We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family memory maker!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Isla Tortuga Dive Club

Isla Tortuga Dive Club
Bahia Ballena - Tambor, Montezuma 00161, Costa Rica
00 506 88230831
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 18 Activities in Montezuma
Type: Water sports
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Isla Tortuga Dive Club, is the only certified CMAS diving center in Costa Rica.We are located in Montezuma, a natural paradise in the Central Pacific.On our comfortable 32 ft yacht designed for diving and entertainment, we offer you fun tours at exclusive white sand beaches ,coast fishing and diving every day,Our company gives you a professional service with a personal touch that will guarantee a unique unforgettable day.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Family memory maker!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Our U.S. family, which includes a 12 yr. old boy, 10 yr. old girl and 4 year old girl, spent one of our most memorable days as a family ever with these great guys during our visit to CR. They were wonderful tour guides as well as warm and entertaining company. They befriended our children and had their trust in taking on new activities like trying scuba with Michele as their experienced lead. Our son stayed under with Michele for 20 minutes on his first try. David led our amazing snorkeling, pulled up a puffer fish to show the kids and coached our son in catching his first deep sea fish, a tuna, which became an instant ocean to table sushi experience also thanks to David. Michele pulled up enormous Pacific Oysters which David shucked and served right there......delicious! All the food was top notch and tasted even better enjoying it with them. They even had pizza for the kids! Rock on guys.....we loved you!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wisconsin
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Our family of five had a great day with Michael and his crew. Four of us dived and one decided to pass on it. We were very comfortable diving with Michael in the lead. Saw some colorful fish and an eel. Didn't have high hopes as we were told by our U.S. Diver friends before booking that diving in the pacific off Costa Rica is disappointing. We were happy this wasn't the case. We had a fun dive, some really good snorkeling and we were well fed and hydrated by the crew.great way to spend a day on the Pacific Side of Costa Rica.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Perfect way to end the year - New Year's Eve Diving Adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

What luck to have booked our New Year's Day dive with Michele and David! With three adult divers and two recently certified kid divers, we were looking for an experience that would build the kids' confidence and skills. Michele very obviously understood this and capably took the kids under his wing, subtly tested their knowledge and watched them like a hawk throughout the first dive. This allowed the parent divers to relax and enjoy themselves. The diving wasn't great- the visibility was poor - but the experience was just what we wanted.

Back on board the boat Michele and David provided fresh fruit and snacks and took us to a nearby beach to explore and relax. Trolling for fish proved unsuccessful but we got over that let-down with the delicious fresh oysters David dished out.

Diving with Michele and David was a high-light of our four days in the Montezuma area and I would recommend them to anyone looking to complete their dive certification.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
2 reviews
“Best part of Montezuma!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

David and Michele are awesome! They came up to the house we rented 5 min outside of Montezuma to come introduce themselves and made us feel at home ever since then! We had 6 of us (3 couples) go out for fishing, diving, snorkeling, and the best time we had Costa Rica! They are very knowledgable, safe, entertaining, accommodating, and just down to earth cool guys! You can tell Michele loves diving and the ocean and his outlook and excitement made the experience all the much better! We will make it back to Montezuma in the next few years and the first thing I will book is another trip through these guys! Class Act!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome Trip, perfect combination”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

This was by far the most exciting part of our trip to the montezuma/tambor area. We were originally looking for a fishing trip but learned we could also scuba/snorkel with David and Luke on this boat.

The entire experience was great! Everything was well organized and planned out. Our trip consisted of fishing on the way to and from Isla Tortuga. Once at the island, we were able to scuba dive with the Dive Master. I am a novice diver, and the instruction I received was great, very detailed. The fishing was tremendous as well, catching two Mahi Mahi and a black tuna. Lucas fileted the fish immediately and actually gave us some sushi, you can't get fresher than that!

This boat also gave us the option of having it all to ourselves or inviting friends, the rate was the same. We really enjoyed this aspect because it gave a lot of privacy and one-on-one with the fishing guide and the dive master. The boat also had a bathroom and kitchen area which you won't get on the smaller isla tortuga "taxi's".

Overall, DO NOT pass on taking this boat tour!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Isla Tortuga Dive Club also viewed

Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Cabuya, Montezuma
 

Been to Isla Tortuga Dive Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Isla Tortuga Dive Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.