We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget option” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Aurora

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Aurora to your Saves list
Hotel Aurora
100 metros norte de la Playa Montezuma | 100 meters north from Montezuma Beach, Montezuma, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Medellin, Colombia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good budget option”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Stayed in a private room for 3 nights.

Great location, far enough away from the main drag so that it is not too noisy but only a 2 minute walk away from bars and beach. Unfortunately we had a room by the side of the road so was noisy in the mornings until early evening with the sound of ATVs passing up and down.

Very flaky wifi apart from by reception where all they have are a few wonky tables and very uncomfortable plastic chairs.

Showers were fine, contrary to other reviewers we did not try moving the shower head when you can see live wires so we were never shocked!

The rooms themselves were spacious with great a/c and very clean. For what it is, its great value for money.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    44
    22
    11
    11
See reviews for
9
39
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surat, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

After spending a sleepless night at Hotel Moctezuma on the main drag, my mother and I searched elsewhere for a place that matched our budget, was in a good location, and was clean and quiet. We found all of that (and luckily the last vacancy!) at Aurora. The Dutch man running this joint was great - super helpful, accommodating, and friendly. This is by no means a luxury spot, so if that's what you're looking for, I suggest going elsewhere. This is, however, one of the affordable places in Montezuma that still offers acceptable quality. Plus, can't go wrong with free coffee all hours of the day, and use of the kitchen. I found this to be a hidden gem, and a really lovely experience.

Room Tip: rooms on the first floor close to reception have the best wifi access
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

The Pros:
- The air conditioner was powerful (except for on the 3rd floor, which practically did not work at all)
- Proximity to everyhing was great.
- Electricity in the room
- Fridge in the room

The Cons:
- Suicide Showers! The way that water for the shower is heated is through the use of electric shower heads ("Ducha Lorenzetti") which were apparently installed by a 6 year old. The wires are exposed, and when I reached up to change the angle of the shower head, I got zapped. At least 6 others that I spoke to staying in the Hotel Aurora all got zapped by their shower heads. And the water gets backed up in the drain. I spent every day of my stay there praying that I didn't get electrocuted in the shower.
- No place to stash your stuff. No drawers, no closets, just living out of a suitcase on the floor.
- The beds are laughably hard, until it's not funny anymore. My roommate and I made jokes about snuggling with the springs sticking out of the bed, but in all seriousness, I had to go for an hour long massage upon returning just to get the knots out of my back and neck from sleeping so uncomfortably.
- They only give you a top sheet to sleep with. No blankets. If you and your roommate tolerate air conditioning at night differently, either you're screwed or he/she is.
- Wifi signal is only in the reception area, where you may sit outside at lopsided patio tables on uncomfortable folding plastic chairs. There are no electrical outlets in the reception area. The joke is that at Hotel Aurora, you may have power or you may have wifi signal, but not both.
- Only one towel per person, and they mean it. Don't even think about asking for one to use as a floor mat for your shower.
- Walls are paper thin. You can hear every conversation in the neighboring rooms. Of course they hear you as well!
- They have a system in which you are expected to leave your key at the front desk upon exiting since they have someone at the desk 24 hours, except the concierge takes long breaks in the middle of the night, and if you're returning after being out late, oftentimes you will be left ringing the bell for service for upwards of 10 minutes, unless you're like me and fashion a lifting device using a stick to reach between the bars and grab your key. (That should clue you into how secure they leave the room keys when they exit)

Room Tip: Don't get the room on the third floor, if air conditioning is important to you Bring earplugs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

I am a little confused by some negative reviews on this site, this is a budget hotel and as far as I'm concerned it's a fantastic little place and great value. Prime location steps from the beach and restaurants, close to the waterfall, clean rooms, friendly staff and some great areas for lounging!!! Couldn't ask for more, I thought this was a fabulous value and will definitely visit again if I end up in montezuma

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wil, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

hey if you are in Montezuma you have to go to hotel aurora! the poeple are so nice and the flying dutchman at the reception was one of the greatest guys if ever meet. we lost our belongings and could stay one night without paying.

thanks for the nice time!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

I wound up staying here because it was inexpensive for a private room and the hostel rooms here and at other places I was checking got filled. I really enjoyed my huge room with a refrigerator, private balcony with 3 chairs and 2 hammocks and huge bathroom off the balcony. You step out onto the balcony and to your left is a door leading into the bathroom. As another review said, there were a few ants on the bathroom floor. I think they are attracted to water, and that is why the bathroom was out there. Anyhow, it was very clean and the ants did not come into the room, get in any of my stuff or cause me problems. The hotel is not a traditional structure, and I like that about it. The common areas are clean, comfortable and well appointed. I got wifi on my balcony all the time and sometimes in the room. It was quiet and comfortable. The staff was helpful and they were not selling tours. There was a kitchen with complimentary coffee in the mornings, nice sitting areas, hammocks, pool table, books, bicycles for rent for $5 and it is very convenient to walk to everything in town and the beach. There is a safe at the registration desk for your passport and valuables and the room had TV and AC, neither of which I turned on. I loved it.

Room Tip: I can't recall my room number, but it was second level and overlooked the park with bathroom on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

We booked this hotel because of the price, we got the junior suite. The room is large with two double beds, AC, fridge and balcony, so far it is good. The way the furniture is arranged, the hot water in the shower (electric wires!), the dead(!) flowers in the room, no table or chairs or wardrobe or reading lamp, very old bed pillows is a disappointment. It is pretty noisy as well with car and motor noises and music from restaurants close by. I think it would be a good idea to invest a bit in some new stuff, would not have to cost the world. Personnel pretty friendly but their English is not great.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Aurora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aurora

Address: 100 metros norte de la Playa Montezuma | 100 meters north from Montezuma Beach, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Aurora is the first hotel in Montezuma since 1984 and has a 24 hrs. service. It offers great lounge area and wooden deck with seating area, hammocks, and cable TV surrounded by lush gardens and the nature allure of Montezuma enchantments and a view to the pacific ocean. It is located 20 minutes' walk from "La Cascada", the Montezuma River Waterfall. The rooms and suites offer a private bathroom and a fan. The suites also feature air conditioning, mini fridge and a private furnished balcony with hammocks. Guests at Hotel Aurora can use the common kitchen and they can find a variety of restaurants within 100 metres. Activities such as Isla de Tortuga Island tours can be arranged and it takes 40 minutes' boat trip to reach the area. This hotel is 30 minutes' drive from Cabo Blanco National Park and from Santa Teresa Beach. Juan Santamaria International Airport and the one in Liberia is a 3-hour drive away. The national airport Tambor is 20 minutes away ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Aurora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Aurora Montezuma

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Aurora, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.