We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great owner, plenty of space & list of wildlife” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Aurora

Save Saved
You added Hotel Aurora to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Aurora
100 metros norte de la Playa Montezuma | 100 meters north from Montezuma Beach, Montezuma, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
UK
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Great owner, plenty of space & list of wildlife”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

We moved to a first floor room as ground level smelt stuffy (and had people walking past the windows) & it was much better. Bigger room with more air & a lighter bathroom.
Great area for hammocks, pool table & sofas however lack of wifi reach meant these seemed underused.
Kitchen is functional & pretty well equipped compared to others we've stayed in
Location is great- couldn't be more central

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are bigger & airier
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    38
    21
    11
    11
See reviews for
8
35
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bluffton, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

The hotel was exactly what you would expect it to be for the price. Most importantly for us, as two young female travelers, we wanted something safe, close to town and inexpensive. The rooms were sparse but clean, the staff was friendly, and you were right in the heart of Montezuma. We had a great experience with the hotel and the town overall!

Room Tip: We made friends with a couple staying in a room upstairs that had a private balcony and three beds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Usually paying a bit more for accommodation means you get a bit higher standard. Unfortunately for us this was definitely not true for Hotel Aurora.

Firstly, at $40 a night this was the most expensive accomodation we stayed at during our 3 week visit to Costa Rica. Looking back I wish we´d stayed at Llena Luna Hostel, our friends stayed here and got great value for money. With it being called a "Hotel" instead of a "Hostel" we thought the $40 a night would be ok as we´d treat ourselves to slightly more luxury than our usual accom choices. How wrong we were! Don´t be fooled by this because it most certainly was a "Hostel" and I have no idea what qualifies it as a "Hotel". We had just spent a whole day travelling on 3 hot buses and a ferry so were eager to arrive at our hotel and chill out.

Pros: Central location. Use of communal computer. Lovely outside appearance and lots of hammocks.

Cons: Welcome upon arrival was non-existent. Two young girls were sitting in reception and could see us coming up to the desk with our heavy bags but waited for us to ask for assistance before one of them actually got up and came to the desk. We said hello but didn´t even receive as much as a smile in response. We said we had a reservation which we had made the day before, she replied with a blank look on her face saying that she didnt have a reservation for us. After having to connect to the wi-fi on our ipod and show her the email confirmation she eventually called someone on the phone and said oh yes its ok we have a reservation. Without any sort of apology. She quickly told us what we had left to pay so still with our heavy bags on we had to pay there and then, with all other hostels the reception/owner have given us a chance to drop our bags off or invite us to see the room before making us cough up the cash. Next we were dismissed and told to follow the other girl who carried two towels. She didn´t offer to help carry one of our 5 bags and left us lugging them all the way through the hotel and up the stairs after her. The room was very large but extremely basic. The floor and bed sheets were stained. The main aircon unit on the wall was broken and it had been replaced by a small stand alone air con thing which was absolutely pointless unless you were standing inches away and directly infront of it. We left it on one day in hopes that it would cool the room in time for our return, but it did nothing at all and the room was hot and sweaty when we got back. We hardly slept at all as the nights were so hot. The "free coffee" advertised was only from 8-10am. The tiny kitchen was dirty and poorly equipped. The kitchen was closed for use after 8pm! So unless you wanted to make dinner before this you had to eat out. Reception was unmanned most of the time and we found ourselves having to go and ask for information about the area and buses etc at the local supermarket.

