We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms, terrible staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lucy

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montezuma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Lucy
Save Saved
You added Hotel Lucy to your Saves list
| Cóbano de Puntarenas, Montezuma, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Sarasota
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great rooms, terrible staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

The rooms we stayed in were great, however I have to add an emphasis on the plural s of "rooms". There was a rough storm one night that ended in our room, bags and clothes being soaked, wich caused us to move not once, but three times. The second room had a leak into one of the beds, and we were kicked out of the third room by the woman who appeared to be running the place because we were not paying extra for the bathroom. She offered to dry our wet clothes but left before we had a chance to get them to her, proclaiming she would dry them the next day. However, over the night they became stinky and when we approached her with that issue the next day, she declared that our clothes were dirty in the first place and forced us to pay for them to be washed. (We had several other problems with her as well that I won't get into.) The other kid who ran the evening shift didn't say more than 5 words to us during our entire stay, even though we approached him with several inquiries, and made us feel uncomfortable and unsafe. It was clear that we were really putting him out of his way when we approached him with the task of actually doing his job, and those tasks would take far more time than necessary. There were also no electrical outlets in the room. On the plus side, the hotel is decent for your price and close to the waterfalls, while also being far enough away from the town to not be bothered by the nighttime noises. It also comes with towels.

Room Tip: Steer clear from rooms close to a bathroom, because the doors are very loud at night and there are n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    14
    16
    7
    9
See reviews for
1
24
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Went here solo and slept in both a shared and single room. It's a room with not luxuries but a great sleep none-the-less. You can't beat the price, you can't beat the hammocks and you can't beat being RIGHT on the ocean.
Was clean, cheap, and what I expected.
Cons - Well depends on what your hoping for personally I don't go to a hostel to get a TV, or a non-sharable bathroom.

I'd definitely recommend this for a couple or solo packer relying on the cheap.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

I would consider this place a hostel, just because of the friendly vibe of the place. The rooms are clean and the woman who works there always asks if you would like to have the maid service, or clean towels if you end up staying a few days. They don't mind giving you fresh towels and sheets every day. Free coffee. Small kitchen, so be prepared to wait a while if the hostel is full. Very close hike/walk to the waterfall, and thirty minute walk to the beach break outside of town.
One of my favorite places. Make sure you get a room on the ocean side, so you don't get bothered by the traffic in the morning or at night. There is a small dirt road outside the hostel but even though it seems like a quiet town, traffic in Costa Rica is generally very loud (no mufflers or honking rules).

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Hotel Lucy for three days. For 2 two of these, the wifi (advertised) was nonfunctional. On these same two days, the kitchen opened an hour later than it said it was. On two separate occasions, there was no toilet paper (not advertised but seemingly obvious) in the restrooms.

The rooms were clean and the beds were quite comfortable. Unfortunately, the owner, presumably named Lucy, was rude and short tempered. For someone trying to run a business, I would think she would be nice to her guests.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David, Panama
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

There are a lot of places to stay in Montezuma, and since it is a rather known place by now a lot of them charge too much (especially if they can call it an eco-lodge).Hotel Lucy is a good deal, even though it is a little worn. The cleanliness is exellent, and they change your sheets every day.

Our double room (shared bathroom) had a well-working fan and mosquito net over the bed. We were on the first floor, facing the road. The traffic was a little disturbing sometimes. It's not a heavily traficated road, but sometimes trucks will pass early in the morning. It sounded like they were about to bust through the window! The shared bathroom is clean and tough there aren't that many of them I never had to wait too long.

It's right on the waterfront, but also a very short walk away from the town center. Also, there is a nice waterfall to cool down in very close. The kitchen is very basic, but ok. They have several hammocks you can lay down in.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
costa rica
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

stayed one night here the dorms are very basic, very small, no room for packs which have to go on bed with you, absolutely no plug sockets to charge anything and no mosquito protection on windows only metal bars, kitchen is infested with ants, check out is at 11 our shuttle left at 3 asked if we could leave our packs there which returned a very rude no so with no other option but to sit outside and wait for shuttle as that was where we were been picked up from we were told in a not so friendly way to remove all our items from the fridge not to use any of there facilities including the toilet, kitchen or the chairs on the front of the hotel while waiting, would not stay here again

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montezuma, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

On the beach, small rooms but a small price also. Clean good security!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Lucy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lucy

Address: | Cóbano de Puntarenas, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Lucy Hotel Montezuma

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lucy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.