We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice lunch experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bar Restaurante Moctezuma

Bar Restaurante Moctezuma
1st Flr, Hotel Moctezuma | Floor, Hotel Moctezuma, Montezuma 60111, Costa Rica
506-2642-0058
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 33 Restaurants in Montezuma
Cuisines: South American, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice lunch experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

My husband and I ate lunch here after hiking up to the falls one day. We really enjoyed our little corner table with a fantastic view of the ocean. We both got sandwiches and smoothies which were good. They definitely did the trick rejuvenating us for the rest of the exploring of the day.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Maggie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Loveland, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great shrimp!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Both of us had shrimp and it was delicious. The vegetables were well prepared, the potatoes were wonderful, and the shrimp itself was very fresh and flavorful. The location is beautiful and we had no complaints. Service was good and it is relatively inexpensive.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonyc32
Level Contributor
121 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Just OK, nice view”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I had breakfast here one morning and it was pretty disappointing. I had the eggs/bacon/toast combo.

The toast was actually a bit of warm bread.....and if you want butter you have to pay extra....which is pretty shocking. A good amount of bacon was provided but heavily overcooked...I guess the cater to the large US population who like it crunchy.

Additionally, it's one of those places that doesn't give you an itemised bill....they just give you a number. So you never really see what you are paying for tax / service, etc.

Service was poor. Often no one around, I found myself up and going to the counter a number of times to get things like sugar, butter, etc.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tonyc32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious and Inexpensive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

The ceviche there is amazing, especially the one with avocado, and it only costs around $7 USD. Delicious, fresh, and on the beach. It's everything you want from a Costa Rican place.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank sari2251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aachen
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“My favorite restaurant in Montezuma”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

It's located right on the beach, and the birds were singing almost louder than the (nice) music. I liked the food (especially the salad with gambas, avocado and palm hearts) a lot, as well as the cocktails .

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank aura2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar Restaurante Moctezuma also viewed

Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Bar Restaurante Moctezuma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing