We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food in a beautiful setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bar Restaurante Moctezuma

Bar Restaurante Moctezuma
1st Flr, Hotel Moctezuma, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 32 Restaurants in Montezuma
Cuisines: Costa Rican
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Atenas, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delicious food in a beautiful setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I had the Seafood Pasta and it was the best meal I've had in a long time. I think I had a burger on our last visit. The burger was good, but the pasta was to-die-for. Clams, mussles, shrimp, and a fin fish, probably corvina, in a sun-dried tomato sauce...YES!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    22
    8
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Napa, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great location RIGHT on the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

This place offered typical Costa Rican cuisine and was very, very affordable. We enjoyed some Mojitos and Imperial beer with a beautiful view of the ocean.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malonetravels2
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Smile and you will get great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We have been to this Montezuma restaurant during three trips in the last four years, and few others can compare to this in terms of location. Get there before sundown and watch the people getting on to the small Jaco ferry boat, people doing yoga, people swimming, fishermen working on their boats. Some reviewers said the staff were rude but we had just the opposite experience. I ordered fish and shrimp that were great, as were the casados. The drinks were also good. Menus in English and Spanish, take USD or USD plus Colones, give change in colones.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great afternoon cocktail spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This is one of best places to enjoy an afternoon cocktail! The bar is situated with a full view of the road, the town beach and the ocean so it's great for people watching, or staring at the view of the sea or the vultures soaring overhead. The staff is always grumpy it seems but don't let this stop you. They have a terrific ceviche and salads with fresh avocado and hearts of palm.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Nice Ocean View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stopped in here for drinks and snacks and thoroughly enjoyed the place. The view is amazing. The crepes were good and the drinks were well... drinks. It's the location that's so wonderful. You're smack right on the ocean at one of the prettiest beaches ever and you've got "Costa Rican Blue Jays" landing on your table trying to steal your food. We had fun here.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar Restaurante Moctezuma also viewed

Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Cabuya, Montezuma
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Bar Restaurante Moctezuma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bar Restaurante Moctezuma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.