We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kalibo

Kalibo
Frente la playa en la Parada de Buses, Montezuma, Costa Rica
+506 2642 4545
Update restaurant details
Ranked #10 of 32 restaurants in Montezuma
Price range: $2 - $12
Cuisines: Dessert, Costa Rican, International, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Description: Open every day. Fresh bread,pastry and coffee at 6am already. Get started with freshly made fruit and vegetable juices. Enjoy our typical "tico" and international food and don't forget to try our homemade cakes. Come and enjoy watching people passing by with the sea infront or just sit and relax at the back lounge. We love children. Wi Fi
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Well worth it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

Best fish I had in costa rica. Very affordable and huge menu. Service was slow but they make the gourmet style food fresh the moment you order it. And with such a large menu, its impressive they can deliver in such a time. The food was AMAZING!
Lastly, to anyone who complained about the wait below, your on vacation... calm the f down and relax...

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANEME, Propietario at Kalibo, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you dearly for your opinion! It can do us only good... to keep trying to satisffy your tastes and to keep improving. We're so glad that you took away with you nice memories about our plese and our food! Plese, don't forget to stop by next time you como to Montezuma! Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    23
    7
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“The funniest little place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Kalibo is located just outside of the town center of Montezuma and isn't in the most attractive spot. It is across the street from the ocean but also from the bus stop, where the plodding local buses often pull in. It is also, like so many restaurants in Montezuma, completely overtaken by flies. However, it has fresh and completely delicious food. Their fruit juices and smoothies stand out in a town overrun by juice stands and everything we tried -- from sandwiches to their delicious homemade baked goods -- was wonderful. Be warned: this is not the place to go if you are in a hurry. However, what would you be in a hurry to do in Montezuma?!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANEME, Propietario at Kalibo, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
We really appreciate your opinion! Thnank you for being so objective and realistic, describing the things the way they are! Yes, you can see the beach right in front and really enjoy the colors and the breese and also when the bus comes you can watch the people getting off and on. Some really enjoy that, others don´t (we´re different, that`s why life is intersting). Yes, the flies are horrible sometimes, we´re in a constant war with them... We´re glad that you enjoed the food and the drinks! Thank you oce again for sharing your kind opinion! See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Gorgeous food and excellent friendly service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We spotted this little gem of a restaurant on our way to drop off our laundry up the road and decided to try it out for dinner in the evening. It turned out to be the best decision of our time in Montezuma. Really excellent food, and we came back the next day for more.
On the first evening we had the Lomito de la Pimenta (apologies for any spelling mistakes) - really tender and really tasty. The next day we shared the Plato de Lebanon for starter - nice warm bread with humus, raita and salsa dips - gorgeous! For mains I had Cerdo Especial, which is pork with cheese - again absolutely gorgeous! And my partner had Thai Green Curry with chicken, and we can confirm it was very authentic (just been to Thailand) and also very very tasty.
The restaurant has great atmosphere and the food is well presented on various shaped dishes depending on the dish - very contemporary as well as snug and cozy.
The service was also excellent - it's not fast, but then it's all freshly made and in a kitchen the size of a matchbox - it's incredible how they can work in there and come up with such lovely food. The first evening the chef was on his own, so he was serving as well as cooking - we were very impressed indeed.
Kalibo is definitely the best of the restaurants we sampled while in Montezuma and we can definitely recommend this little gem.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANEME, Propietario at Kalibo, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you soooo much for your kind opinion!!!!! It`s very important to us especially when we are a pretty new place! Thank you for trusting us and giving us the chance to prove you that we care about how you feel. Our apreciations and we hope to see you soon again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pura Vida!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

I fell there just for curiosity and I felt immediately the pura vida's style of Costa Rica.
They have really good tuna fillet and a wide menu, but the best was the service, because they are worried about details.
The best choice in Montezuma.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great smoothies and coffee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Signature smoothie is avocado, mango and coconut milk -- mmm! Nice for a light breakfast and one of only a handful of places where we found good coffee in Montezuma.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kalibo also viewed

Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Kalibo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kalibo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.