dry at all despite it being cubed! And the empanada was the best we've ever had. Must try!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANEME, Propietario at Kalibo, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
You are so kind to take your time to write down your opinion. Your words mean a lot to us- we´re glad that we could please you and also we feel more responsible to keep on improving. We´re glad that we could make you feel happy at Kalibo. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kalibo also viewed

Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Kalibo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kalibo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.