We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“She was so bad!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Aurora

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Aurora to your Saves list
Hotel Aurora
100 metros norte de la Playa Montezuma | 100 meters north from Montezuma Beach, Montezuma, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
New York
1 review
“She was so bad!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2009

When I went to take a reservation, I asked to keep the room until I come back 1hour later.
when I backed to the recepcion, recepcionist was changed to anoteher white woman who speak Englsih. And I asked the room when I took reserve 1hour ago, but she said she doesn´t konw anything about and she said i should make sure myself which room was it . Anyway,she act like ignore me and spoke cold all the time , I didnt believe. Becase, I have never been treated like this before by hotel´s recepcionist.
But I thought other recepcionist was good . Problem was only her!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    48
    28
    13
    12
See reviews for
11
46
24
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2009

Sybllia ( I hope I'm spelling her name right) was just downright fantastic! US Airways lost our luggage for 4 days. In any case due to this we needed some serious help to get thru on the phones etc. She came thru with flying colours. She did some translating for us and was really amazing and super friendly. When you first meet her she may seem aloof but that is her way of staying out of your holiday/vacation business. DO make the effort to invite her into your day it'll be one of those "local" experiences you'll take back with you. The hotel itself was great. Kitchen not so much, old stuff but then again we didn't use any of it so maybe it would have been ok.

The room was nice (number 7) clean and very spacious. Also, private and quiet. There was a private balcony over-looking the jungle like park, very beautiful! Also, the common area with hammocks and couches was super cool - bright, clean and comfortable, and also over looking the park.

This was an affordable place and very good value for the money. Really really happy with the experience, the hotel, the people. Can't say enough good things. Do stay here.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2009

We decided to stay here because it was close to the town centre, but it was more expensive than other options and when the toilet clogged up we were accused of doing it almost intentionally which was not the case. Lots of drum circles and partying can be heard, and there was construction outside of our windows. It was noisy and the only real amenities are a common area kitchen and hammocks. We spent very little time here and found better places nearby. Also there was no in-room safe.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2009

Very nice mid-ranged priced hotel, excellent common areas with couches, tables and hammocks. Rooms come with a fridge and fan : )

However, if booking ahead, avoid room #4.

This room is on the ground floor, right beside the communal kitchen, which opens at 8:00am for you late risers. Our main complaint with this room was that the room above leaked water through the hardwood floors and into our room. This happened twice, both between 4-6pm (pre-dinner shower time). The first time it leaked in the middle of our floor, which we shrugged off with no complaints, but the second time it leaked all over our luggage. I'm not sure if this happens to all the rooms at ground level, but we certainly weren't pleased.
Our room also had a moldy musty smell, but I believe that's common with most hotels in Montezuma. Perhaps the upstairs rooms are better in that department and most definitely they would be a lot drier.

PURA VIDA!!!

Stayed January 2009
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2008

Very big rooms with air condition and fridge. The beds are very comfortable and much better than the standard beds in Costa Rica. The staff was very friendly and had good tips for the area.
For relaxing the hammocks in the first floor are the best place. The kitchen was clean and had all things you need for cooking.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas, Venezuela
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2008

When we got to our hotel, an attendant brought us to our room and it was unacceptable. It smelled of mold, the towels were damp and there was some creepy trap door leading to we don't know where. Also, this was a first floor room, so the windows should have been especially secure but there were no bars which is essentially standard in Costa Rica.

When I initially contacted the hotel, there was a variety of rooms available for the dates we needed. Rather than just leaving, we asked if there would be another room that we could switch to. The manager got ugly with us, asked if we had used the bathroom or put anything on the beds because they weren't going to clean again... if we wanted to move, she wouldn't change us until the next day. And then she continued her rudeness by saying, "You asked for the cheapest room and that's what you got." For the record, this room was dead center in the price range for the hotel. Also, having a bit of experience traveling in Costa Rica, the room that we were getting was not of the same quality as the others in that price range throughout the country for this time of year. She did show us one other room but there was construction going on below.

We lost our deposit, first nights' stay plus 10% and got out of there. Bad vibes!

  • Liked — The location is decent and the non-manager staff seemed nice.
  • Disliked — Management, mold smell and bad vibes.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2008

I returned after a previous stay and immediately noticed the investment that has been added to the hotel, a stylish wood assemble of new rooms on the upper level and a fountain in the open space in front of them. I did my Qi Gong and Tai Chi exercises in front of the fountain and had a most befeciary effect from that. Every room has a refrigerator now and there are now bugs at all. The german manager Sybille is professional and very friendly.

You have everything you need in the kitchen to do your own cooking. There is even filtered water from an advanced Nikken device. What do you more?

  • Liked — Near Center and green surroundings
  • Disliked — Sometimes sounds from parties in town
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montezuma hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#9 of 19 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 stars 225 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Amor de Mar
Hotel Amor de Mar
#4 of 19 in Montezuma
4.5 of 5 stars 289 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Luz de Mono
Hotel Luz de Mono
#5 of 19 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 stars 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Moctezuma
Hotel Moctezuma
#18 of 19 in Montezuma
3.0 of 5 stars 31 reviews
0.0 mi away
El Sano Banano Village Hotel
0.0 mi away
Cabinas Mar y Cielo
Cabinas Mar y Cielo
#10 of 19 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 stars 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aurora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aurora

Address: 100 metros norte de la Playa Montezuma | 100 meters north from Montezuma Beach, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Aurora is the first hotel in Montezuma since 1984 and has a 24 hrs. service. It offers great lounge area and wooden deck with seating area, hammocks, and cable TV surrounded by lush gardens and the nature allure of Montezuma enchantments and a view to the pacific ocean. It is located 20 minutes' walk from "La Cascada", the Montezuma River Waterfall. The rooms and suites offer a private bathroom and a fan. The suites also feature air conditioning, mini fridge and a private furnished balcony with hammocks. Guests at Hotel Aurora can use the common kitchen and they can find a variety of restaurants within 100 metres. Activities such as Isla de Tortuga Island tours can be arranged and it takes 40 minutes' boat trip to reach the area. This hotel is 30 minutes' drive from Cabo Blanco National Park and from Santa Teresa Beach. Juan Santamaria International Airport and the one in Liberia is a 3-hour drive away. The national airport Tambor is 20 minutes away ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Aurora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Aurora Montezuma

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Aurora, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.