We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value for Money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Aurora Hotel

Save Saved
You added La Aurora Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
La Aurora Hotel
150m oeste del Iglisea Catolica, Montezuma, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 19 hotels in Montezuma
Hamburg
1 review
“Excellent Value for Money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2008

I returned after a previous stay and immediately noticed the investment that has been added to the hotel, a stylish wood assemble of new rooms on the upper level and a fountain in the open space in front of them. I did my Qi Gong and Tai Chi exercises in front of the fountain and had a most befeciary effect from that. Every room has a refrigerator now and there are now bugs at all. The german manager Sybille is professional and very friendly.

You have everything you need in the kitchen to do your own cooking. There is even filtered water from an advanced Nikken device. What do you more?

  • Liked — Near Center and green surroundings
  • Disliked — Sometimes sounds from parties in town
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    32
    18
    10
    10
See reviews for
4
31
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2008

this is a lovely place to stay, clean and quiet as away from the noisy bar in town, but close to everything too. its 30usd for a basic twin room with bathroom and fan. Hot water is another 5 dollars, a/c another 10 dollars. we were in room 9 which is on the top floor, really lovely like having yr own apartment. it has two balconys with hammocks and ceiling fan for 35 usd per night, its great. the owner is a german lady with great english. the village is small but has everything you need. we did a boat trip to Isla Tortuga which is idylic and has snorkeling. the sea and beaches near here are more for surfers and theres a strong rip but a beach half hour walk north is good. also thers a waterfall half hour walk south - v refreshing swimming there.the best place to eat is Bakery Cafe (nr the bookshop) for breakfast and lunch and Angolo (opp Aurora) for fab pizza and pasta.

Stayed May 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2008

I heard beautiful things about Costa Rica: nature, nice people and a peaceful environment to rest and relax. I can say that my friends and I found all this on every place we went, but the best experience we found it on the hotel La Aurora in Montezuma. This hotel is located at the very downtown of Montezuma just a few steps from the bus stop, but far enough so that the party doesn’t disturb your sleep.
The room was big enough with comfortable beds, air conditioning and hot water, not to mention a great view of the magnificent nature surrounding Montezuma beach. We always found fresh blankets every day and the cooking facilities where always clean. The hotel personnel were kind, polite and knew what they know their stuff, the service was excellent. All of this at a fair price!
We can say that from all the places we stood on Costa Rica, hotel La Aurora gave us most value for our money, the best 4 days of our travel to Costa Rica! Certainly I will go back to Costa Rica and of course to Montezuma again, but believe me that I won’t stay on another place that is not the hotel La Aurora!!

Leonardo Reyes

  • Liked — Air conditioning, location, TV set
  • Disliked — no restaurant
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2008

need ANYONE say more...still have nightmares of waking up with them ALL OVER my bed...yikes. Will NOT be returning EVER.

  • Liked — hammocks upstairs.
  • Disliked — again... scorpion infestation...urgh!
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2007

I thought that the La Aurora Hotel was marvelous! My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights and thought this was a wonderful hotel. We were there during the high season, yet the place didn't seem cramped, crowded, or noisy. We could hear the ocean from our room which was upstairs. The second floor also had a deck area with hammocks for a relaxing nap which overlooked a park with exotic plants and flowers. The room we stayed in was small but clean...we had no bug problems whatsoever. They kept it clean, even when we tracked in a bunch of sand from the beach each day!
Downstairs was a small kitchenette, where we were able to cook our own meals, and a dining table with chairs nearby. Follow the rules, though, and clean up after yourself! There is even a fridge in the kitchenette where you can put leftovers! No one bothered our food at all!
The guard did a good job of whatching over the vehicles. We came in late several times and saw him awake and alert! The staff was also friendly and helpful.
Overall, we just loved staying at La Aurora and in Montezuma. We traveled all over Costa Rica and enjoyed these four days the most by far! Next time, we'll probably just stay in Montezuma the whole time!

  • Liked — Location and overall experience
  • Disliked — no complaints!
  • Tips/Secrets — be sure and check out the waterfall nearby! Get up early to have the beach to yourself and hear the howler monkeys!
  • Stayed January 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2006

My sister and I stayed at La Aurora for one night in the month of November. We didn't reserve in advance, we just showed up and selected one from the three rooms that were available. It was probably my least favorite accommodation of the entire trip and not that much cheaper than other places we stayed.

We chose a room with 2 queen beds, without AC and with hot water (we got warm water for some of the time).

The room was small and pretty simple. The bathroom was really small and the shower was so small and awkward that you couldn't turn on the shower without drenching yourself and the rest of the bathroom. My short sister couldn't even reach the lever to turn on the water.

The door to the bathroom was just a stall door (didn't reach to the ceiling or to the floor), and didn't actually close all the way. This was uncomfortable given the small size of the room.

There was almost an inch gap between the door to the room and the floor, so there were large ants on the floor of the room. There was also a small lizard on my bed that I was never able to catch.

There isn't a parking lot for the hotel, but they do have security who watch the street where you can park your car.

The upstairs lounge area had about a half-dozen hammocks, which were pretty nice, but it wasn't anything spectacular.

  • Liked — It was cheap and close to all the restaurants/shops.
  • Disliked — The room and bathroom just weren't very nice.
  • Stayed November 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zaragoza, Spain
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2006

We booked the rooom directly from the manager .She was extremely kind and sensitive with us. She speaks good english as well as spanish.
The room was clean,cosy (wooden with a fan on the ceiling) and big enough for two people with a bathroom ensuite. There were two beds a king size and a small one. You even have a comunal kitchen to cook just in case and a dinning room to eat and a place with armchairs to stay. On the second floor there are several hammocks to relax too.
Altough it is true it is a bit noisy cause it is at the main intersection it wasn't a problem at least for us since you tend to get up quite early.The town is much more noisier downtown cause of the bars and discos.
I would really choose this place to stay again and I recomended cause it is a really good value (45$ with a fan) convinient (since there are many hotels not very close to the main two streets) and with helpful and friendly staff.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Aurora Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Aurora Hotel

Also Known As:
La Aurora Montezuma
Address: 150m oeste del Iglisea Catolica, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Aurora is one of the first hotel built in Montezuma 25 years ago. It is located in the very centre of the town in an intimate and comfortable environment. The management of the hotel has a good reputation of recycling and being evolved in environmental issues. The hotel offers: a fine and fully equiped kitchen, a dining area, a beautiful and comfortable lounge, security service 24 hrs, security monitor system, cable TV, parking area, WIFI, and laundry service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your La Aurora Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Aurora Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.