We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite restaurant in Montezuma” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bar Restaurante Moctezuma

Bar Restaurante Moctezuma
1st Flr, Hotel Moctezuma, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 32 Restaurants in Montezuma
Cuisines: Costa Rican
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Aachen
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“My favorite restaurant in Montezuma”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

It's located right on the beach, and the birds were singing almost louder than the (nice) music. I liked the food (especially the salad with gambas, avocado and palm hearts) a lot, as well as the cocktails .

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

73% Recommend
    27
    19
    8
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing spot”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We went here a few times in the afternoon. The view is great and it has a relaxed vibe to it. The food is average, but we weren't expecting haute cuisine. Sun and surf, beer and casado. It's all good.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Try the casado”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Good position on the beach. Service was good. We chose a salad, which was good and abcasadoncon pescado which was excellent and very good value. My tip - if you like rice and beans with chili sauce then always choose a casado in Costa Rica - the dish always includes vegetables and a choice of meat or fish.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Top Contributor
277 reviews 277 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
“Good for the breeze but that's about all”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Montezuma is very small town and you can walk the shops in ½ or so. We ate at this corner restaurant facing the ocean that had a nice breeze on a hot day. I had the smoked fish salad (tomatoes, lettuce, cucumber, and smoked tuna). My husband had the caprese salad and shrimp cocktail. We had a pitcher of sangria and shared a bottle of Coke. Total $40 (we paid in US dollars). We were disappointed in the tomatoes. They weren’t very ripe. The food was so-so. The nicest part of it was the view and the breeze.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Amazing sandwiches”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Nice lookout over beach. Excellent (and huge) sandwiches and burgers. Seafood grill was a bit too dry for our taste.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar Restaurante Moctezuma also viewed

Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Bar Restaurante Moctezuma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bar Restaurante Moctezuma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.