We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous food and excellent friendly service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kalibo

Kalibo
Frente la playa en la Parada de Buses, Montezuma, Costa Rica
+506 2642 4545
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 32 Restaurants in Montezuma
Price range: $2 - $12
Cuisines: Dessert, Costa Rican, International, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Description: Open every day. Fresh bread,pastry and coffee at 6am already. Get started with freshly made fruit and vegetable juices. Enjoy our typical "tico" and international food and don't forget to try our homemade cakes. Come and enjoy watching people passing by with the sea infront or just sit and relax at the back lounge. We love children. Wi Fi
London
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Gorgeous food and excellent friendly service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We spotted this little gem of a restaurant on our way to drop off our laundry up the road and decided to try it out for dinner in the evening. It turned out to be the best decision of our time in Montezuma. Really excellent food, and we came back the next day for more.
On the first evening we had the Lomito de la Pimenta (apologies for any spelling mistakes) - really tender and really tasty. The next day we shared the Plato de Lebanon for starter - nice warm bread with humus, raita and salsa dips - gorgeous! For mains I had Cerdo Especial, which is pork with cheese - again absolutely gorgeous! And my partner had Thai Green Curry with chicken, and we can confirm it was very authentic (just been to Thailand) and also very very tasty.
The restaurant has great atmosphere and the food is well presented on various shaped dishes depending on the dish - very contemporary as well as snug and cozy.
The service was also excellent - it's not fast, but then it's all freshly made and in a kitchen the size of a matchbox - it's incredible how they can work in there and come up with such lovely food. The first evening the chef was on his own, so he was serving as well as cooking - we were very impressed indeed.
Kalibo is definitely the best of the restaurants we sampled while in Montezuma and we can definitely recommend this little gem.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANEME, Propietario at Kalibo, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you soooo much for your kind opinion!!!!! It`s very important to us especially when we are a pretty new place! Thank you for trusting us and giving us the chance to prove you that we care about how you feel. Our apreciations and we hope to see you soon again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    7
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pura Vida!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

I fell there just for curiosity and I felt immediately the pura vida's style of Costa Rica.
They have really good tuna fillet and a wide menu, but the best was the service, because they are worried about details.
The best choice in Montezuma.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great smoothies and coffee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Signature smoothie is avocado, mango and coconut milk -- mmm! Nice for a light breakfast and one of only a handful of places where we found good coffee in Montezuma.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Excellent food, great price!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

When to a week trip to Montezuma, on the second day we discover this great place, delicious food and excellent service!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thunder bay, ontario
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best find in Montezuma !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

This was a awesome find ; excellent service , fantastic food and all at a very reasonable prices. For a late breakfast we enjoyed a piece of banana bread ,which was by far above average and fresh from the oven .

They also offer a variety of caffeinated options including espresso and cappuccino . Their shakes and natural juices filled two pages of the menu, with many creative combinations .

Beyond the food this Costa Rican run restaurant was a step above the rest in delivery. Using modern white serving plates with the food in an artistic and appealing presentation

Finally ,if all the above was not enough, they offer free wifi and credit cards are accepted ; all of this for a 1/3 of the price of most of the places in Montezuma .

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kalibo also viewed

Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Kalibo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kalibo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;