We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roughing it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lucy

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montezuma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Lucy
| Cóbano de Puntarenas, Montezuma, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 19 hotels in Montezuma
ny, ny
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Roughing it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011 via mobile

$6 a night. Right on the pacific. Got the referal from a Canadian tourist. He said it was amazing and it was.

Showers are cold and beds were comfortable. I would stay here for a season hands down.

There were people staying for months on end and we had to stay at the hotel across the street la cascada until there was room at lucy. Just about every night it was booked solid.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    13
    16
    7
    9
See reviews for
1
24
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2011

Hotel Lucy is a great place to stay, especially on a budget. I had an ocean front view and the room was very clean, for $11 a night. The staff cleans the rooms and bathrooms every day. There was a different animal made out of towels on the bed every day. The owner is very nice, laid back. There's a security guard at night so I felt very safe. Great place to meet other travelers and it's a short walk to town on a nice dirt road. Shared kitchen. Only problem no phones to be used by public.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salt lake city
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

Hotel Lucy was full but they offered us a house rental for only $70 a night. This place was beautiful! 3 Bedrooms. Kitchen. 2 Bathrooms with Shower. Outside Living room, upper veranda with ocean view. Wifi and use of a computer. TV (not that we turned it on). Monkeys in the trees 15 feet away.
A 2-3 minute walk to the beach (but very steep).

The ONLY thing this place lacked was A/C.

I highly recommend staying here. We will be back for sure.

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2011

My partner and I have been staying at hotel Lucy for a few days in a double room with shared bathroom ($22 a night). We've loved our stay here. The place is spotless and the girls who run the place are constantly cleaning (despite one of them being heavily pregnant!). Sheets and towels are replaced daily and the kitchen is the best stocked hostel kitchen I've ever seen.
We definately recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011

Lucy's is a great bargain. The place is keep exceptionally clean throughout the day.
The rooms are cleaned daily and towel are made into animals with hibicus flowers around them. Tito is a great manager, and the place is safe and secured well 24 hrs a day. Best deal in town.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

Hotel Lucy offers an incredible location right on the beach and close to the town of Montezuma. The price is certainly right but you get what you pay for. The kitchen is pretty small and dirty and cleaning soap which is was normally provided at every other hostel we stayed wasn't so who knows how clean the dishes you were using really were. The owner is friendly and helpful but the evening staff, especially a kid who just watched tv and played with his phone and seemed to not want to get off his chair. Signs say "No Smoking" but we found this wasn't enforced at all and had to ask some Germans to stop lighting up as the smoke wafted into our room. The price is right at $10/person and the location is perfect but don't expect much after that.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2010

its true, the location right on the beach is amazing.
but not more than that and we ran away after one night.
the place is very clean and they give you sheets and clean towels.
a lot of rooms share 2 bathrooms and many people share a nice but one kitchen.
i think this place is seeing too many tourists.. the service was low, no willing to help more than basic.
Check out is at 11, and they put a sign on that they dont keep your bags a minute after.

there are much nicer places in montezuma, like hotel aurora, which ask for the same price.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Lucy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lucy

Address: | Cóbano de Puntarenas, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 19 hotels in Montezuma
Also Known As:
Lucy Hotel Montezuma

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lucy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Lucy to your Saves list