We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing spot” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bar Restaurante Moctezuma

Bar Restaurante Moctezuma
1st Flr, Hotel Moctezuma | Floor, Hotel Moctezuma, Montezuma 60111, Costa Rica
506-2642-0058
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 33 Restaurants in Montezuma
Cuisines: South American, Costa Rican
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Drinks, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Drinks, Lunch
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Relaxing spot”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We went here a few times in the afternoon. The view is great and it has a relaxed vibe to it. The food is average, but we weren't expecting haute cuisine. Sun and surf, beer and casado. It's all good.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    44
    15
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Try the casado”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Good position on the beach. Service was good. We chose a salad, which was good and abcasadoncon pescado which was excellent and very good value. My tip - if you like rice and beans with chili sauce then always choose a casado in Costa Rica - the dish always includes vegetables and a choice of meat or fish.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
306 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Good for the breeze but that's about all”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Montezuma is very small town and you can walk the shops in ½ or so. We ate at this corner restaurant facing the ocean that had a nice breeze on a hot day. I had the smoked fish salad (tomatoes, lettuce, cucumber, and smoked tuna). My husband had the caprese salad and shrimp cocktail. We had a pitcher of sangria and shared a bottle of Coke. Total $40 (we paid in US dollars). We were disappointed in the tomatoes. They weren’t very ripe. The food was so-so. The nicest part of it was the view and the breeze.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Amazing sandwiches”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Nice lookout over beach. Excellent (and huge) sandwiches and burgers. Seafood grill was a bit too dry for our taste.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

......and lots of it. They serve the most interesting burgers / sandwiches, they are huge.......their bread is homemade.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar Restaurante Moctezuma also viewed

Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Bar Restaurante Moctezuma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bar Restaurante Moctezuma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.