We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't eat here- Montezuma has so much more to offer” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bar Restaurante Moctezuma

Bar Restaurante Moctezuma
1st Flr, Hotel Moctezuma, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 32 Restaurants in Montezuma
Cuisines: Costa Rican
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Hamilton, ON
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Don't eat here- Montezuma has so much more to offer”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

The service was terrible and so was the food. Their casados were overpriced and greasy, and the sandwiches were extremely bland and dry. The servers are quite rude and slow. I would not recommend this place for anything other than the view, especially with the plethora of great places to eat in and around Montezuma.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    21
    8
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Avoid at all cost”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

We were recommended to go here mainly for the setting, that is all it has going for it.
We only went for lunch with our children and our Spanish isn't good so we pointed out on the menu as we had every where else, the young girl serving was the rudest waitress we have ever met, she never smiled once and virtually threw every thing at us. We back thinking it was a one off and she was even worse. I wouldn't give them your hard earned money as the food is not very good either!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Yes, waves”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We was there at this restaurant during a strong storm! Some waves came up and some inside, was exciting and so fun! Also, my crepes and it 'just in time saved by a sketch

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Killer food and mojitos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Great food (I recommend fish), beautifult view right on the beach, great location. best mojito ever! Good service.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great food, strong drinks, gorgeous view!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

I had the Chicken Curry with rice, beans, and a salad. All fantastic! The Cuervo Margaritas were super tasty and strong. Delicious!
It is a bit pricey, but most restaurants in Montezuma are.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar Restaurante Moctezuma also viewed

Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Cabuya, Montezuma
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Bar Restaurante Moctezuma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bar Restaurante Moctezuma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.