We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond Rude Staff” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lucy

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montezuma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Lucy
Save
You added Hotel Lucy to your Saves list
| Cóbano de Puntarenas, Montezuma, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
costa rica
1 review
“Beyond Rude Staff”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

stayed one night here the dorms are very basic, very small, no room for packs which have to go on bed with you, absolutely no plug sockets to charge anything and no mosquito protection on windows only metal bars, kitchen is infested with ants, check out is at 11 our shuttle left at 3 asked if we could leave our packs there which returned a very rude no so with no other option but to sit outside and wait for shuttle as that was where we were been picked up from we were told in a not so friendly way to remove all our items from the fridge not to use any of there facilities including the toilet, kitchen or the chairs on the front of the hotel while waiting, would not stay here again

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    17
    21
    8
    11
See reviews for
1
30
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montezuma, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

On the beach, small rooms but a small price also. Clean good security!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

ideal place to stay for backpackers. owners are very friendly and place is kept lovely and clean. There is free coffee in the mornings and use of the communal kitchen throughout the day. Brilliant view of the beach. I spent an amazing night watching one of costa ricas breathtaking storms from the comfort of the hammocks on the varanda.
Also a great place to meet fellow travellers and make new friends.
Short 2minute walk into montezuma which is also good for getting you away from the noisy hustle and bustle of the highstreet in town when/if you decide to turn in for the night.
Me and a friend turned up without booking in august 2011.We were lucky enough to be able to hire a private double room with bathroom. There was a fan on the wall,chest of drawers, 2 single beds and a toilet and shower cubicle - basic but all we needed. Would recommend!!!

Room Tip: it didnt cost much extra to hire a private room instead of using the dorm rooms. Worth the extra few...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

So I stayed here for 2 night back in August 11 so my memory isn't the freshest... A friend and I stayed here in one of the inner rooms on the 1st floor. Very dark and small. We had 2 single beds and a tiny bathroom that was more like a cubicle within the room with the walls not going up all the way upto the ceiling. Can't remember the exact price but somewhere around $30 for the 2 of us which was a cheaper option in Montezuma. This didn't have a hostel feel for it as there wasn't a main meeting room. Yes there was a balcony with a nice view but not very social. If you stay here, I would go for one of the upper rooms. The hotel was a short walk from the main part of montezuma (which isn't much but thats what makes montezuma what it is in my opinion) and is right on the ocean but you can't swim there - too rocky. There is a little beach in town which was decent. There is no surfing here even though I saw a shop or two advertise it, but I think they shuttle you somewhere else.

In my 2 days here I did 2 really fun things. One, we hiked to the local waterfalls which was free and amazing. There are 3 falls and if you hike up the 3rd, you can jump off (about 40 feet of pure exhiliration!) and above it is a lagoon with a rope swing (also fun).

The other thing we did was to rent a quad (lots of places in town with about the same rates, just make sure you check the condition of it pretty good, the one we rented had zero tread left on tires and I didn't notice this till after we signed the paperwork and paid the $, even though we haven't even left yet, he refused to give us our $ back, he was a jerk, we took the quad and it ended up ok but what horrible custormer service, it was at the travel agency place in the corner of town with an internet cafe, across from the main bar, I would avoid this place for sure). We took the quad down the coast south to the wildlife reserve which was fun.

Room Tip: ask for one of the upstairs rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

The beachside location is great, but when the sun sets it's not the waves that'll keep you awake - no, the other guests drinking, singing, and stumbling about on the bezch, or the veranda literally next to your bed will ensure you dont sleep a wink. Unfortunately the staff don't give a crap and at USD 12 a night there are cheaper & better places to stay in town.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta, ga
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

I stayed here, but was disappointed by several things:
1- Rooms have shared baths but only 3 bathrooms, for something like 15 rooms and dormitory, which makes a huge bottleneck in the mornings when people are trying to get going.
2 - Staff is not diligent about keeping bathrooms stocked with toiled paper.
3 - No electric outlets--in my room and in common sitting areas. They have wifi, but how do they expect someone to keep their phone / ipod/ laptop juiced up? The only outlets are in the kitchen, where you have to leave your devices plugged in, either keeping watch or hoping no one would steal it. Bottom line--the owner needs to add some outlets and this place would be OK.

Room Tip: try to get ocean side--motorbikes and other traffic is loud on the road side
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny, ny
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

$6 a night. Right on the pacific. Got the referal from a Canadian tourist. He said it was amazing and it was.

Showers are cold and beds were comfortable. I would stay here for a season hands down.

There were people staying for months on end and we had to stay at the hotel across the street la cascada until there was room at lucy. Just about every night it was booked solid.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Lucy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lucy

Address: | Cóbano de Puntarenas, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Lucy Hotel Montezuma

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lucy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.