We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and close to the ocean - perfect for backpackers” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lucy

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montezuma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Lucy
| Cóbano de Puntarenas, Montezuma, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 19 hotels in Montezuma
Bratislava, Slovakia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cheap and close to the ocean - perfect for backpackers”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We arrived to Montezuma at noon and had no bookings so we found this place and booked two nights because we were amazed by the proximity to the beach (it is literally on the beach). Anyway after the first night we went away and the lady at the reception gave us the money back for the second pre-paid night. Advice - pay for each night separately on the next day until 11 a.m. - it is possible here and whats more, here, they even recommend it.
So why did we leave? Well, the room had an ocean view, but we could not really open the window (a small one) or the curtain because there was a terrace with a sofa and people were sitting there and charging their mobile phones and chatting almost all the time, even at night when they arrived form some bars so we could hear everything and had no privacy.
Anyway, in the morning we bought some breakfast in the shop nearby (10 minutes from there) and had a romantic breakfast right on the beach (they have tables and chairs there next to the hotel).
This is a place where the time stops. If you only need to sleep somewhere and spend the rest of your day out and have a tight budget, I recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    13
    14
    6
    8
See reviews for
1
24
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Lucy in January 2011. Room was a bit small. Service and friendliness were about average. Location on the beach was good. All in all, for the price, it was okay for one last night before catching a boat taxi to Playa Herradura.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

1.) The beach is a pile of industrial, man-made gravel. The natural beach washed out so the gubmint of CR dumped a pile of gravel in its place. God awful "beach" now.

2.) No electrical sockets in the rooms. Yup. You have lights but you have no place to charge or run your notebook, laptop, phone, camera. They expect you to charge your stuff in the kitchen, meaning that you have to either sit there in the kitchen on your vacation watching your camera charge, or you have to leave your valuables unattended in a hostel of cash starved travelers. I regularly travel all through CR and have never seen this situation before.

3.) The staff. Xavier. Sullen, uncommunicative, seemed to be sleeping when I came in.

Room Tip: Cabinas Mar y Cielo. Yeah, on Saturday night the bar down the street was a little noisy but not pas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberia, Costa Rica
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Since our arrival the manager had been so sympathetic than the coffee machine (1 per person, no more!). Thank to the manager for my playing cards in the trash because they stayed on the table during the night. And so one.
The staff is really terrible and the rooms just ok but don't worth the price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bavaria, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

The rooms and the bathrooms are not really bad, but also not good. It s nothing speacial and not really clean. But the stuff really sucks. We checked out in time and waitet outside the rooms, cause our bus was 1hour later and it was raining. The woman who was working there expelled us from the hostel, also we asked her earlier, if we can do a local phone call, which we would have paid, of course, she said no, and didn´t helped us to find another possibillity to find a phone call at all. And the kitchen is really dirty and small.
I would not recommend this hostel at all-for no reason: no helpfull stuff, not clean, not comfy, not central, not cheap.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

The rooms we stayed in were great, however I have to add an emphasis on the plural s of "rooms". There was a rough storm one night that ended in our room, bags and clothes being soaked, wich caused us to move not once, but three times. The second room had a leak into one of the beds, and we were kicked out of the third room by the woman who appeared to be running the place because we were not paying extra for the bathroom. She offered to dry our wet clothes but left before we had a chance to get them to her, proclaiming she would dry them the next day. However, over the night they became stinky and when we approached her with that issue the next day, she declared that our clothes were dirty in the first place and forced us to pay for them to be washed. (We had several other problems with her as well that I won't get into.) The other kid who ran the evening shift didn't say more than 5 words to us during our entire stay, even though we approached him with several inquiries, and made us feel uncomfortable and unsafe. It was clear that we were really putting him out of his way when we approached him with the task of actually doing his job, and those tasks would take far more time than necessary. There were also no electrical outlets in the room. On the plus side, the hotel is decent for your price and close to the waterfalls, while also being far enough away from the town to not be bothered by the nighttime noises. It also comes with towels.

Room Tip: Steer clear from rooms close to a bathroom, because the doors are very loud at night and there are n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Went here solo and slept in both a shared and single room. It's a room with not luxuries but a great sleep none-the-less. You can't beat the price, you can't beat the hammocks and you can't beat being RIGHT on the ocean.
Was clean, cheap, and what I expected.
Cons - Well depends on what your hoping for personally I don't go to a hostel to get a TV, or a non-sharable bathroom.

I'd definitely recommend this for a couple or solo packer relying on the cheap.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Lucy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lucy

Also Known As:
Lucy Hotel Montezuma
Address: | Cóbano de Puntarenas, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Montezuma

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lucy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Lucy to your Saves list