All in all a very disapointing stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomAurora, Manager at Hotel Aurora, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Google Translation
Disculpe que su alojamiento no fue como esperaba. Ustedes hizo una reservación de habitación básica. Significa la habitación tiene un cama con buen colchón, ropero, refri, baño privado con agua caliente. En temporada alta una habitación básica vale $ 40. En temporada baja vale $ 30. En Montezuma los precios de hoteles y restaurantes son caros. En Luna Llena los precios con baño privado son mas caro. Yo pienso que no esta bien comparar 2 lugares si no estaba en los dos lugares. Todos los hoteles son diferentes . Puede buscar mas barato, pero muchas veces la cabina no es segura. Nosotros tenemos también habitaciones un poco mas lujo con un balcón privado pero vale un poco mas. Nosotros somos un hostel y hotel. No somos un hotel de 3 estrellas. El momento que los clientes hicieron un cheque in, todavía no estaba la reservación registrado en la recepción, porque la reservación que el cliente hace fue de un dia antes. La 2 mujeres ( no son niñas!) , esto es falta de respeto. Ellas son dos trabajadoras mucamas y cuando la recepcionista no está ellas trabajan en la recepción. Ellas no encuentran la reservación entonces llamo a la recepcionista para confirmar la reservación y después hicieron el check –in. Porque tiene que disculparse para confirmar una reservación? Normalmente nosotros enseñamos a los clientes la habitación antes y muchos clientes pueden elegir cuando hay muchas vacias. Esta vez ellas no hicieron esto. No es gran cosa en mis ojos. Si un cliente quiere ver la habitación, porque no pregunta? Todos los clientes traen su propia maletas a su habitación. Cuando hay personas mayores o con incapacidad nosotros ayudamos por supuesto. Si el cliente preguntó si puede ayudar subir las maletas, estoy seguro que mis empleados ayudaron con mucho gusto. La cocina limpiamos a las 7.00am, 11.00am y a las 5.00pm. Entonces 3 veces al día tenemos la cocina limpia. Es posible cuando entro la cocina no estaba limpio porque algunos clientes están usando la cocina muchos clientes la usan todo el dia. Vamos a tener mas atención que la cocina este muy limpio. Esto es muy importante para nosotros, Nosotros tenemos en la mañana café gratis. La cocina cerremos a las 10.00 pm, para que los clientes puedan descansar . Las sabanas nosotros limpiamos muy bien. Si una sabana fue manchada porque no nos avisó en recepción para eso estamos para ayudar, para dar una nueva.? Nosotros vamos a controlar ahora todas las sabanas. Para que no vuelva a pasar otra vez. En la recepción tenemos todos los tiempos de buses, ferries, taxiboats, mapas, tours etc.. Todo esta a la vista, es muy raro que usted al entrar no haiga visto esto, yo estoy de acuerdo que la recepcionista tiene que ofrecer los servicios. Nosotros queremos que el cliente tenga un buen tiempo aquí. A veces pasan cosas en el hotel esto uno lo puede determinar pasan y ya el personal no tiene influencia. Si el cliente no está contento con algo, porque no puede preguntar?. El personal no puede leer la mente de los clientes. Digalo y nosotros pueden resolveremos el problema asi el cliente va a tener un buen tiempo en Hotel Aurora.
Gracias por leer mi comentario.
Tom
Manager Hotel Aurora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
285 reviews 285 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night, the Dutch guy running the place is nice and helpful. The rooms are huge. We had 3double beds and a balcony with a hammock for 26 dollars. There is a powerful fan in the room if you don't want aircon. The towels are a bit worn, you need your own soap and loo roll, its not stunning in there, but does the job. Great value.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

It seems that a lot of the stays from before the new owner was a hit or a miss. But the new owner, Tom, I can attest runs a legit operation.

Tom was super helpful in suggesting places to eat and things to do and if you just want to have a good chat, the Holland native is full of fun travel stories.

The rooms were nothing special and had a bit of a funny smell. But it was clean, in order, and the hotel's location is unbeatable. Especially for $13 a night; exceptional value.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

A friend and I only stayed for a night here but it was exactly what we were looking for. It was the perfect location near the super market, beach, and restaurants in town. When we arrived, we were welcomed by the staff and shown to our spacious room. It was clean, had a fridge (which was awesome), fan, and clean big bathroom. The only down fall to the room was it had a really funky odor but other then that it was totally fine. It was extremely affordable and even included coffee (boy am I hooked on the Costa Rican coffee). I would certainly recommend this hostel to other people looking for a the perfect simple stay in Montezuma!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stayed here for three nights in July with 5 other friends. The staff were really helpful and we stayed in a large room with three double beds. There was plenty of space and a balcony and private bathroom which was more than we could have wanted, especially for the price. Brilliant location with the supermarket a 30 second walk away. The kitchen was great, only probably was it got very busy and was hard to cook sometimes. There was free coffee between 8-10 which was good and free wifi, but you can only really get that downstairs. The security guard was friendly and very helpful. Have to be silent after 10, but this wasn't a problem as there were bars to go to. Great place to stay, would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Aurora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aurora

Address: 100 metros norte de la Playa Montezuma | 100 meters north from Montezuma Beach, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Aurora is the first hotel in Montezuma since 1984 and has a 24 hrs. service. It offers great lounge area and wooden deck with seating area, hammocks, and cable TV surrounded by lush gardens and the nature allure of Montezuma enchantments and a view to the pacific ocean. It is located 20 minutes' walk from "La Cascada", the Montezuma River Waterfall. The rooms and suites offer a private bathroom and a fan. The suites also feature air conditioning, mini fridge and a private furnished balcony with hammocks. Guests at Hotel Aurora can use the common kitchen and they can find a variety of restaurants within 100 metres. Activities such as Isla de Tortuga Island tours can be arranged and it takes 40 minutes' boat trip to reach the area. This hotel is 30 minutes' drive from Cabo Blanco National Park and from Santa Teresa Beach. Juan Santamaria International Airport and the one in Liberia is a 3-hour drive away. The national airport Tambor is 20 minutes away ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Aurora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Aurora Montezuma

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Aurora, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.