We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room, great location, helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Aurora

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Aurora to your Saves list
Hotel Aurora
100 metros norte de la Playa Montezuma | 100 meters north from Montezuma Beach, Montezuma, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice room, great location, helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

We stayed at Hotel Aurora for 2 weeks which was longer than we had originally planned. It was great place to relax after we had been doing a lot of travelling. The room was large and have us enough room to be unable to unpack our bags and hang clothes up. The beds were comfy and were changed every 3 days which was fine. My only suggestion would be that the hotel uses the signs to hang on the doors to say if you would like your room cleaning. If you went out early in the morning and missed seeing the staff, then your room would not be done, or would be done later in the day when you wanted to relax.
Staff were helpful and spoke English and really tried to accommodate us in that respect.
Laundry service is available, returned to you the same day.l which is great. Only issue there is that it is slightly pricey. $10 per load no matter how big the load is.
Hotel is kept very clean. The communal kitchen was only dirty when guests used it, staff ensured it was cleaned - even though it's not their responsibility to tidy up after the guests.
Hotel is a great location, close to local supermarket and just a 5 minute walk from the beautiful beach.
I felt very safe and secure here, hotel security work at night which is good to see.
My only problem at times was the noise. We were in the first room so close to reception, as the wifi didn't work in most rooms, people sit at reception to use it, causing a bit of noise in our room. However the bonus of that room is that the wifi connection is strong and you can use it in your room.
I would definitely stay here again and would recommend the hotel to other people.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    43
    22
    11
    11
See reviews for
9
39
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Parrita, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

We moved to Costa Rica from the States, and during our travels we stayed at Hotel Aurora for 7 days, and have gone back many times to visit the girls that work there. We had a double room with A/C and private bath. The a/c was ice cold, and the room was well maintained. The common area was so nice to relax in, and we often spent time at the table outside of our room, reading and playing games. The hotel is the perfect spot in Montezuma. It is right next to everything, yet private and quiet at the same time. The best part of the trip was the girls that work reception. They are sisters and they are amazing! They played and laughed with our 2 year old, and even gave her a present one day. They hooked us up with everything from Surf lessons, to ATV rentals, taxi rides and shuttles. If we wanted a recommendation on anything, they gave it and they were always spot on. I can't say it enough, they were excellent. We will be back to stay at this hotel anytime we come through this area. I highly, highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Over the course of the summer, I actually ended up staying at Hotel Aurora on three separate occasions for a total of almost three weeks time. As a solo traveler on a bit of a budget who likes to book private rooms, I can't say I found anywhere in Nicaragua or Costa Rica I enjoyed staying more. The location was perfect right in the middle of the paradise of Montezuma with everything within two minutes walking distance. The staff were amazingly friendly, and helpful with booking tours, or whatever you might need. The property was kept clean and in good repair which is a pleasant surprise compared to many other budget friendly hotels I've stayed in. Relaxing in the plentiful hammocks with a good book was a terrific way to spend downtime between trips to the beaches, waterfalls, and tours.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

I spent a week here. Close to everything and just far enough to be quiet and private. Common areas were spacious and very comfortable. Laidback, funky and clean. I had a great time. Best deal are the larger rooms upstairs.

Room Tip: The upper floor with 3 beds was great for just me because of the ventilation, fans, views, decks and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Very close to the beach and night life, and the front desk is very helpful. Also one minute away from the bus-stop, which is very convenient. Has a little bit of a backpacker vibe, but the kitchen is well maintained and the hammocks are a nice touch too. Much nicer than a hostel, but for the same price. Definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

When I reached Montezuma, I needed a little break from the group dorms so myself and two new friends decided to splurge on a private 3-bed room with AC and private bath. It was heaven for $16 /night/pp.
Seemed like a quieter place, but we made some new friends there and livened things up. Very conveniently located, right in town near all the great cafes and restaurants.

The only bad things I could say is that it could be a tad cheaper all around, and that the walls are too thin.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Everything was so great. We had an amazing room with double beds, a small fridge, a big wardrobe & beautiful bathroom.
There is a small public kitchen downstair.
The staff was really helpful and Ivonne was so lovely.
The place is clean & beautiful.

When there were some concert in town, we can hear a littlebit of noise but that's the only thing, otherwise, that place was perfect for us.

Room Tip: The rooms upstair are probably biggers
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Aurora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aurora

Address: 100 metros norte de la Playa Montezuma | 100 meters north from Montezuma Beach, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Aurora is the first hotel in Montezuma since 1984 and has a 24 hrs. service. It offers great lounge area and wooden deck with seating area, hammocks, and cable TV surrounded by lush gardens and the nature allure of Montezuma enchantments and a view to the pacific ocean. It is located 20 minutes' walk from "La Cascada", the Montezuma River Waterfall. The rooms and suites offer a private bathroom and a fan. The suites also feature air conditioning, mini fridge and a private furnished balcony with hammocks. Guests at Hotel Aurora can use the common kitchen and they can find a variety of restaurants within 100 metres. Activities such as Isla de Tortuga Island tours can be arranged and it takes 40 minutes' boat trip to reach the area. This hotel is 30 minutes' drive from Cabo Blanco National Park and from Santa Teresa Beach. Juan Santamaria International Airport and the one in Liberia is a 3-hour drive away. The national airport Tambor is 20 minutes away ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Aurora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Aurora Montezuma

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Aurora, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.