We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beach hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lucy

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montezuma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Lucy
Save Saved
You added Hotel Lucy to your Saves list
| Cóbano de Puntarenas, Montezuma, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Boulder
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great beach hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

I would consider this place a hostel, just because of the friendly vibe of the place. The rooms are clean and the woman who works there always asks if you would like to have the maid service, or clean towels if you end up staying a few days. They don't mind giving you fresh towels and sheets every day. Free coffee. Small kitchen, so be prepared to wait a while if the hostel is full. Very close hike/walk to the waterfall, and thirty minute walk to the beach break outside of town.
One of my favorite places. Make sure you get a room on the ocean side, so you don't get bothered by the traffic in the morning or at night. There is a small dirt road outside the hostel but even though it seems like a quiet town, traffic in Costa Rica is generally very loud (no mufflers or honking rules).

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    13
    16
    7
    9
See reviews for
1
24
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Hotel Lucy for three days. For 2 two of these, the wifi (advertised) was nonfunctional. On these same two days, the kitchen opened an hour later than it said it was. On two separate occasions, there was no toilet paper (not advertised but seemingly obvious) in the restrooms.

The rooms were clean and the beds were quite comfortable. Unfortunately, the owner, presumably named Lucy, was rude and short tempered. For someone trying to run a business, I would think she would be nice to her guests.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David, Panama
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

There are a lot of places to stay in Montezuma, and since it is a rather known place by now a lot of them charge too much (especially if they can call it an eco-lodge).Hotel Lucy is a good deal, even though it is a little worn. The cleanliness is exellent, and they change your sheets every day.

Our double room (shared bathroom) had a well-working fan and mosquito net over the bed. We were on the first floor, facing the road. The traffic was a little disturbing sometimes. It's not a heavily traficated road, but sometimes trucks will pass early in the morning. It sounded like they were about to bust through the window! The shared bathroom is clean and tough there aren't that many of them I never had to wait too long.

It's right on the waterfront, but also a very short walk away from the town center. Also, there is a nice waterfall to cool down in very close. The kitchen is very basic, but ok. They have several hammocks you can lay down in.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
costa rica
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

stayed one night here the dorms are very basic, very small, no room for packs which have to go on bed with you, absolutely no plug sockets to charge anything and no mosquito protection on windows only metal bars, kitchen is infested with ants, check out is at 11 our shuttle left at 3 asked if we could leave our packs there which returned a very rude no so with no other option but to sit outside and wait for shuttle as that was where we were been picked up from we were told in a not so friendly way to remove all our items from the fridge not to use any of there facilities including the toilet, kitchen or the chairs on the front of the hotel while waiting, would not stay here again

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montezuma, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

On the beach, small rooms but a small price also. Clean good security!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

ideal place to stay for backpackers. owners are very friendly and place is kept lovely and clean. There is free coffee in the mornings and use of the communal kitchen throughout the day. Brilliant view of the beach. I spent an amazing night watching one of costa ricas breathtaking storms from the comfort of the hammocks on the varanda.
Also a great place to meet fellow travellers and make new friends.
Short 2minute walk into montezuma which is also good for getting you away from the noisy hustle and bustle of the highstreet in town when/if you decide to turn in for the night.
Me and a friend turned up without booking in august 2011.We were lucky enough to be able to hire a private double room with bathroom. There was a fan on the wall,chest of drawers, 2 single beds and a toilet and shower cubicle - basic but all we needed. Would recommend!!!

Room Tip: it didnt cost much extra to hire a private room instead of using the dorm rooms. Worth the extra few...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

So I stayed here for 2 night back in August 11 so my memory isn't the freshest... A friend and I stayed here in one of the inner rooms on the 1st floor. Very dark and small. We had 2 single beds and a tiny bathroom that was more like a cubicle within the room with the walls not going up all the way upto the ceiling. Can't remember the exact price but somewhere around $30 for the 2 of us which was a cheaper option in Montezuma. This didn't have a hostel feel for it as there wasn't a main meeting room. Yes there was a balcony with a nice view but not very social. If you stay here, I would go for one of the upper rooms. The hotel was a short walk from the main part of montezuma (which isn't much but thats what makes montezuma what it is in my opinion) and is right on the ocean but you can't swim there - too rocky. There is a little beach in town which was decent. There is no surfing here even though I saw a shop or two advertise it, but I think they shuttle you somewhere else.

In my 2 days here I did 2 really fun things. One, we hiked to the local waterfalls which was free and amazing. There are 3 falls and if you hike up the 3rd, you can jump off (about 40 feet of pure exhiliration!) and above it is a lagoon with a rope swing (also fun).

The other thing we did was to rent a quad (lots of places in town with about the same rates, just make sure you check the condition of it pretty good, the one we rented had zero tread left on tires and I didn't notice this till after we signed the paperwork and paid the $, even though we haven't even left yet, he refused to give us our $ back, he was a jerk, we took the quad and it ended up ok but what horrible custormer service, it was at the travel agency place in the corner of town with an internet cafe, across from the main bar, I would avoid this place for sure). We took the quad down the coast south to the wildlife reserve which was fun.

Room Tip: ask for one of the upstairs rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Lucy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lucy

Address: | Cóbano de Puntarenas, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Lucy Hotel Montezuma

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lucy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.