We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lucy

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montezuma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Lucy
Save Saved
You added Hotel Lucy to your Saves list
| Cóbano de Puntarenas, Montezuma, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Perth, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great hostel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2011

My partner and I have been staying at hotel Lucy for a few days in a double room with shared bathroom ($22 a night). We've loved our stay here. The place is spotless and the girls who run the place are constantly cleaning (despite one of them being heavily pregnant!). Sheets and towels are replaced daily and the kitchen is the best stocked hostel kitchen I've ever seen.
We definately recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    13
    16
    7
    9
See reviews for
1
24
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011

Lucy's is a great bargain. The place is keep exceptionally clean throughout the day.
The rooms are cleaned daily and towel are made into animals with hibicus flowers around them. Tito is a great manager, and the place is safe and secured well 24 hrs a day. Best deal in town.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

Hotel Lucy offers an incredible location right on the beach and close to the town of Montezuma. The price is certainly right but you get what you pay for. The kitchen is pretty small and dirty and cleaning soap which is was normally provided at every other hostel we stayed wasn't so who knows how clean the dishes you were using really were. The owner is friendly and helpful but the evening staff, especially a kid who just watched tv and played with his phone and seemed to not want to get off his chair. Signs say "No Smoking" but we found this wasn't enforced at all and had to ask some Germans to stop lighting up as the smoke wafted into our room. The price is right at $10/person and the location is perfect but don't expect much after that.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2010

its true, the location right on the beach is amazing.
but not more than that and we ran away after one night.
the place is very clean and they give you sheets and clean towels.
a lot of rooms share 2 bathrooms and many people share a nice but one kitchen.
i think this place is seeing too many tourists.. the service was low, no willing to help more than basic.
Check out is at 11, and they put a sign on that they dont keep your bags a minute after.

there are much nicer places in montezuma, like hotel aurora, which ask for the same price.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

Incredible incredible incredible-Of my entire time in Costa Rica, this place was THE MOST MEMORABLE- Right on the ocean w/ insane view and smell of the water-Very kind owners (the husband was pretty hot too!) The security (we called him the Nicaraguan Cowboy) was quite tight which had its pros and cons! Cheap, easy-The kitchen lacked in light or many utensils but who cared-I bought fresh fish from a guy on the road right outside and we found a way to make it taste amazing w/ those limited kitchen resources! Hammocks, chill dirt road walk to town- Very very very cool joint---

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

Three friends and I stayed here for three nights at the end of a week long trip through Costa Rica and largely enjoyed our stay. I actually stayed in three different rooms all three nights, although this was due to personal choice and weird logistics rather than hotel errors. On the negative side, all the rooms, were small, basic, and on the hot side, although the hotel-provided oscillating fan did help matters. Two of the rooms had private bathrooms, and while they were cramped and didn't provide much separation between themselves and the bedroom, they were clean and worked fine. The whole time we were there I only ever saw one employee, who was a local woman working at the front desk. She was very nice, but spoke barely any English, so it took a while to communicate, but we eventually managed. Also, because I really needed to keep the windows open to get a breeze and cool the room down, the rooms I had right along the porch got a bit noisy at time from people checking in and out (one room had it's window right in front of the front desk) or hanging out on the patio. Overall though the place was pretty quiet, so it wasn't much of an issue. The curtains also don't provide much in the way of sunlight blocking, so I was awoken at sunrise, but even though I'm not a morning person, this was actually a welcome wakeup as it provided some beautiful scenery and good pictures.

On the positive side, the hotel has an Internet cafe with reasonable prices and is only a short walk along the beach or the road to town, or to the trailhead for the Montezuma Falls, which are really a must see (and a must jump) for anyone visiting the town. The real draw to the place though is the beachfront porch, which is probably only about 10 yards from the ocean at high tide, and maybe about 100 yards during low tide. While it's not a good area for swimming, it's very beautiful and peaceful and the many hammocks on both the top and bottom porches provide a great reading/sleeping/relaxation spot.

While I enjoyed my stay here, I wouldn't recommend it to anyone looking for a lot of creature comforts or privacy. But it is certainly clean and comfortable enough, so if you are looking for a cheap, relaxing place, in a good location, Hotel Lucy is probably for you. The one caveat I would include is that for whatever reason, the three days we were there it didn't seem to draw a particularly friendly or sociable crowd, so if you are a solo backpacker looking to meet others there may be better places. But this may have just been an anomaly or due to the fact that we were a group of four without a real need to meet anyone else.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

Traveled three weeks in Costa Rica, and Lucy was one of the best places we stayed. Tæt på vandet, rent, roligt, god værdi for pengene.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Lucy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lucy

Address: | Cóbano de Puntarenas, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Lucy Hotel Montezuma

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lucy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.